We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Rauma”

Restaurant Kalatori
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Rauma
Price range: US$20 - US$76
Cuisines: European
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Reviewed 20 September 2021 via mobile

After many years visiting Finland and Rauma, I've eaten in many restaurants, often quite ok but never so interesting nor tasty.
The thing is, usually very good and fresh ingredients like fish and meat are drown in some kastike (sauce) made with butter or heavy cream and some artificial aromas.
So, to be sure, I ordered the ahven fish with the sauce aside, but it actually turned out to be the best and delicate fresh sauce (more a foam), perfect for the amazing fish. Not ti mention, the soup gently offered as appetizer with a tasty focaccia slice was a great surprise. Overall with only water you easily stay under 50€ per couple!! But for what I've seen they also have amazing wine list by the glass (I mean, not even in Italy you'll easily find Barolo served by the glass)...

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank DREAMLUCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

Our children offered us a six course dinner with wines selected for each course. The evening was really fantastic. The lamb roast, perches, and black angus beef were awesome. The latter was served with a 200C stone on which the beef slices could be fried according to one`s preferences. The waiters had excellent knowledge of the courses and the individual wines, and were extremely friendly. The only minuses were that they had not paid attention before hand to our allergies (although they handled those with due attention after we pointed out the matter) and the high price level (although we did not have to pay the bill).

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank ristosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 August 2020

We had a lovely 6-course dinner here. The food was tasty and with 6 portions, you get yourself full. The traditional vegetable soup, "kesäkeitto" ended up being our favorite. Really tasty!

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 331Eija
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 September 2019 via mobile

Stay at the hotel Vanha Rauma and have a fantastic dinner at the hotel's restaurant Kalatori. We ate the angus beef and dessert tarte tatain, with a sticky toffee. Simply delicious ! With a great bottle of Spätburgunder red wine from the Phaltz area, Germany, the whole dinner was a perfect 10 on the scale of 1 to 10.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank AM756
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 August 2019

This is a hotel restaurant. We had breakfast here while staying at the hotel.

The bacon was the best I have ever had at any hotel. Also, sausages and meatballs were tasty.

The staff could have been more active. Many items like coffee were finished.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Kalatori also viewed

 
Rauma, Satakunta
 

Been to Restaurant Kalatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.