We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
105
113
43
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
113
43
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forest wing sea view metro station beautiful forest nice paths free parking and wifi full hot breakfast offers nice several buildings public transport baltic sea red brick free bicycles conference room peace and quiet hotel is situated relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is a trip down the memory lane: these kind of institutes existed in the merry 1970's! The place has frozen in time, in a nice way, and architecturally-minded visitors will appreciate the interior.

The seaview from the bedrooms is relaxing.

On an off-season Friday night the hotel was so empty that I had the ladies' common sauna shift all to myself (5€). My husband had more company from other male guests.

I never learnt if it's okay to take your own beer to the sauna, there is no pool bar.

The restaurant is lovely, but pricey, and guests are kinda stranded in the isolated hotel. Eastern Helsinki doesnt really offer much nice dinner options. But it is very lovely to finish your dinner with coffee & cognac by the real fireplace!

Buffet breakfast is lovely with lots of local specialities.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mrs_eskola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We did not spend a night at this Hotel, eventhough we were seriously tempted. The hotel features also art exhibitions and we went there a windy evening in January to see an exhibition by the Finnish artist Aini Tolonen, who is also internationally known, and we wanted to end the visit with a dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. The hotel in itself is a wonderful piece of architecture in a fantastic nature setting, and the inside of it is a small marvel of the danish concept: "hygge" mixed with the certain style and taste that is so special Finnish. The reaurant was half empty, due to the time we arrived, but even on the empty tables were candles waiting for the diners.
We got a table next to the huge panorama windows that if it had been daytime would offer stunning views of the coastline. The food was absolutely exellent, fresh and newly made: Starter for me was a meatpate with pickled mushrooms, my main dish was a very tender braise of lamb in a dark (plumb ?) sauce. My wife skipped the starter and had Duck Confit in a dark lemonsauce....Both of us skipped desert, as we wanted to keep the "memory" of these great meals for as long as possible ..
Very friendly service all around, good atmosphere and wonderful surroundings.
We will certainly return...Have already planned their Brunch in the early spring...
Based on all this I / we believe that at stay at this hotel would be a great experience.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Booked a superior room for mid-Christmas days accompanied by InsideOut escape room game (same location at the hotel but needs to be booked separately online) afterwards had dinner at the restaurant. LOVED IT!!

Friendly staff that will go that extra mile (e.g. Handwritten greetings in the room beforehand, reserved table at the breakfast with a sunrise view) for your stay to make it more enjoyable experience. Room was clean and modern, beds comfortable and a big window with a view towards the ocean. I am saddened only by the fact that so few locals know about this place.

With some more targeted advertising this could be the best place in Southern Finland to experience Finland at any time of the year: sunset, sunrise, sea side, nature, sauna and not to mention about the wooden architecture at the hotel itself.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jaana_Soulforge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

A stay in Hotel Rantapuisto is a trip to the '60s congress hotel. It's build 1963 for a training center of Pohjoismaiden Yhdyspankki bank. The place is designed by Ragnar and Martta Ypyä. The design of the hotel is quite unique. Lots of steps everywhere, so it's not really wheelchair or stroller accessible. It was really inconvenient to move with the stroller. Our room was in 'Sea Wing' and had nice sea views. But it was really hot in the room and we couldn't get it any colder without having the window open. The breakfast was pretty tasty. If you want to see something else than Helsinki city center this could be the place to stay.

Room tip: Sea Wing (Merisiipi)
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Have you ever seen the movie "Shining"?
This hotel was like going back to the 60's or 70's. Our room was situated in the "Forest Wing". It was a very long walk from the parking lot. Everything was a little bit dirty and old. Bad pillows, rough bed and cold room.
Breakfast was good but didn't save the whole experience.
There's lots of nicer hotels than this in Helsinki.

-Maria and Christian-

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_and_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews