We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$130
eDreamsUS$130
Hotels.comUS$117
PricelineUS$130
CheapTicketsUS$117
Orbitz.comUS$117
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
23
27
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
27
13
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Hostel Suomenlinna is owned and run by school group organization. The ownership guides the development of the hostel. The atmosphere is warm and quiet.

There is a small grocery store conveniently next to Hostel Suomenlinna. Wifi is free and works well inside the building.

There is a possibility to have a good-quality buffet breakfast if you book it in advance. It's like a hotel breakfast, I recommend it.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TimoKiviluoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra686, Johtaja at Hostel Suomenlinna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

An amazing price/quality ratio! For just a third of the price of a city centre hotel room you'll get a unique and quiet room in a historical building. The hostel is spotlessly clean and the staff is nice. Breakfast is good (and stunningly inexpensive). Remember to reserve your breakfast already upon booking.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TinyKata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra686, Johtaja at Hostel Suomenlinna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you so much :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

A small getaway from city life. Helsinki is a quiet city but sometimes one wants to get away from it all. I loved staying at this hostel. Dorm is a dorm but I kind of agreed with a friend that next we'll take a twin here, instead of taking a place in the city. Really nice staff, clean and practical.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank kpuuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra686, Johtaja at Hostel Suomenlinna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi!

Thank you for this rview :) We are glaad to hear you liked our get away. We truly have a unique Hostel. Welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Nothing fancy but it does the job. It's clean and the staff were friendly. Just be careful when booking, because (at least the time of year that I was there) there were no ferries to the mainland between 2am-6am. This was a problem for me because I had a flight out at 8am. That's not the hostel's fault though.
My only complaints for the hostel were:
• The lockers are not big enough for most luggage, especially with the shelf, so you can't lock up your luggage
• There's no bin in one of the female toilet cubicles. I know that there's one under the sink outside, but I think it's a necessity to have bins in female toilets
• The shower curtains float inwards while you're showering, which is uncomfortable

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 459marthag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra686, Johtaja at Hostel Suomenlinna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi Martha!

Thank you for your feed back!
We never actually thought about the bins in both down stairs female toilettes, and now that it`s mentioned we`ll deffinately fix that one :). Thanks! We have noticed the problem with the lockers. Some guests want the shelfs and some just a big enough locker for luggage. There are ones without the shelfs but offcourse it`s a problem if those are not available. We´ll think about it and perhaps take the shelfs off them all. The problem with the shower curtains is a bit harder to solve. In a longer term, perhaps we could invest on shower doors. Good point absolutely. Anyway, i´m glad to hear your stay was overall a good experience! Hope to have you again at our Hostel :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and quiet. Staying on Suomenlinna was a neat experience. It was a great decision to get up to explore the fortress before most tourists got there later in the morning. The hostel kitchen is quite small, but there is a small grocery store beside the hostel. The hostel is often unstaffed, but it's set up so you can check yourself in at anytime and pay in the morning when someone is at the desk. I would definitely recommend the hostel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Nor_Stanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra686, Johtaja at Hostel Suomenlinna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi!

Thank you for your feed back!
I´m glad to hear you had a good experience with us :)
The kitchen is quite small and only ment for ligt cooking. At the moment we can`t really do much about it, even if we want to :( But we´ll try to keep it clean and well equipped.
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews