We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olo has the best service I have ever experienced anywhere in the world. The wine sommelier was very knowledgeable.”
Review of Olo Ravintola

Olo Ravintola
Ranked #9 of 2,024 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: €119 - €169
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Vironniemi
Description: Located by the Market Square in Helsinki, Olo is known for its cuisine created by Tuomas Vierelä and its friendly service. This beautiful restaurant is in a building with a history of more than 200 years. Olo creates insightful taste sensations from Scandinavian ingredients and has been Michelin-starred since 2011. Everything at Olo reflects joy and an uncompromising passion for creating unique experiences – it’s no wonder that Olo’s dinner menu is a must among fans of good food. Garden by Olo serves marvellous taste sensations for groups by reservation. We welcome you to enjoy memorable experiences!
Reviewed 22 December 2023 via mobile

Olo has world class service and ambiance. The wine sommelier was very knowledgeable and the pairings were perfect for the meal.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Shanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2023 via mobile

Fantastic tasting menu and overall experience. Perfectly paced meal, with many courses ranging from seafood to meat. What really stood out to me was not only the complexity of the flavours but also the use of different textures. While I’ve had the good fortune of many great, Michelin starred meals, I don’t think any of had the breadth and use of textures that Olo did. Overall a great meal with many interesting flavors and compositions.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank lloydm972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Wow - this is serious food!! I suspect you wouldn’t be considering this if you were more a ‘steak and chips’ person, but this is very clever, very tasty and very special!!

You WILL be full! Don’t worry with those first few little appetisers! Once the bread hits (amazing bread - about halfway through), you’ll realise you’re not leaving with any need for more!!

The food is clearly Finnish ..... authentic ingredients, treated with great respect. The service is fantastic - completely in sync with each other and the timings of your meal. We had the ‘Chef’s Table’ and I can highly recommend it if you are quick enough to reserve it. A great view of the kitchen and with the head chef working right in front of you, he’ll serve you directly a lot of the time with lots of extra info about what you’re eating and the processes behind it.

The wine pairings are excellent, if you choose them. There are a few options - it’s not all or nothing - we went for 4 glasses, which was about right for us.

Don’t expect it to be a quick meal (3.5 hours for us), but it will be time and money very well spent.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank Ourarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

A very pleasant experience. It is pricy, but you are coming here for fine dining. I enjoyed the tasting menu...a number of exquisite dishes. Not filling, so if you expect to stuff your gizzard, this is not the place for you. Excellent service. I expended 2 hours enjoying my fine dinner at a slow pace.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MonsieurPamplemousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2023

Was with family for dinner. Chose the chef's summer menu.
There are no complaints about the dishes, everything is at a good level. For me, the portion size is a bit small. For dishes, you can put 5 points out of 5.
Did not like:
1. Pauses between dishes are very long. By the end of the evening it starts to get annoying.
2. Tap water on the bill 20 euros for four people!!!!!!! Ordinary tap water.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IgorL2039
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katja Henttunen, Owner at Olo Ravintola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2024

Dear Igor, We serve filtered and on-site bottled water. You can choose between still and sparkling. We charge 5 € / person for the water, and keep on serving it throughout the dinner.

I am sorry for the timing of your menu. Naturally we don't wish our guests to be bored. I hope you'll give us another chance one day, and hopefully we can fulfill your expectations.

Br Katja Henttunen / restaurateur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olo Ravintola also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Olo Ravintola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.