We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but better not to be in a hurry !”
Review of The Merry Monk

The Merry Monk
Ranked #7 of 99 Restaurants in Pori
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We came to this place following the recommendation of some family friends living around. Clearly a good one, but also very popular. Is this due to lack of possibilities in Reposaari ? Maybe !
We were lucky by arriving just before peak time. Got a table on the terrace and didn't had to queue to make our order. But still ... 45 minutes to get our burgers served !
I could not imagine how waiting time it was 30 minutes laters when people were queuing from the door.
Burgers and Fish'n'chips are great.
Service is ok but much too slow for such food, sorry !
The room inside seems very noisy, and the terrace is, to my opinion, not well placed.
Terrace view is on the gravelled parking, while being installed 90 degrees from its actual place, you would have the sea view ... I do not see the logic there.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric_PAQUAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

The Merry monk offers very good traditional fish & chips, hereford cow burgers and many more.
Often at the evenings there is live music. Also the beer sortiment is outstanding.
The service is sometimes slow, but the scenery is so nice, that it doesn't matter.
I understand that they do all the meals by themselves and the quality is therefore excellent.

Date of visit: February 2017
2  Thank Arto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I've been there several times as our summer cottage is nearby and must say that the couple who owns the place are really friendly and nice people. Food is good and quite authentic british pub style too. Sometimes when it's really busy it may take a while, but you can always pre order or just enjoy the view while waiting. It's also a very good reason to drive from Pori city centre to Reposaari (in case you need an extra reason).

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V5760ZFemmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We visited Merry Monk with our good friends. Tasted everything on the list (except dessert, no room for that ;) ) Food was really good, athmosphere warm and welcoming. Place is a bit far from the center (of Pori) but worth driving!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

It is an excellent choice to stop by for a bite or to get a drink by the sea side on a sunny day. I visit here often and always go for a lamb burger or beef burger with chips. They have good range of drinks and coffee/espresso/chinos.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FredDee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Merry Monk also viewed

 
Pori, Satakunta
 

Been to The Merry Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing