We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bern_Shen
San Francisco, California

Great home base for exploring Helsinki

Review of Hotel St George
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2024
Centrally located near the junction of Kamppi, the Design District & the Esplanade, & just across the street from the Vanha kirkkopuisto (Old Church Park), the Hotel St. George is a wonderful home base for exploring Helsinki.

Special shout-out to the breakfast team (both kitchen & front of house); our server Maricor was especially warm, efficient & professional - either the full breakfast or a lighter meal at the adjacent St. George Bakery makes for a great start to the day!

Our only slight reservation was that the WiFi was a bit inconsistent (seemed to kick us off a few times a day, though speeds were reasonably good at ~25-40 Mbps both up & down). Otherwise, highly recommended & we hope to be back!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mari Suhonen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel St George, responded to this review
Responded 18 Apr 2024
Dear Bern_Shen,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you found Hotel St. George to be a great home base for exploring Helsinki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast experience, and we will pass on your kind words to Maricor and the rest of our breakfast team.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the inconsistency of the WiFi during your stay but are happy to hear this did not detract from your overall enjoyment of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Helsinki!

Sincerely,
Mari Suhonen
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€227
€199
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    €199
0.5 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Room service
€127
  • Booking.com
  • Scandic Hotels
    €127
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€124
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • HotelIndigo.com
    €124
0.4 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€164
€141
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
0.6 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Room service
€117
€111
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    €111
6.0 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Pool
€120
€93
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Strawberry Hotels
    €120
1.3 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Pool
€110
€93
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    €93
4.9 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    €187
  • Expedia.com
    €194
0.5 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
  • Scandic Hotels
    €158
  • ZenHotels.com
    €156
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    €111
  • Official Site
0.1 km from Hotel St George
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Helsinki
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
332
99
52
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
332
99
52
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews atelier room winter garden soda stream park suite balcony room platinum member small pool nordic choice luxury hotel spa area nordic design rain shower spacious bathroom favorite hotel hotel is centrally located breakfast was delicious wonderful hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2024

Hi, the place is very beautiful and the spa is amazing and the staff we'll accomodated. Well recommended for friends. Never regret to choose this hotel. The food is very delicious and yummy!!!!To proved please free to visit the place!!❤️❤️❤️❤️

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gretchen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mari Suhonen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Dear 253gretchenl,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the overall experience. We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon as our guest.

Sincerely,
Mari Suhonen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024

Nice room - comfy bed and pillows. I had the best sleep ever!
Great location - easy access to public transport, walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc.
Good food - yummy breakfast!!!
Friendly staff - all staff were accommodating and very helpful.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mesha Danelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mari Suhonen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Dear meshadanelle,


Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. It is great to notice that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, convenient location, delicious breakfast, and the warmth of our staff.

We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon as our guest at St. George.

Sincerely,
Mari Suhonen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2024 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in a business trip. A centrally located hotel in Helsinki. Rooms were good and WiFi excellent, bathrooms well stocked with amenities and a comfortable bed. A great buffet breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 3gavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mari Suhonen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Dear 3gavina,

Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your business trip to Helsinki.

We are glad you found our hotel convenient and comfortable, with a delicious breakfast. Our team is happy to hear your positive feedback.

We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Sincerely,
Mari Suhonen
Hotel Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024

We had a short 36-hr stopover in Helsinki the St George was absolutely perfect. Early check-in meant we could refresh after a long flight before exploring the city. The hotel is just so luxurious. The room was totally sound insulated, could hear no noise from outside or the corridor at all. The decor was brilliant. The breakfast was the best breakfast we've ever had. Hands-down. So much choice and all so fresh and the service was brilliant. The bar also was incredible, even during the daytime it was a wonderful place to come and relax. The spa was a little busy, and the pool quite cold, but overall good.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mari Suhonen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Dear Alice C,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you had a perfect stopover in Helsinki with us.
It is wonderful to know that you found our hotel luxurious and truly enjoyed our services and facilities.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.


Sincerely,
Mari Suhonen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2024

The lobby of this hotel is barely there, so you might miss the entrance if you do not know the exact location. It can also be tricky for taxis to pick up and you will need to order the taxi. There is no help for the luggage, and you need to haul them quite steeply, there are also some steps in the floors, so not for heavy luggage!
Otherwise, room are ok, nice and fresh, but there is no table to work so not recommending this for any business visitors.

Room tip: No desks - not for people in town for business
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 123Hami
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews