We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$155
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$155
View deal
ScandicHotels.comUS$156
Booking.comUS$155
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
40
109
58
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
109
58
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station public areas room was spacious hotel is located free parking reception city breakfast sauna furniture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2021 via mobile

Really good breakfast and location. Breakfast could be until 11am. Now only until 10am. We were on holiday, so it would be nice to sleep longer. Room nice, but the floor needs to be upgraded. Staff very friendly and helpful. We didn’t want to pay for the parking, so we took our car to Yrjönkatu, there was 4h free parking :)

Room tip: 4h free parking near by, in Yrjönkatu.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank reatraskelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanna Lindeman, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Jyvaskyla City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Dear reatraskelin,
thank you for your great review. It seems like you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Hope to see you soon again!
Best regards,
Sanna / Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2020

This hotel is a former Cumulus Hotel in two buildings on both sides of the street. There is a tunnel connecting the buildings.

Before a two-night stay here, we stayed one night in the nearby Scandic Station. The public spaces at this Scandic City are much better. The reception, the gym, and the Moe's Bar are located in one building. The other building has the pool with saunas, the breakfast room, and the Bord restaurant.

The rooms are a little bit outdated, although they have the newer Cumulus decor with light green curtains and no blue walls.

We booked the only Superior Sauna room which is the best room category at this hotel. It is a very spacious room. Actually, it could be called a suite because it has separate living and bedrooms. There are two bathrooms, one with a big dressing room. The sauna is spacious, for 5-6 persons. The only thing which we didn't like was the sofa. It was uncomfortable, worn and should be replaced.

The breakfast was pleasantly calm because of the coronavirus pandemic. The food selection was good.

Our stay had excellent value for 124 euros per night.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyer56851544600, Receptionist at Scandic Jyvaskyla City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2020

Dear Mikael F ,
thank you for taking time and effort on reviewing your stay with us. Great to hear that your stay was pleasant and that you especially enjoyed our superior room with sauna. It is definately our favourite as well. Hope to see you soon again!
Sunny regards,
Sanna / Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019

Friendly reception staff and nice room in 5th floor. I could go again anytime.

Standard Scandic breakfast selection, kitchen little bit delayed to fill bowls.
Table cleaning need more focus during rush times.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Thank Paradise36628168474
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyer56851544600, Receptionist at Scandic Jyvaskyla City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2019

Hi,

Thank you so much for your review! Looks like all in all you enjoyed your stay with us, and that means the world to us. I will give your review for our restaurant staff also, to ensure the best possible service for our customers. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again anytime!

Best regards,

Essi
Vastaanotto
Scandic Jyväskylä City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed there for one night. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Rooms looked nothing like you book online and we were disappointed in that.

Breakfast was included but was mediocre at best. Good location to center of town.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank David-A-Frazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyer56851544600, Receptionist at Scandic Jyvaskyla City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2019

Hi David-A-Frazer,

Thank you so much for taking the time and leaving this review of our hotel. Your words about our staff means a lot to us and makes us very glad. Sorry to hear that our rooms weren't what you expected. Hopefully we'll see you as our guest again.

I wish you lovely summer!

Kind regards,
Juuli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2019

Stayed here two nights on a weekend break. Very good location in city center, close to the main bus and railway stations. The hotel has their own parking area which is easily accessible but unfortunately not very spacious, at least not if you own a big car. Both check-in and check-out were very efficient and friendly and we received all necessary information about the hotel. Our room was standard, cozy, well-kept and clean with good quality amenities but not very modern. The bed was large and comfortable. Most importantly, the room was quiet. Breakfast was standard Scandic quality, with a large selection and ample choice of produce. We also dined at the on-site restaurant and found the food very tasty and very reasonably priced and the service friendly and efficient. The hotel is somewhat in need of renovation, there are signs of wear and tear here and there but overall impression was O.K.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Raimo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyer56851544600, Receptionist at Scandic Jyvaskyla City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2019

Hi Raimo,

Thank you so much for the review and sorry for such a late reply! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the service was good. Our main goal is to provide world class experiences for our guests, so we're glad to hear your stay was mostly up to our standards! Sorry to hear about your parking problems, we do have outside and garage parking close to both our buildings which can accommodate both small and big cars. Our hotel was renovated back in 2016, but we will surely address the wear and tear that you noticed. We are so happy that you decided to stay with us and we warmly welcome you back to stay with us anytime!

Have a great weekend!

Kind regards,

Essi
Reception
Scandic Jyvaskyla City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews