We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stephanie

Good location, Bad service, Poor Value

Review of Hotel St George
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
This hotel has some nice amenities. The location is great. The sauna is nice. The rooms have some neat features. However, the service we received was not worthy of the price point or the five-star rating.

The person who checked us in was surly. She scolded us for having booked on Expedia, even though we had paid over list price for the booking.

Our room (a Serenity Suite) was in a terrible location: on the first floor, overlooking a busy street and a parking garage. We kept our curtains drawn because pedestrians could see in. The traffic noise kept us up at night. Meanwhile, there were other rooms of the same type available for our dates.

We tried the breakfast once. Since we had not pre-paid, it was 34 Euros per person. The restaurant was half empty, but the host sat us by a pole, in the path of the waitstaff, with no room to relax and enjoy the expensive meal. We ate as fast as possible and consumed our remaining meals elsewhere.

The first day of our stay, housekeeping never came. I had to ask at the front desk for them to come service the room. We learned that unless you specifically request it, your room will not be serviced until close to 4 pm.

By the time all this happened, it was too late to cancel our reservation so we avoided being at the hotel as much as possible.

Save your hard-earned money and stay elsewhere.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€316
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    €316
0.5 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Room service
€220
€185
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
0.6 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Room service
€205
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    €205
  • Booking.com
6.0 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Pool
€177
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    €177
4.9 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Pool
€245
€221
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
0.1 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €302
  • Expedia.com
    €315
0.5 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Scandic Hotels
    €197
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • HotelIndigo.com
    €223
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
    €229
  • ZenHotels.com
    €226
  • Scandic Hotels
    €229
0.6 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    €212
  • Expedia.com
    €221
1.3 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Helsinki
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
332
99
52
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
332
99
52
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atelier room winter garden soda stream park suite balcony room platinum member small pool nordic choice luxury hotel spa area nordic design rain shower spacious bathroom favorite hotel hotel is centrally located breakfast was delicious wonderful hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2024

Awesome stay as always!
Number one choice in Helsinki as per my opinion. Thank you for everything!
Would definitely choose St George Hotel again!

Date of stay: June 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank fenru l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2024

Rooms are nice, if you get one with a desk, but not the hotel of my choice. The lack of proper entrance and few steps can be surprisingly annoying when you visit often.
The gym is a tiny cupboard that fits max 3 persons and most importantly the service at the reception is every time leaving plenty of room for improvement. The staff is very young and kind, but inexperienced. It is also the small things, like when ordering a cab for a specific time, they are not waiting with the luggage or helping it to the taxi or from it unless asked. Breakfast is served in the cellar with very little natural light. On the plus side the breakfast is, thought small selection, good quality.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Hami
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2024

We stayed at the St George Hotel for four nights in May 2024, the location is great and hotel is beautiful. However, the service did not quite meet our expectations for a 5-star establishment.

The staff at the front desk did not make you feel welcome and not a lot of information was given. We asked for a recommendation for local restaurant, the lady didn't really help too much.

Upon check in, we were told we had been upgraed. However our room was right next to the elevator and didn't feel like an upgrade at all, it was quite noisy one morning around 4:30am with many guests open/close the hall way door to the elevator, we had to request for room change. Another lady at the front desk did move us to a conner room. As a titanium elite member, they didn't honor late checkout request.

We did enjoy the pool and sauna/steam rooms and the breakfast was great too.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wl1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2024

We stayed at the St George Hotel for two nights in May 2024, accompanied by friends and our teenage sons, aged 14 and 12. The hotel boasts an attractive design and a favorable location, which are definite pluses. However, the service did not quite meet our expectations for a 5-star establishment, feeling more akin to that of a 4-star hotel.

A few small, yet significant issues marred our experience. For starters, there was no one to greet us at the door or assist with our luggage, which we had to carry up to the reception on the first floor ourselves. No staff member escorted us to our room either. At breakfast, we noticed guests casually dressed in flip-flops and gym attire, which seemed out of place in a supposedly high-standard hotel.

The bar experience was similarly disappointing. The cocktails were subpar; my Whisky Sour was overly sour and clear, not at all what I expected from a premium establishment. Moreover, the bartender's appearance was unprofessional; his shoes were so worn that his toes were visible.

One of the most frustrating aspects was the age restriction at the pool. Despite being empty and having adult supervision, our sons, who are 14 and 12, were not allowed to use the pool due to a policy restricting access to those 16 and older. This policy was surprising and disappointing, as we have never encountered such restrictions in other luxury hotels around the world.

In summary, while St George Hotel excels in aesthetics and location, the level of service and attention to detail do not live up to the 5-star standard we have come to expect. This was not the experience we anticipated, and it made our stay less enjoyable than it could have been.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank sleife811539
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2024

Good location, quiet rooms, fun cafe, twin beds were key, helpful staff, Marriott partner, a bit of a walk from the train station, rates were ok ish (Scandinavia in general is expensive), I would stay there again, got lucky with the weather so that always helps the impression, nice public park across the street

Room tip: Breakfast was good
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews