We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$123
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$123
View deal
Hotels.com
PricelineUS$123
ScandicHotels.comUS$123
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
28
61
67
28
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
28
61
67
28
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2021

The hotel is partly refurnished (rooms and hall way) and the new rooms are modern and nice. Everything else is new but the bathrooms (which are only "ok" standard and do not fit the renewed rooms in any given way - the interior). The breakfast is better than in the Scandic Vaasa city hotel (well done there with baked mushrooms, pan cakes and Brie)!! BUT THE NOISE that comes from the motorcycles that speed up, hit the nail from 0 to 100 in few seconds was continuing & constantly repeating the cycle from 8pm up to 10:30 (Sat-Sun night) and this was the second time I visited your hotel (in September) and the same happened!!! WHAT A HORRIBLE NOISE like you are at the race track - you can't sleep nor relax, since the windows are like paper!!! This is clearly a HUGE problem, and I will NOT stay in your hotel unless I have a room facing shoreline or the problem being solved. Is this why your rooms are much cheaper than in the city hotel?

Date of stay: September 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 871petrii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2021

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We apologize for the moped noise coming from the road nearby. This doesn't affect our pricing, it consists of other factors. We are, however, sorry and we understand that it had a negative affect on your stay. I will forward your feedback to our management. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. Have a nice autumn! Best regards, Päivikki, reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

The hotel is old and definitely needs a renovation. The room was overpriced compared to condition.
Location is nice, not so far from downtown, just about a mile.
The water park is right next to the hotel, which is nice. But it’s old as well.
Overall everything functions well. Staff is nice and professional.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tourist54921906659
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2021

Dear Guest, thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and everything functioned well although the hotel itself didn't meet your expectations. We hope to see you as our guest in the future. Have a nice autumn and welcome again!
Sincerely, Heidi Perälä, Shift leader Front office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2021 via mobile

The hotel seemed very outdated and the extra bed we had requested for our teenager was a very short one (under 180 cm)which is the only kind they seem to have. This was surprising since they specifically allowed the room to be booked for three adults. After complaining that the bed is not for an adult, they agreed to give an extra room for no extra cost but this isn’t an ideal solution. They should definitely mention before reservation that the extra bed isn’t long enough for an adult. In addition, the rooms aren’t quiet enough and there seems to be a restaurant at the other end of the building which had loud music blaring. The room also has dorm-style bathrooms which are somewhat surprising since they are so different from the style of the rooms. We were also looking forward to using the bikes they said might be available to borrow but we found out they only had two bikes for the whole hotel. Totally inadequate for a large family hotel! We definitely will not come again to this hotel even though it has free parking.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hyannisonmymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2021

Dear Hyannisonmymind, thank you for the review. We apologize again for the situation with the beds. We take into consideration your development ideas on what kind of information we provide on our web sites. We have only one restaurant in our hotel and it is located next to the reception. Rooms are on the other side so that cannot be the reason for the noise. But whatever the noise has been, we are sorry that it disturbed your sleeping. We also appreciate your thought about the bicycles. We are sorry to hear that you don't want to visit us again. We hope you find some other Scandic hotel that suits your needs. Have a nice autumn!
Sincerely, Heidi Perälä, Shift leader Front office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Large and free parking is very convenient. Reception is friendly. At least some of the rooms would benefit form refurbishing or some kind of a face wash. My room gave me a good night of sleep, but the view from the window was to the car park. Very spacious breakfast room with all the normal Scandic breakfast service. I had the dinner here with low expectations as the menu was very short. Food was ok, but during g covid 19 it would have been nice if they had left enough room between the tables, as most of the room was left empty (tens of tables).

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view to the sea
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suomituristi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Dear Suomituristi2015, thank you for taking the time and giving us a review. We are pleased to hear that you got a good night of sleep although all the parts of our hotel didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your development ideas. It would be nice to have you as our guest again, welcome!
Best regards, Heidi Perälä, Shift leader Front office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021

We stayed here two nights. The room was nice and clean. The view was stunning, directly on the sea. There's nice spa as well. Kids loved it! The restaurant was very crowded in the dinner and there was too little staff. We had to wait quite long for the food.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkoL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Scandic Waskia, Other at Scandic Waskia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Dear Mikko, thank you for the review. We apologize that you had to wait in the restaurant and that it felt too crowded. We are pleased to hear that otherwise you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to see you and your family again, welcome!
Best regards, Heidi Perälä, Shift leader Front office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews