We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively good hotel, but the unclean furniture”
Review of Arthur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arthur Hotel
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This hotel is in the quiet part of the town, but near the center, by walk about six to seven minutes. The staff at reception was very friendly. Breakfast is a buffet, very rich and tasty. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom is tidy, towels are changed almost every day.

Although the maids come every day (put away linens and pillows on the bed), it is not clean, there are crumbs and dust on the table, a bedside table was dirty juice from previous guests, as well as wardrobes.

When I wiped the furniture, "Arthur" was ok for those few nights, and the day I was on duty.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rada112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 407 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just a couple of minutes walk from the main train and bus stations, and even less from the nearest tram stop and metro station make for fantastically well located budget accommodation. If you're after a centrally located base from which to see the city sights at a great price you'll be hard pressed to beat this place. The standard double room was a decent size, the shower was powerful and hot and the bed comfy. As we only used the room to wash, change and sleep this was all we wanted. There wasn't any air conditioning I could see but there were two big windows you could open as wide as you wanted. There was a minibar which you could use to chill and store your own drinks in if you didn't want to buy the ones in it. Big let down was no coffee making facility in the room, i'd have taken a kettle had I known! Breakfast was plentiful, but not overly appealing to British tastes, however, other nationalities certainly seemed to enjoy it. That said the fruit juice, cereal and toast did me. We went twice in a four night stay. Reception were friendly and helpful. The hotel lunch and dinner menu was varied and appealing. Overall the hotel represents fantastic value for a sight-seeing base for Helsinki city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank flashredtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

It's located right in a small quiet street in the centre of the city next to the railway station and the main street. The room is quite basic and the breakfast is not something to write home about. But the price and location are really worth staying at this hotel. I would definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topguyspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We didn't stay here in August 2010 but in February 2009 (didn't give me the option to pick that date). Our flight was cancelled due to snow at Gatwick so we needed to find a hotel quickly. We stayed at Hotel Arthur for just one night. The hotel was fine but at the time noisy because the council were repairing some sewage pipes out in the street. Not the hotel's fault obviously. The breakfast was adequate but disappointing compared to the Scandic Continental where we had spent the last few nights. Oh, and the wifi wasn't free. I had to pay an extra 5€ for that. Centrally located and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needtotravelmore47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Due to indecision on our part, we had not booked for the three nights we had in transit in Helsinki. Unfortunately , it was Helsinki Week and a conference of business women was in town so we had to take pot luck. We managed to get the Sir Arthur Suite for one night. We chose the Hotel Arthur because it was a non-smoking hotel (another hotel offered an expensive smoking room as an alternative for about the same price as the Sir Arthur Suite).
The Sir Arthur suite is showing a need for some repair and maintenance on the wallpaper but the room is comfortable with a lounge and the bedroom is divided from this by a partition. The bed is very comfortable. A power point was close to the bed so my sleep apnea machine could be plugged in and used easily.
The small sauna in the suite worked well and the shower worked well, although I don't know of the benefit of having colored lights in the shower.
The staff at reception were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was included in the price. The breakfast buffet included cereals, yogurts, fruits, Karelian pastries, croissants etc so there was a wide range to choose from.
After our night in the Sir Arthur suite, a cheaper room (Room 712) became available in another part of the hotel. It was much smaller and older style, more like a hostel room, but comfortable and clean with a tv and hand basin. This room had shared WC and shower facilities but the shower on our level was out of action due to ongoing renovations so we had to find the shower in the refurbished part of the hotel. We were compensated for this by having a free booking for the sauna and shower on Level 6.
High speed internet was available for a fee in the reception area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyRandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
637 reviews
Anna Hotel
#30 of 66 in Helsinki
367 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Omena Hotel
Omena Hotel
#53 of 66 in Helsinki
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rantapuisto
#31 of 66 in Helsinki
254 reviews
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#41 of 66 in Helsinki
336 reviews
Kulttuurikeskus Sofia
#48 of 66 in Helsinki
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur Hotel

Address: Vuorikatu 19, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: €72 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arthur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing