We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$149
View deal
ScandicHotels.comUS$150
Hotels.comUS$149
PricelineUS$153
Booking.comUS$150
TripadvisorUS$149
FindHotel
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
64
121
84
40
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
64
121
84
40
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa area great spa bowling alley family room pools winter possibilities closet jyvaskyla
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2021 via mobile

We had quick one night visit to Scandic Laajavuori and main reason to our visit was going to Spa on Saturday morning and continue trip after that. We arrived to Hotel Late in the evening and checkin was fast. Our room had lot of space, two separate rooms and balcony. Room temperature was colder than we expected but we found separate heater from closet and after that room temperature was good. Room was clean but Hotel is old and it has old building challenges. For example toilet has little side odor. Our room had own balcony with forest and Hill view. Hotel breakfast was good. It’s better than average Scandic breakfast. Breakfast room is spacious. Best thing in Scandic Laajavuori is Spa. There is several Saunas and pools for everyone. Spa area is clean. It could be little bigger but if it’s not crowded, it’s just perfect. Service in Hotel is friendly and thoughtful.

Room tip: Next to Hotel Scandic is Laajavuori Hill and you will have nice view to City Jyväskylä from top of the Hill
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Relax31501368848
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

The hotel is located in a beautiful setting. Shame about the exterior of the hotel, it looks like some random warehouse. The room that we had is not much better. It is clean but very very old furniture with weartear everywhere. Really not the quality you expect from almost 150€ per night family room. The spa is ok when is not busy. From the lockers you have to go across a corridor that you either need to wear your swimming suit or a towel as it is a shared corridor. I would not come back before the hotel goes through a major renovation. Quite disappointed with the visit.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mrsjenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2021

The hotel is one of many conference hotels built in 1980s in Finland. The architecture is the same in each one and after 40 years the brutalism of the building could be described as an interesting architectural style of its own. The place has so much potential on the inside! Maybe change the outdated carpets to hard wood flooring and the massive high school lunch hall where they serve breakfast to an airy modern breakfast lounge? But first and foremost, redo the air conditioning in rooms. Yes, we stayed during a heat wave, but still I woke up drowsy and with a sense that I didn't get air, which tells a story of urgent renovation need. At some point we just opened the door wide open to the hallway, because there the air con worked. The staff was very nice and they together with the spa area (my one year old loved it) should be accounted for all of the three stars given.

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank Lehta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2021 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel. Location is ideal for a family, the area is very quiet and near the nature. Rooms are nice and service was perfect! Food was also wonderful. We enjoyed our stay very much and will be visiting the hotel again in the near future!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 69miiap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2021

Stayed several times on business trips. A good, quite peaceful location with superb outdoor sports possibilities all year. Also a nice spa with treatments etc.

My room needed renovation, you could see that the interior of the hotel was outdated and also the beds, tables, electric appliances etc. weren't the newest ones. It was also very hot in the room, no air conditioning but a window not possible to fully open. If you're lucky, you can find an electric fan in one of the closets in the room. That helped a lot.

There was no lunch available, but a small selection of salads and sandwiches at the reception. Later in the evening there was a decent á la carte.

Free parking, peaceful location, excellent outdoor activity selection, a good spa and helpful & polite staff make this a good place to stay. Once renovated, the hotel will be excellent.

Date of stay: June 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tuomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews