We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$96
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$101
View deal
Expedia.comUS$96
PricelineUS$101
eDreamsUS$101
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
32
71
51
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
71
51
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful location rooms are small minute walk nice hotel lakeside view hotel is located free parking excellent breakfast breakfast is served one night stay university city sauna shore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

I recommend this nice hotel beautifully situated at the lake. A perfect hotel room with sauna and Lakeview. Friendly staff. Hotel easy to reach by car. Free parking. Breakfast nice although not that large as aspected.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dutchierek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommi Sievinen, Sales at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Hi,
Thank you for your views and sharing them.
I think you listed everything we wish to be remembered for. Thank you for that.
And a great choice to book JrSuite room, we have just renewed the desk, nightstands and the coffee table in all of the JrSuites so we think they look nice.
We try to maintain the breakfast and limit the ingredients to what we always have available, that limits the variety a little - Oh. I hope you got the chance to enjoy the breakfast at our summer terrace - the view is quite nice don't you think.

Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you soon again at Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Very pleased with this hotel. Room clean with comfortable beds, excellent breakfast served until 11/noon, friendly staff, free parking. Because of the warm weather we took a dip in the lake as well. Only negative was maybe that there was no phone in the room.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank R_G_Mueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommi Sievinen, Sales at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Greetings R_G_Mueller,
Thank you for your views and sharing them. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Yes - for this summer we have extended the breakfast hours mon-fri until 11.00 and sat-sun until 12:00. Summer has been super busy and extended hours helps during the epidemic our customers to fit in during breakfast more safely and comfortable too.

Free parking is not often found in Jyväskylä so it's well greeted by our customers. . Oh and new feature : for electric/hybrid cars we have two charging spots too. You can book the spot and charging is payable at the reception when checking in to hotel.

During the room renovation, we gave land line phones in the room some years ago, there were multiple service numbers so to make it easy - all inquiries and requests can be done by cell phone to our one number +35814636311

Thank you again for your views - we hope to see you again soon here at Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

Wonderful view of Jyväskylä University and lake from the room thats all got those 2 points. Room was clean and had sauna in the room bathroom. No complaints about room. Things started to go downwards when went to restaurant for dinner. Either the waitress had a bad day or dont know her work. Took the food order in a rush but didn't even ask for drinks. Had to ask for a wine / drinks list then waited around 20 min if someone come to ask about my drinks. At the end had to call to ask for water and drinks. Wine list was just basic. Food didn't look like a food from 3 star hotel restaurant. I had a burger and goat cheese salad. It was a dry burger and fortunately Salad didn't need cooking. Breakfast was another let down. Again dry bread and not enough items. Orange juice was water with orange color. Overall splendid room but food and service let it down, hence 2 stars.

Room tip: Not enough parking, service not upto standard
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 94tanvirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommi Sievinen, Sales at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Hi 94tanvirt,
Thank you for your views during your stay.
We are so sorry for your bad experience at the restaurant. What you described should never happen but obviously it did. During this very busy summer all kinds of mistakes can happen but there's no excuse.

We hope some day you'll visit us again and find out that we want and can improve our services and keep it as it's usual professional and friendly level in every situation.

Thanks again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021

The best part of this hotel is the beautiful location by Jyväsjärvi lake. There is a nice 20-minute walk along the shore to Jyväskylä city center. It is advisable to book a room with lake views. The hotel building is very near the lake and it feels like staying onboard a ship.

We booked the best room category that is Junior Suite. The hotel has 10 of them. Five on the 1st floor and five on the 2nd floor. We got the 2nd-floor corner suite at the end of the building.

For a suite, the room was not so spacious but it was quite practical. The absolute highlight was an own sauna with lake views. The furniture was quite outdated with wear and tear to be seen. Especially the beds should be replaced. They were too soft.

The suite television was small considering the nowadays standards and it was placed too high to be watched from the sofa. The Eurovision Semifinals were on our stay and the television was more important for us than usual.

The breakfast is served at Alba Restaurant with beautiful lake views. It was pleasantly calm on Friday morning. The food selection was quite extensive.

The staff was very friendly.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommi Sievinen, Sales at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Hi Mikael F, thank you for the review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

JrSuites ( 1 room 28m2 including sauna ) have been the most inquired room type during this summer. The summer was very hot but the individual AC worked great . The furniture - good news. Last week, the desk, coffee table and the night stand has been replaced with new ones to all 10 rooms. They had wear and tear and for the reasons known, we were finally able to get new ones this summer. The televisions will be replaced too in the near future, but soon I hope.

Thanks again for your views and we hope to see you again here at Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2020

Every part of customer service was extremely friendly: booking, checking in and checking out. The hotel is located in an ideal place especially for those who enjoy jogging, walking, running... or have a dog with them. Clean and comfortable rooms and tasty breakfast. Only disappointment worth mentioning was a pretty loud noise from a/c that bothered before falling asleep. When booking, ask for a lakeside view: it is stunning.

Date of stay: July 2020
2  Thank suomituristi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommi Sievinen, Myynti at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2020

Hi suomituristi2015,
Thanks for your review on Alba.
It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay. It seems that your visit was just like we would want it to be - comfortable and refreshing. You are quite right about the location - outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy easy strolls by the Jyväsjärvi lake and especially if travelling with pets.
I'm sorry to hear about the noise from the restaurant. We are very popular company and private party venue because of the summer terrace location. Sometimes the music is too loud. My apologies for that.

Thanks again for your views and hopefully we'll see you again someday here in Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews