We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotell”
Review of Hotel Kamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kamp
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Exellent location, location, location. Excellent service, excellent beds.Bar was nice, I really liked this Kyrö-gin. Hotel was full because of big events, but we didn´t feel that in hotel. I hope we return some day.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank 829erkkik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KampCollectionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear 829erkkik,

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Kämp. I am delighted to hear you were happy with our service, location and our famous bar.

On behalf of our whole team I hope to see you here at Hotel kämp again!

All the best,

Anders Sjöblom
Guest Relations Manger
Hotel Kämp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Kamp Hotel is the Grand Old Hotel in Helsinki with its roots back to late 1800 . It is located on the Esplanadi Boulevard being the premier street in Helsinki . The hotel has some 180 great rooms and not the least so the bathrooms . It has a great fitness and wellness center . You will find a well known restaurant being used for breakfast , lunch and dinner . There are ample meeting rooms and an underground parking facility . It is a hotel I have stayed at for some 15 years after the hotel was reconstructed . The service level is very high and overall , a great hotel !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikb409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KampCollectionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear erikb409,

We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here in Helsinki, and we thank you for taking the time to share your views with ourselves and your fellow travelers.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

All the best,

Anders Sjöblom
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Kämp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This 130 -year-old hotel is centrally located. It faces the Esplande Park where there is a a constant stream of leisurely activities and strollers. It is walking distance to all the fashion stores, the harbour and the Market Square where you can find many specialty shops that sell seafood, fruits, beverages etc.

The Brassiere serves a nice breakfast and you have the option to sit inside or outside (a glass closure) and watch the world goes by along the Esplanade drive.

Rooms are well appointed except there is no beverage making facility which is rather odd for a luxury hotel. You have to request for it before they send it over.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the Esplanade Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clubmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KampCollectionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Clubmoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Kämp. I am pleased to hear that you were happy with our location. We are indeed very well located, within walking distance from all the main attractions and shopping areas.

On the behalf of our whole team I hope to see you here at Hotel kämp again!

All the best,

Anders Sjöblom
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Kämp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Disappointed it was not any No No coffeemaker is missing in the room. No cotton pins and dirty carpet on the floor. Need some renovation. Paint has gone of from some places in the room. The bar is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank Harriet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KampCollectionHotels, Manager on Duty at Hotel Kamp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Harriet L,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you liked the legendary Kämp Bar and its ambiance. However, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the room related issues. Your feedback is very important to us, as it helps us to fine tune our operations for the future. I can assure you that I have followed up with our housekeeping and maintenance with the matter. I truly hope to be able to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to Helsinki.

With kindest regards,
Milla Liljanko
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Just stayed at the Kämp in early August for two nights at the Executive room. Had previously stayed there there when Kämp was part of Starwood's Luxury Collection.

It is never a good sign when you turn up at supposedly a “luxury” hotel in a taxi past midnight and no bellman in sight. Perhaps they should pay attention to the taxis in front of the hotel if they pop up the trunk open to come help with the bags.

We had two separate reservations. We had been “walked” from Klaus K the first night (belong to the same hotel group) and had made reservation using Orbitz for the second night (was 30% cheaper than what Kämp itself was charging for the executive room on their own website).

Made sure that the lady checking us in understood that we had two reservations and the keys would work for both nights. She assured that all had been set up correctly (wasn't). As we were two traveling together, the second person was added to the reservation as well in case of non-working keys and ability to charge to the room.

In the morning the TV went on by itself. I guess that the front desk had checked us out on the first reservation and checked us in using the second one. All good.

Coming back to the hotel later in the day the keys didn't work in the elevator. Surprise! They hadn't been keyed in correctly or someone screwed up in the morning. How luxurious!

Had a friend coming to meet me at the hotel later in the day and was having a nap. Didn't wake up immediately after she called me. Called her back and came to pick her up from the lobby. The bold guy confirmed me that she was with me when going to the elevator. Yes.

My friend was coming back later and had forgotten his key to the room. He couldn't remember his room number first and the same bold guy had suggested that perhaps he was at the wrong hotel! How hospitable! Perhaps he used to work for the gestapo in the past. When they had checked us in using the second reservation they hadn't transferred the second guest. They were able to pull his name, however, from the first check in. What a mess! Obviously this new key then disable the other two keys!

After paying $400 for the night, I requested late check out. When this hotel was part of SPG, Gold and Platinum members were eligible for guaranteed 4PM check out. Now that it is part of this useless Leading Hotels of the World soft brand “they are trying to do their best” and offered 1PM. They were not able to do any later......

On the check out date, the housekeeping walked to the room without knocking when the Do Not Disturb-sign was hanging outside. How luxurious!

The Kämp breakfast is like being in the kindergarten. They have since spring had paper tablecloth. How luxurious and cheap is this! The service is super slow too.

Bathroom doesn't have shaving, dental or any other supplies that “luxury” hotels would have.

Never again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LoyaltyLobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KampCollectionHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kamp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear LoyaltyLobby,

thank you for your sharing your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you have faced inconveniences during your stay. I hope that we still have a chance to welcome you back to Hotel Kämp in the future.

Kind regards,

Arttu Kuromaa
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,099 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
519 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
578 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamp

Address: Pohjoisesplanadi 29, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: €215 - €395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kamp 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kamp, the historic, luxury landmark and iconic hotel originally built in 1887. Situated in the city center and in the middle of the shopping & business areas, 179 luxurious rooms including several suites. With spacious marble bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The hotel boasts two distinct restaurants and infamous bar. Kamp Spa and private gym and sauna. In addition, there are exceptional spaces for private dinners, weddings to corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamp Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing