We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveller rating
135
453
388
159
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
453
388
159
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location train station meatballs major attractions clean hotel breakfast was included bed was comfortable central helsinki three nights the heart of the city public transportation yogurt few minutes walk market square waterfront europe
Filter
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just a couple of minutes walk from the main train and bus stations, and even less from the nearest tram stop and metro station make for fantastically well located budget accommodation. If you're after a centrally located base from which to see the city sights at a great price you'll be hard pressed to beat this place. The standard double room was a decent size, the shower was powerful and hot and the bed comfy. As we only used the room to wash, change and sleep this was all we wanted. There wasn't any air conditioning I could see but there were two big windows you could open as wide as you wanted. There was a minibar which you could use to chill and store your own drinks in if you didn't want to buy the ones in it. Big let down was no coffee making facility in the room, i'd have taken a kettle had I known! Breakfast was plentiful, but not overly appealing to British tastes, however, other nationalities certainly seemed to enjoy it. That said the fruit juice, cereal and toast did me. We went twice in a four night stay. Reception were friendly and helpful. The hotel lunch and dinner menu was varied and appealing. Overall the hotel represents fantastic value for a sight-seeing base for Helsinki city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank flashredtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

It's located right in a small quiet street in the centre of the city next to the railway station and the main street. The room is quite basic and the breakfast is not something to write home about. But the price and location are really worth staying at this hotel. I would definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topguyspb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We didn't stay here in August 2010 but in February 2009 (didn't give me the option to pick that date). Our flight was cancelled due to snow at Gatwick so we needed to find a hotel quickly. We stayed at Hotel Arthur for just one night. The hotel was fine but at the time noisy because the council were repairing some sewage pipes out in the street. Not the hotel's fault obviously. The breakfast was adequate but disappointing compared to the Scandic Continental where we had spent the last few nights. Oh, and the wifi wasn't free. I had to pay an extra 5€ for that. Centrally located and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needtotravelmore47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Due to indecision on our part, we had not booked for the three nights we had in transit in Helsinki. Unfortunately , it was Helsinki Week and a conference of business women was in town so we had to take pot luck. We managed to get the Sir Arthur Suite for one night. We chose the Hotel Arthur because it was a non-smoking hotel (another hotel offered an expensive smoking room as an alternative for about the same price as the Sir Arthur Suite).
The Sir Arthur suite is showing a need for some repair and maintenance on the wallpaper but the room is comfortable with a lounge and the bedroom is divided from this by a partition. The bed is very comfortable. A power point was close to the bed so my sleep apnea machine could be plugged in and used easily.
The small sauna in the suite worked well and the shower worked well, although I don't know of the benefit of having colored lights in the shower.
The staff at reception were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was included in the price. The breakfast buffet included cereals, yogurts, fruits, Karelian pastries, croissants etc so there was a wide range to choose from.
After our night in the Sir Arthur suite, a cheaper room (Room 712) became available in another part of the hotel. It was much smaller and older style, more like a hostel room, but comfortable and clean with a tv and hand basin. This room had shared WC and shower facilities but the shower on our level was out of action due to ongoing renovations so we had to find the shower in the refurbished part of the hotel. We were compensated for this by having a free booking for the sauna and shower on Level 6.
High speed internet was available for a fee in the reception area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyRandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

In a good spot, but let down by poor maintenance-the bathroom had a big hole in the wall. (room 311 for the hotel's benefit if they read this) The windows were filthy (someone had written a date on the outside about 18 months earlier) and generally it needed to be smartened up. Not somewhere I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanTweedheadsSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews