We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$129
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$129
View deal
Booking.comUS$129
TravelocityUS$129
PricelineUS$129
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
17
9
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
9
4
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2016

January 2016.
We stayed in the hotel but transferred to an apartment.

HOTEL - is very comfortable. Twin beds. Hairdryer. TV. It has a drying cupboard for damp clothing. Under floor heating in the shower room is extremely nice. There was no shower gel or shampoo. Only criticism is that the room was too hot. We had to request kettle as there was not one in the room.

APARTMENT - The apartment had two twinned bedrooms. The lobby area has a coat cupboard and there is also a drying cupboard too. The shower room has under floor heating, a toilet and sauna. There was also a separate toilet. Table and chairs that seat six. Didn't use the log fire as, again, the apartment was too hot. Would say that if the top damper of the log burner (on the wall) is pulled out... it lets in a tremendous draught. All the apartments appear to have a balcony and there is a launderette in the basement. Everything you need for self catering is there.

RESTAURANT - Breakfast was included in our package. Usual fare on offer, cereal, hot and cold food together with tea/coffee/squash. Lunch time snacks available which is fresh cooked and hot. Had two evening meals one of which Matti prepared planked smoked fish... really tasty !

LOCATION - Beautiful location in Winter and would imagine it to be in Summer also. Set on a vast lake surrounded by fir streets. Ski Slopes can be seen from the hotel/apartment and are lit in the evening.

It is about a 450m uphill walk to the escalator that takes you up the hill into Ruka Village. However, on the occasions I used it.. it didn't work and had to walk up the 75 steps! We were told that you have to push a button and it would start but the button is not in an obvious place. It brings to out to a car park and the village is not far from that. You have to have a reasonable amount of fitness to walk into Ruka.

RUKA VILLAGE

Plenty of bars/restaurants/shops/supermarkets etc.

All in all... a pleasant trouble free vacation. Thank you to Matti and his team... professional and very friendly.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 September 2015

In late August, Ruka is something like a ghost town, with dozens of fancy ski challets, all locked and deserted. But Ruka Tontu hotel is small enough to feel cozy even in off-season's low capacity. It's beautiful setting and comfortable rooms are nothing compared to the excellent service of Matti, the manager, the most patient and helpful man we have met in a long time. Coming back from Karhunkierros trek earlier than expected due to a knee problem, he received us with open arms and helped us re-plan our trip and change reservations in our next destinations. All of that he did with a constant smile and true willingness to help us and make us feel happy and relaxed. Thank you Matti!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galiavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We spent here one night in June after walking the Karhunkierros trail. I don't know if our room was larger than the ordinary ones since we reserved a room for three adults and two dogs, but at least the room that we were assigned to was reasonably roomy even for our lot, with lots of cupboard space (plus a drying closet!). So if that's the size and equipment of a standard room, I'm sure that it would be a very good option for a longer skiing trip - you really have some room to live there even with all your space-consuming winter stuff.

The room was clean and seemed new, no signs of wear and tear that are usually apparent in non-allergy hotel rooms that are allowed for pets. The hotel didn't really acknowledge the presence of our dogs at all, a thing that some Finnish chain hotels tend to do (giving some kind of a welcome package with treats and poo bags etc.), certainly not a problem for me, just a notion if anyone else traveling with pets is interested.

We did not have dinner at the hotel restaurant, only breakfast, but it seemed really cozy and nice with the lake-view and all. The time of our stay was probably the quietest period of a year, so no wonder there wasn't that many staff members around. The ones that we encountered were friendly and helpful. Overall, we were really happy with our brief stay.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank k4tti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We stayed for one night at RukaTontuu as we were passing through during the off-peak season (May) so it was very quiet, I think we were the only guests. Although some staff were still being trained in preparation for the summer they were all very friendly and helpful. We ate at the hotel restaurant, and the food was delicious. The room was spacious with a beautiful view out onto the lake. The beds were comfy except for the pillows (definitely needs some new ones) and there were tea/coffee making facilities. We also had a shower and spa bath which was a novelty and we enjoyed. The only difficulty was the plumbing, which in fairness we were warned about, but was nontheless a bit of a pain - if the bath is allowed to drain too fast it floods the bathroom. Overall we enjoyed our stay, slept well and it was comfy. There were a few minor issues which, if remedied, would have made the stay near to perfect. It looked as though they were doing renovations in preparation for the summer.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

We went during off season to ruka at the last week of April. Even though we did not expect much activities happening in ruka least we expected was a good hotel to stay. But as soon as we reached the hotel with our two very small children being very hungry, we were told restaurant is closed due to some issue with their employee who had drenched the kitchen with water. We had to walk up the hill to go to the village to have our breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bad experience. If the hotel had some issues they should have called and informed us beforehand instead of surprising us in the last minute. We din have a car. The second day wen we went to check on room service, the reception was closed. We had to call the receptionist from our cell to check on room service. Finally on frustration we had asked him to return our money and we checked out. Thank god, we got a room in another hotel. We as a family with 2 small children plan for a vacation inorder to take rest and have fun. Not to slog. Even though the hotel had the good will to return the money, still our complain is he could have either arranged for food or at the least could have called and informed us about the situation.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews