We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family friendly, clean, well maintained cottage...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Orival, Seine-Maritime, Haute-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tamar H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family friendly, clean, well maintained cottage with magnificent views”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We found this cottage on Owners Direct in February, and after contacting the owner, Glenys, to confirm that the cottage was going to be right for us, we booked it. Glenys was extremely friendly and couldn't have done more to make our stay a good one. She advised us on where she considered would be the most comfortable bedroom arrangements for our party, and we were pleased for her input!

We were a party of 11, including 3 married couples - one of whom were pensioners, 2 teenagers, one single pensioner, a 5 year old and a 12 year old boy.

One of the couples enjoyed staying in the new loft extension with the teenagers and their 5 year old. They found the staircase to the extension steep, but took care and didn't feel that it took away from their enjoyment of the holiday. One of the party was over 6'7", so had to stoop to stop him hitting his head on some of the beams, but he also said that he didn't feel that it detracted from the cottage or his holiday.

The double bedroom that they slept in was clean and in keeping with the whole cottage, in an eclectic style that suited a property in Seine-Maritime. They found the bed comfortable, and plenty of space in the room for their things. The teenagers and 5 year old slept in the adjoining bedroom off of the loft extension - containing 2 single beds and a smaller bed. They also found it to be clean, tastefully decorated, and comfortable. There was an additional 'lounge' area off of the loft extension, which we thoroughly enjoyed using when the kids went to bed over a few beers (which could be stored in the fridge at the bottom of the staircase to this upstairs 'lounge'). The loft extension also contains a bathroom with bath/shower and a toilet. Very clean and tastefully decorated throughout. Another perk of this place was the balcony - from which you can stand with mouth open admiring the fantastic views.

The other end of the cottage has an external staircase leading to another loft room with 2 single beds and a very quaint wash stand. We pushed the 2 beds together to form a large (almost super king size) bed which was extremely comfortable, and much appreciated. The wash stand had the added appeal of having a washbasin/jug and chamber pot! Both quirky and practical - we loved everything about this room. A haven to lock yourself away in when the kids got too noisy!

The main part of the house is all on the ground floor, and consisted on a clean and comfortable double bedroom, tastefully furnished. A bedroom with bunk beds and a single bed - also very clean and comfortable. A very well equipped kitchen with plenty of crockery and cutlery for the feasts that we prepared while we were there. (We used the gas cooker but were intrigued with the aga. Maybe another time I'll try using that). All the kitchen was extremely clean. The lounge and dining area we decorated in a very French style - which complemented the cottage and added to the general quirky quaint feel of the place. We loved it. Plenty of seats for all - lots of things to do on those long evenings (jigsaws, games, DVD's etc) - and all clean and welcoming. There is also another toilet and shower-room in this part of the cottage - great shower! And a washing machine made such a difference to the holiday too - really appreciated that!

Outside is a safe, beautifully maintained garden, with tempting views of the apples on the trees in the orchards and the breathtaking valley and hills surrounding this happy little cottage.

Another high point is the games room - table football and pingpong champions of the holiday were so proud of their achievements! We didn't get to use the bikes, but if needed, they're there!

The neighbours were friendly - didn't speak much English but waved and smiled when we saw them. Their dogs barked occasionally but they certainly weren't a nuisance.

Glenys (the owner) couldn't do more to help us enjoy our stay. We could contact her easily if we had a query. Nadine lives just down the hill, (she oversees the property for Glenys) and she was friendly and courteous. She also can be contacted if you have any issues while you are staying.

Summing up, you have to come and see for yourself how good this property is! We loved it! Clean and comfortable, with an attractive French styling that is both quaint and quirky at the same time. The area is beautiful - many walks very close by, days out in Dieppe and Rouen, and we also had a good tasty meal at the Reve de Bison. Highly recommend that you try that out too! The beach just outside Dieppe (Camping Beach) was lovely too - many fishing boats with their wares and stony beach with sand at the water line.

Come on - book this place!! You'll not regret it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you, Tamar, for this very comprehensive and enthusiastic review. It is good to hear that others like the same things we do. I hope you will be able to visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T
South East
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but sadly some issues that spolit our stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I want to start with some positives, the location and look of the property are wonderful for a chilled and 'off the beaten track' holiday. The cottage itself is typical Normandy and set up a fairly steep track away from the main road means some peace and quiet (note some as will come to shortly) and the gardens are lovely and well maintained meaning sitting outside and enjoying the sunsets makes for a pleasant end of the day.

The location does mean very little is in easy reach, the nearest bar/restaurant that was open when were out is around 7 miles away in Saint Saens (there is a nearer one but this was not open once when we went through) and although the golf club was an option its also a fair drive to visit if you just want to sit outside and have a coffee.

The downside of renting this particular cottage however were the issues with a mouse/mice - also the owner's view that this is just 'to be expected' due to it being a country cottage. I do not feel that mouse droppings in the oven, a nest in the bottom of the oven, many droppings all over the single bedroom beds (even the top bunk bed) and nest materials on the window sill of the bedroom are acceptable. Even if you dont mind sharing your living accommodation with rodents, watching one run around at midnight whilst your family choose to be at the other end of the building was not my idea of a relaxing time! Sadly even when buying mousetraps to catch the offending animal we were unable to do so which meant ensuring everything was washed before use, we chose not to use the oven due to the mess inside. This has been noted by a number of previous visitors.

The BBQ was very rusty and so small, barely big enough to cook for two let alone more, there was apparently another one which we never saw and was not in the garage. The door lock was a nightmare to turn (5 mins of trying required most times)

Although we did not come on holiday to watch TV, having access to one was in the details yet often we would sit for a minute at a time whilst the sky picture froze.

As mentioned earlier although not the owners fault the yapping/barking dog at the cottage next door was a constant break in the tranquility, as with the above observations, noted by many other guests in the visitors book from the past couple of years.

This was not the worst place to stay by any means but the owner needs to take feedback more seriously and act upon it not just brush it aside as seems to be the case in our experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
We were very sorry to hear that this visitor had his holiday ruined by a mouse getting into the property between bookings and making a nest there. We dealt with this problem as soon as it was reported and also a thorough cleaning took place before the next guests arrived. Unfortunately mice can be a feature in any country property but the important thing is to respond quickly which we did.
The door lock has now been fixed, the BBQ replaced and I have had a word with the neighbour who is extremely considerate and has said he will keep his dog in the back garden. We are very fortunate to have a key holder in the village who is there to welcome you and who is happy to sort out any problems like this a soon as she is asked.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing