We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$135
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$136
Priceline
ScandicHotels.comUS$136
FindHotelUS$134
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
40
109
61
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
109
61
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station public areas room was spacious hotel is located free parking tunnel reception sauna furniture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2021

We had a Superior Plus room with Sauna. The room was spacious, the furniture in the living room relatively old. Though, we felt comfortable. Sauna und showers were new and surprisingly big.

The hotel is located well. Close to the inner city, the railway station and the lake.

Service personal was very friendly.

Breakfast was delicious and offered many alternatives.

The restaurant has a nice charm, waitress was very kind, food was delicious.

Date of stay: August 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Thank jenskY6123LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanna L, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Jyvaskyla City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

Hi JenskY6123LD,

A warm thank you for this amazing review of us. Our customers mean the world to us and we always strive to offer a world class stay and service for our guests. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thought that our hotel suited to your needs.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Essi / Scandic Jyväskylä City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021

Booked Scandic Jyväskylä City for an overnight stay, having travelled from Hämeenlinna.

What more can I say, the hotel was excellent, great reception, comfortable and well equipped rooms, had a perfect nights sleep, for a nightcap the bar was great with a wide selection of drinks, breakfast was amazing, with something for everyone!

As a city hotel parking is a small problem, but we paid the Euro 12,00 for parking, which was OK, but space is limited, although there is the parking house for a little more cost.

Overall a great experience, the hotel is a credit to the Scandic group.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Varaloba O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanna L, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Jyvaskyla City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Dear Varaloba O,
what a great review you have given to us! Thank you so much. This warms our hearts a lot. It's wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and found our services perfectly suiting. Hope to see you again here in Jyväskylä! Have a great summer!
Best regards,
Sanna/Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Reception and other services: very good and friendly. Room would benefit from renewal, as would some of the public areas, too. Sleep quality proved to be bad, as a/c or some other system made noise thru the night. Breakfast was standard Scandic style, but I found ants in the buffet table disgusting. No free parking was disappointing. The best part is the central location.

Room tip: Room in top floor does not guarantee quietness or views
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suomituristi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanna L, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Jyvaskyla City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2021

Hi suomituristi2015,

thank you for this feedback and review you gave us. We are happy to hear that you experienced our facilities and service pleasant. We are deeply sorry about the disturbing moment at the breakfast and the noise in the room. We have shared your feedback with our team so everyone are aware of and this kind of won't happen again.
Hope to see you again and wishing you lovely summer!

Kind regards,

Juuli
Scandic Jyväskylä City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2021 via mobile

Really good breakfast and location. Breakfast could be until 11am. Now only until 10am. We were on holiday, so it would be nice to sleep longer. Room nice, but the floor needs to be upgraded. Staff very friendly and helpful. We didn’t want to pay for the parking, so we took our car to Yrjönkatu, there was 4h free parking :)

Room tip: 4h free parking near by, in Yrjönkatu.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank reatraskelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanna Lindeman, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Jyvaskyla City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Dear reatraskelin,
thank you for your great review. It seems like you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Hope to see you soon again!
Best regards,
Sanna / Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2020

This hotel is a former Cumulus Hotel in two buildings on both sides of the street. There is a tunnel connecting the buildings.

Before a two-night stay here, we stayed one night in the nearby Scandic Station. The public spaces at this Scandic City are much better. The reception, the gym, and the Moe's Bar are located in one building. The other building has the pool with saunas, the breakfast room, and the Bord restaurant.

The rooms are a little bit outdated, although they have the newer Cumulus decor with light green curtains and no blue walls.

We booked the only Superior Sauna room which is the best room category at this hotel. It is a very spacious room. Actually, it could be called a suite because it has separate living and bedrooms. There are two bathrooms, one with a big dressing room. The sauna is spacious, for 5-6 persons. The only thing which we didn't like was the sofa. It was uncomfortable, worn and should be replaced.

The breakfast was pleasantly calm because of the coronavirus pandemic. The food selection was good.

Our stay had excellent value for 124 euros per night.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyer56851544600, Receptionist at Scandic Jyvaskyla City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2020

Dear Mikael F ,
thank you for taking time and effort on reviewing your stay with us. Great to hear that your stay was pleasant and that you especially enjoyed our superior room with sauna. It is definately our favourite as well. Hope to see you soon again!
Sunny regards,
Sanna / Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews