We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
€148
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
€148
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
€164
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tereza U
Wiesbaden, Germany

Central and good

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Feb 2024
I stayed in this hotel one night when on a business trip. The hotel is located in the centre in the proximity of shops with a supermarket just below the hotel in the basement. The room was small and minimalist but it had everything I needed. Liked the 'wet room' as opposed to a standard shower in the bathroom. Although the hotel is on the main road, the room was relatively quiet. Breakfast offered a great selection and it was replenished quickly. The staff was also very friendly and helpful, so all in all, it was a good experience.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
€184
No prepayment needed
  • Scandic Hotels
    €184
  • StayForLong
    €170
  • Expedia.com
    €184
0.3 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
€243
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    €256
  • Agoda.com
    €228
  • Expedia.com
    €256
0.8 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Room service
Scandic Hotels
€154
  • Booking.com
    €139
  • Agoda.com
    €132
  • Expedia.com
    €154
0.4 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
€203
  • Hotels.com
    €199
  • ZenHotels.com
    €190
  • Expedia.com
    €203
0.8 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Booking.com
€102
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €96
  • Agoda.com
    €89
  • Hotels.com
    €94
0.5 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
€108
€96
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    €103
  • Expedia.com
    €108
  • Hotels.com
    €108
0.5 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
€162
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    €155
  • Expedia.com
    €160
  • Hotels.com
    €160
0.9 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Room service
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
€148
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    €133
  • Agoda.com
    €128
  • Expedia.com
    €138
0.8 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
€95
  • Expedia.com
    €90
  • ZenHotels.com
    €84
  • Hotels.com
    €89
4.5 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
€146
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €162
  • ZenHotels.com
    €136
  • Hotels.com
    €162
0.5 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Helsinki
Reviews (2,471)
Filter reviews
2,471 results
Traveller rating
672
1,219
453
90
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
672
1,219
453
90
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station excellent location top floor the heart of the city central location excellent breakfast sauna furniture supermarket bathtub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2,471 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2023

Four of us (all adults) had adjoining rooms and stayed for four nights with breakfast included. The rooms were well appointed and clean but lacked printed information, which was too difficult to access via either the television or the tablet. The reception was roomy and comfortable and the reception staff were always available and answered all of our questions very helpfully. The breakfasts were served on the top floor with great views over Helsinki and had an excellent selection of international and local cuisine to choose from.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gloucesterboy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2023

The bed is the best. We got lucky and got the suite, and it was amazing. We had sauna in there and two showers. I will be definitely coming back soon! Everything is close by, windows are big enough for seeking outside.

Room tip: Stay at Sokos Vaakuna for the best experience in town
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Milla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vaakuna Helsinki, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2023

Hello.

Thank you so much for your kind words.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us,

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2023

Hotel itself is stylish, great location, breakfast was ok, had a room on the 9th floor with balcony. Balcony was surprisingly big but room small. I would had given the room a better rating without the major issue we experienced; nearby nightclub blasted heavy base music until 4.30 am!!! so we only got couple of hours of sleep! This was a major birthday and had many activities planned for the day; instead of waking up refreshed, I felt exhausted and annoyed! We contacted the reception during the night asking them if they could phone clubs nearby and ask them to close their doors. The night manager said that this is a problem on and off, sometimes it is louder and sometimes not. She said they can do nothing about it and offered ear plugs. We complained about it again at check out. I find it difficult to see how a big hotel chain cannot get their message across!! How can city of Helsinki even allow this??? This really did cast a long shadow on my major birthday celebrations as I was very tired.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tiina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vaakuna Helsinki, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Hello,
Great to hear you enjoyed our hotel and breakfast.
Please note we are not able to mandate other businesses opening hours. As we are in the center of Helsinki, some city voices might happen.
Warmest regards from reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2023

Really small rooms, no good place to hang clothes and regardless room being in upper floor, the noise coming from outside was really loud.
Too crowded breakfast, even if they give you a slot when to go, and everything was finished.
Really bad is that the locker room is self service where anyone who gets in can take your suitcase.

The only pros for this hotel is location close to city centre and public transportation.

Room tip: Choose another hotel!
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelAnnaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vaakuna Helsinki, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Hello Anna.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel.
This comes with the other side of the coin which is the sounds of the busy centre of Helsinki during summer time.
We are giving guests the slots from reception to lessen the crowds at breakfast, but the later times are unfortunately always more popular.
Apologies, that our hotel does not have lockers in the luggage room. Only our guests have access to it and it has security camera surveillance. There are lockers at the train station, if you prefer to have your luggage behind a personal lock.

We hope to see you at Sokos Hotels again.

Have a great summer.

Kind regards,
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2023

Nice hotel located just adjacent to the central station, which provides easy access to everything.

Complimentary breakfast available on the top floor with great views of the city.

Also included is access to the saunas on the 8th (Women) and 9th (Men) floor. Great for relaxing after a long day.

Room tip: Get to breakfast early to avoid the crowds
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DHC518
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vaakuna Helsinki, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Hello!

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

We hope too see you again !

Warm regards,
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews