We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak in a rather modern setting”

Restaurant Fat Lizard Otaniemi
Reserve a table
Ranked #4 of 292 Restaurants in Espoo
Price range: US$13 - US$58
Description: Restaurant Fat Lizard is a cosy laid back and same time a chic meeting point restaurant just a stone's throw from Aalto-yliopisto subway station. We believe in our honest and impressive food that we cook In our kitchen where we have also a genuine wood-fired pizza oven and a real charcoal grill. Best of all, we cook from lunch until late night every single day.  
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant Fat Lizard is a cosy laid back and same time a chic meeting point restaurant just a stone's throw from Aalto-yliopisto subway station. We believe in our honest and impressive food that we cook In our kitchen where we have also a genuine wood-fired pizza oven and a real charcoal grill. Best of all, we cook from lunch until late night every single day.  
Reviewed 1 November 2021 via mobile

I visited the restaurant over lunch. I didn't opt for the lunch manu but chose the entire ote. It was a bit pricy but for once high price made sense. The meat was very tender, tasted particularly good and the size was rather big. The accompanying vegetables were also tasty. Very good performance! The atmosphere was a bit bland however - quite modern and not very cozy in my view. Anyway, I will be happy to visit again.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Sami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

Nice and trendy atmosphere. The location is next to Aalto University metro station and it is easy to reach also from the city center of Helsinki.
Fat Lizard has its own brewery that is some hundred meters away from this restaurant - they are not same place.
Their beers are my favourite ones!
My WTF (with tuna fish…) pizza was excellent. The price level is not cheap but not too expensive either.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Vahis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiina K, Owner at Restaurant Fat Lizard Otaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Hi Vahis,

thank you very much for your kind and nice review. Hope to see you in Otaniemi soon again.

Best regards, Tiina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2021 via mobile

Visited twice in early 2021.
Both times had to wait a long time for drinks - and even longer for the food. There was plenty of staff , but i felt they paid more attention to their computer than customers.
Food was ok - but for such high prices I would expect more.

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank Pekka997
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2020

We have tried several times to go for dinner to Fat Lizard, for one reason because we have heard so many positive reviews and also because they serve glutenfree pizzas. We were a group of five, two pizzas, one glutenfree, steak and some seafood. The gluten free pizza was absolutely terrible, it soaked in cheese, the bottom was over 2 cm thick and raw and there was really no taste. I can understand that sometimes the cook doesn't succeed but really, you never should bring this kind of pizzas to the table! The 'normal' pizzas were ok minus, the bottom wasn't crispy at all. The steak was the best and the two points go for the really nice interior and the servant, who was very polite.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
539tiinar, Omistaja at Restaurant Fat Lizard Otaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Dear Karin P,

we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. Usually we get only positive feedback about our gluten free pizza, which our pizza master Emanuele has personally developed. So, we can only wonder what might have gone wrong at your visit.

Of course we'd like you to come again and taste our truly good gluten free pizzas. So, I kindly ask you to contact the restaurant: otaniemi@ravintolafatlizard.fi so we could make this up to you.

Kind regards, Tiina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2020 via mobile

I have visited two times, first had a dinner here and then just a pizza for lunch. The prices are high so was expecting more. The menu is very variable and experimental but still the food is somehow flavorless. Some might like it but I’m more for good classics. Unfortunately, dogs only allowed on the terrace.

Date of visit: July 2020
2  Thank Shellyfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Fat Lizard Otaniemi also viewed

 
Espoo, Uusimaa
Espoo, Uusimaa
 

Been to Restaurant Fat Lizard Otaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.