We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Milla H

The best hotel in helsinki

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Nov 2023
The bed is the best. We got lucky and got the suite, and it was amazing. We had sauna in there and two showers. I will be definitely coming back soon! Everything is close by, windows are big enough for seeking outside.
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Stay at Sokos Vaakuna for the best experience in town
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vaakuna Helsinki, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this review
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Hello.

Thank you so much for your kind words.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us,

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Reception
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€189
€180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    €189
  • Official Site
    €180
  • Hotels.com
    €189
0.8 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Room service
€167
  • Scandic Hotels
    €167
  • ZenHotels.com
    €154
  • Expedia.com
    €167
0.3 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€183
  • Expedia.com
    €167
  • Agoda.com
    €162
  • Hotels.com
    €183
0.8 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
€139
  • HotelIndigo.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €131
  • Expedia.com
    €139
0.8 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€136
  • Scandic Hotels
    €136
  • ZenHotels.com
    €121
  • Expedia.com
    €136
0.4 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€106
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    €98
  • Agoda.com
    €90
  • Expedia.com
    €106
0.5 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    €136
  • ZenHotels.com
    €136
  • Priceline
    €148
0.9 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Room service
€138
  • Expedia.com
    €145
  • Agoda.com
    €120
  • Priceline
    €164
0.5 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€129
€98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    €104
  • Expedia.com
    €110
  • Hotels.com
    €110
0.5 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€104
  • Priceline
    €108
  • ZenHotels.com
    €92
  • Expedia.com
    €96
4.5 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Helsinki
Reviews (2,473)
Filter reviews
2,473 results
Traveller rating
673
1,219
454
90
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
673
1,219
454
90
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station excellent location top floor the heart of the city central location excellent breakfast sauna furniture supermarket bathtub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,473 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2023

Hotel itself is stylish, great location, breakfast was ok, had a room on the 9th floor with balcony. Balcony was surprisingly big but room small. I would had given the room a better rating without the major issue we experienced; nearby nightclub blasted heavy base music until 4.30 am!!! so we only got couple of hours of sleep! This was a major birthday and had many activities planned for the day; instead of waking up refreshed, I felt exhausted and annoyed! We contacted the reception during the night asking them if they could phone clubs nearby and ask them to close their doors. The night manager said that this is a problem on and off, sometimes it is louder and sometimes not. She said they can do nothing about it and offered ear plugs. We complained about it again at check out. I find it difficult to see how a big hotel chain cannot get their message across!! How can city of Helsinki even allow this??? This really did cast a long shadow on my major birthday celebrations as I was very tired.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tiina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vaakuna Helsinki, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Hello,
Great to hear you enjoyed our hotel and breakfast.
Please note we are not able to mandate other businesses opening hours. As we are in the center of Helsinki, some city voices might happen.
Warmest regards from reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2023

Really small rooms, no good place to hang clothes and regardless room being in upper floor, the noise coming from outside was really loud.
Too crowded breakfast, even if they give you a slot when to go, and everything was finished.
Really bad is that the locker room is self service where anyone who gets in can take your suitcase.

The only pros for this hotel is location close to city centre and public transportation.

Room tip: Choose another hotel!
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelAnnaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vaakuna Helsinki, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Hello Anna.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel.
This comes with the other side of the coin which is the sounds of the busy centre of Helsinki during summer time.
We are giving guests the slots from reception to lessen the crowds at breakfast, but the later times are unfortunately always more popular.
Apologies, that our hotel does not have lockers in the luggage room. Only our guests have access to it and it has security camera surveillance. There are lockers at the train station, if you prefer to have your luggage behind a personal lock.

We hope to see you at Sokos Hotels again.

Have a great summer.

Kind regards,
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2023

Nice hotel located just adjacent to the central station, which provides easy access to everything.

Complimentary breakfast available on the top floor with great views of the city.

Also included is access to the saunas on the 8th (Women) and 9th (Men) floor. Great for relaxing after a long day.

Room tip: Get to breakfast early to avoid the crowds
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DHC518
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vaakuna Helsinki, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Hello!

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

We hope too see you again !

Warm regards,
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2023 via mobile

I like the location and the vintage vibe of the hotel a lot. My go-to when I need to evernight in city center. Plenty of parking space around, not dedicated to the hotel though. Like the restaurant on the top that doubles as breakfast room. Like it.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Mikakorh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vaakuna Helsinki, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2023

Thank you for your review Mika! Next time you visit, please ask about the guest parking at the reception. Our hotel has a deal with the EuroPark Eliel garage next door and our guests can park there with discounted prices when paid at the hotel reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2023

Visited the bar at top floor of Sokos Hotel next to Central Railway Station. Provides excellent panoramic views of Helsinki. Drinks are dearer than average but worth it
for the view. Staff efficient and friendly. Worth doing at least once.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vaakuna Helsinki, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2023

Thank you for this review, we're happy to hear you enjoyed our terrace!
Hopefully you'll visit us again with a bit more time.
Best regards reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews