We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$102
FindHotelUS$102
eDreamsUS$102
Agoda.comUS$102
EtripUS$102
TripadvisorUS$102
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
12
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018

The place were the cottages of Ollilan are placed is amazing. You have a lot of privacy and a great view on the lake. We were in Januari when everything was covered in snow and the lake was frozen. There are no other hotels nearby so when you go walking or cross-country skiing it feels like you are in the middle of now where. The cottages ar in good condition and very comfortable with a sauna, wood hearth and small kitchen. The owners Tuomo and Marjo are very friendly people and do everything to make you feel at home. Marjo is cooking real Finish dishes from fish to moose stew that are really great! Tuomo took us on a Snowmobile day trip of 100km through the whole area. A great experience and also the Husky sledge trip of a full day with a husky farm in the neighbourhood was fantastic. You can also go for a day skiing in Ruka that is 40 minutes by car from Ollilan and worth a visit. We would love to come back here in summer to de-stress again from our city live.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We arrived very late in the evening to the log cabin, this place was everything we were looking for. It was secluded, quiet and cosy. We were right beside a beautiful lake, where we sat and read with flasks of coffee, made campfires and just enjoyed being outdoors in the peace and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of life.
Attached to our cabin we had a sauna which was perfect for the cold winter nights. We had a lovely log fire inside the cabin which we continuously kept going and enjoyed having playing games in front of. The cabin itself was heated well and provided good kitchen facilities where we prepared mulled wine to drink out by our campfire. Not far from our cabin (10 minute walk) we also went to the onsite restaurant for dinner which was delicious! (The reindeer is a must!!!)
The beds were very comfortable and plenty of extra blankets if needed were supplied. Tuomo and his family were so accommodating and they really did make an effort to cater to any of our needs.
Me and my friends had a fantastic stay here and the cabin and the trip will be one we will not forget.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Albany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

We booked our stay here from the US before starting our three month tour of Scandinavia. The information on this place was a bit limited so we were cautiously optimistic and the place didn't disappoint. A car is really necessary at this location because it is really remote from everything. When arriving the reception is in the home of the proprietors but the cabins are located away from the homestead in private secluded locations out in the middle of the wilderness along the lake. The cabin had everything we needed for cooking and the store in town had plenty of variety for groceries. We brought our own bedding from our Finnish friends home but they have bedding and linen available to rent if needed. The price of the cabin is very reasonable. We were there the end of May and the lake was still mostly frozen although not solid enough to walk on. The sauna, shower, and bathroom is very nice but is accessed from the porch, not from within the cabin. The proprietors speak sufficient English. The only suggestion I would have is to provide hair dryers in the cabin. Most travelers aren't able to travel with hair dryers anymore given the size and weight restrictions imposed by airlines.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank AdventureUnlimited01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We did not use the cottage services - but we were enjoying Tuomo's unbelievable fishing skills and knowledge. Tuomo shared without hesitation all the information he had and told amazing stories about history and surrounding nature. Really enjoyable moments (and lots of fish) he provided for us.
Next year we are going to test the fish buffet - I'm confident that it will be pure gourmet with fresh and clean ingredients and the original atmosphere. And we want to see the bears too!!!
If you don't want to be so super touristic and do something authentic, what still gives you nice memories, choose Tuomo! We loved it!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank MiinaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We spent a night inside the red house in June. The location was quiet and beautiful: the house was in front of the lake, sorrounded by trees. We could see the lake even through a big window of our room. There were a fireplace and a sauna too. Everything was very relaxing and romantic. Furnishings was nice and clean. Owners, husband and wife, were absolutely kind: they showed us a place where usually reindeers are. So i took some nice photos of reindeers! Ollilan Lomamajat is a perfect place for a Finnish adventure!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marty579
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews