We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$137
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$143
PricelineUS$147
TravelocityUS$143
Vio.comUS$147
Orbitz.comUS$143
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
19
11
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
11
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2020 via mobile

We really loved this boutique hotel in Oulu. It felt safe and taking good care of its customers. Rooms are small but adequate. Loved their lunch. I love the atmosphere and christmasfeel. Great bonus is a free Hukka membership for a day, it’s a huge gym and sport center near by.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Darrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pohjola Veli-Pekka, Owner at De Gamlas Hem Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2021

Thank You very much for Your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2020

This beautifully renovated hotel served as my accommodation due a work trip in Oulu for a few days. I stayed in two different rooms. Both were very comfortable, clean and had a nice modern bathroom. Most of the rooms have also an old stove as an ornament. Although the rooms are not very spacious, they still are very comfortable. The rooms are quiet as the old building itself absorbs a lot of sounds and noices. The bed was great to sleep on. The tv is good, but still missed some international channels. The peculiar reading light serves also as a shelving, which I noticed much later.

The reception and generally all staff members were very friendly and helpful! Also the lobby and the five o´clock tee/coffee time was great. It was also nice to notice that the hotel honors the Swedish volunteer airmen, who operated in Finland during the WW2 and stayed in this building during their mission.

The breakfast was very good and the facilities nicely decorated and spacious. I did start my days with content. Too bad I didn´t have time to try the restaurant. Maybe if there would have been some info about it in the room itself would propably have persuaded me to try to dine.

The hotel is easy to locate and has a free parking lot. There are also a few bicycles to borrow. For warm sunny days/evenings there is a large terrace as well. What I missed actually, being in Finland was a sauna naturally.

Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikingOlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pohjola Veli-Pekka, Owner at De Gamlas Hem Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2021

Thank You very much! Welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019

This was late booking to visit family who live in Oulu and having time with sister-in-law and her partner. It was what my partner could find at short notice for a visit to home town between Christmas and the new year. We were all very pleasantly surprised by the quality and friendliness of the hotel and restaurant. The food was magnificent high quality finish Nord in cooking at its best. Everyone loved the meal. The bar was well run and coated with a number of family and fresh IP groups way over filling the place with humour and quality service. I did feel for them given the highly mixed and in some cases raucous groups.!!! The decor of the repurposes care home was excellent. Only fly in the ointment the beds are fare to narrow for two Normal to small sized people!! Also the on suit facility’s are idiosyncratic privacy had all of us couples very amused and slightly red faced . Over all very nice stay recommended to all who want a try oulo experience of quality. We will use it again for sure. It is also convent to the twin center and the airport train station etc.

Room tip: As for bed size!!!
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GSM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
degamlashotel, Duty Manager at De Gamlas Hem Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Hello,
thank you for your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our kitchen has received lots of positive feedback and we are glad that also you liked the meals.
Bed sizes vary from 140cm to 200cm, depending on the room type.

We wish you warmly welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

Every aspect of our stay was wonderful. The heritage building is beautiful and has been considerately designed in its update and transformation to a charming boutique hotel. Comfiest bed and our room was surprisingly quiet. The restaurant is excellent and you will not want to go anywhere else for dinner. Highly recommend that you stay here & enjoy the professional & welcoming service at De Gamlas Hem.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank FiveCatPalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
VPPOHJOLA, Omistaja at De Gamlas Hem Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Thank You very much for your feedback! We would like to see you here again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2019

The hotel is stylish and authentic. It's not part of a chain, which is rare these days.
Staff are friendly.
The location is a short walk from the center and you can borrow a bike for free to get around.
You can also use the facilities of a massive local gym.

Unfortunately despite these positive aspects, I had a wretched night's sleep.
The air conditioning is very noisy and cannot be turned off by guests. It was left on by a staff member. Also the curtains don't block out sunlight.
I was seriously considering sleeping in the garden.

With 3 hours sleep, the evening and the following day were ruined.

Mistakes can happen anywhere and I might have been unlucky. Perhaps my senses were too sensitive after a long day.

This is a new place and it's a local business (i.e. real people, not a corporation). But this stay was wretched.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moyoulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
VPPOHJOLA, Omistaja at De Gamlas Hem Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2019

Thank you for your feedback!

We're really sorry. We made a mistake and the air conditioning was too loud.

We will be better in the future. Welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews