We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$101
View deal
Expedia.com
US$96
View deal
Priceline
US$101
View deal
Hotels.comUS$96
FindHotelUS$96
eDreamsUS$101
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
32
71
51
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
71
51
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful location rooms are small minute walk nice hotel lakeside view hotel is located free parking excellent breakfast breakfast is served one night stay university city sauna shore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2021

The hotel is located on the shore of beautiful Lake Jyväsjärvi, in line of sight of one of University of Jyväskylä's campuses. The city center is a 20-minute walk away. If you plan to spend a lot of time in the room, this may not be a great choice for you as the rooms are small and fairly modestly outfitted. If, however, you plan to sleep there, have breakfast and be away for the day, this is an excellent choice at a reasonable price. The rooms are clean and pleasant, with well outfitted bathrooms and good hot water pressure. Access to high speed internet is unproblematic. Breakfast is included and provides an excellent selection; if you want to fully enjoy it I'd suggest planning to skip lunch. You'll get excellent service at the restaurant, bar and reception. There are two or three beers on tap but you're better off with bottles - this sees to be a more general recommendation in Finland, even in there are many good Finnish beers. The path around the lake is perfectly suited for a jog or a bike ride and the hotel provides bikes at no extra charge. Unfortunately, there is no gym. My only complaint is that smoking is allowed on the beautiful patio and one may get the occasional whiff of cigarette smoke in the rooms situated immediately above. I may be biased because I was there on university business (see campus across the lake in the attached picture) but am definitely looking forward to my next visit.

Room tip: Ask for lakeside rooms, see picture from my window.
Date of stay: August 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandK382
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommi Sievinen, Sales at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Hi RolandK382
Thank you for your kind words and effort for the review.
You describe the visit just as we would want everyone to experience Alba.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2021

Menu is boring and It looks like a fastfood menu and in this place people are discriminated against for their health condition. Restaurant staff discussing behind customers' backs. I do not advise if you want to have a good service.

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank georg_tyllin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

I recommend this nice hotel beautifully situated at the lake. A perfect hotel room with sauna and Lakeview. Friendly staff. Hotel easy to reach by car. Free parking. Breakfast nice although not that large as aspected.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dutchierek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommi Sievinen, Sales at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Hi,
Thank you for your views and sharing them.
I think you listed everything we wish to be remembered for. Thank you for that.
And a great choice to book JrSuite room, we have just renewed the desk, nightstands and the coffee table in all of the JrSuites so we think they look nice.
We try to maintain the breakfast and limit the ingredients to what we always have available, that limits the variety a little - Oh. I hope you got the chance to enjoy the breakfast at our summer terrace - the view is quite nice don't you think.

Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you soon again at Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Very pleased with this hotel. Room clean with comfortable beds, excellent breakfast served until 11/noon, friendly staff, free parking. Because of the warm weather we took a dip in the lake as well. Only negative was maybe that there was no phone in the room.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank R_G_Mueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommi Sievinen, Sales at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Greetings R_G_Mueller,
Thank you for your views and sharing them. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Yes - for this summer we have extended the breakfast hours mon-fri until 11.00 and sat-sun until 12:00. Summer has been super busy and extended hours helps during the epidemic our customers to fit in during breakfast more safely and comfortable too.

Free parking is not often found in Jyväskylä so it's well greeted by our customers. . Oh and new feature : for electric/hybrid cars we have two charging spots too. You can book the spot and charging is payable at the reception when checking in to hotel.

During the room renovation, we gave land line phones in the room some years ago, there were multiple service numbers so to make it easy - all inquiries and requests can be done by cell phone to our one number +35814636311

Thank you again for your views - we hope to see you again soon here at Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

Wonderful view of Jyväskylä University and lake from the room thats all got those 2 points. Room was clean and had sauna in the room bathroom. No complaints about room. Things started to go downwards when went to restaurant for dinner. Either the waitress had a bad day or dont know her work. Took the food order in a rush but didn't even ask for drinks. Had to ask for a wine / drinks list then waited around 20 min if someone come to ask about my drinks. At the end had to call to ask for water and drinks. Wine list was just basic. Food didn't look like a food from 3 star hotel restaurant. I had a burger and goat cheese salad. It was a dry burger and fortunately Salad didn't need cooking. Breakfast was another let down. Again dry bread and not enough items. Orange juice was water with orange color. Overall splendid room but food and service let it down, hence 2 stars.

Room tip: Not enough parking, service not upto standard
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 94tanvirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommi Sievinen, Sales at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Hi 94tanvirt,
Thank you for your views during your stay.
We are so sorry for your bad experience at the restaurant. What you described should never happen but obviously it did. During this very busy summer all kinds of mistakes can happen but there's no excuse.

We hope some day you'll visit us again and find out that we want and can improve our services and keep it as it's usual professional and friendly level in every situation.

Thanks again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews