We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
17
9
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
9
4
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We stayed for one night at RukaTontuu as we were passing through during the off-peak season (May) so it was very quiet, I think we were the only guests. Although some staff were still being trained in preparation for the summer they were all very friendly and helpful. We ate at the hotel restaurant, and the food was delicious. The room was spacious with a beautiful view out onto the lake. The beds were comfy except for the pillows (definitely needs some new ones) and there were tea/coffee making facilities. We also had a shower and spa bath which was a novelty and we enjoyed. The only difficulty was the plumbing, which in fairness we were warned about, but was nontheless a bit of a pain - if the bath is allowed to drain too fast it floods the bathroom. Overall we enjoyed our stay, slept well and it was comfy. There were a few minor issues which, if remedied, would have made the stay near to perfect. It looked as though they were doing renovations in preparation for the summer.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank A9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

We went during off season to ruka at the last week of April. Even though we did not expect much activities happening in ruka least we expected was a good hotel to stay. But as soon as we reached the hotel with our two very small children being very hungry, we were told restaurant is closed due to some issue with their employee who had drenched the kitchen with water. We had to walk up the hill to go to the village to have our breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bad experience. If the hotel had some issues they should have called and informed us beforehand instead of surprising us in the last minute. We din have a car. The second day wen we went to check on room service, the reception was closed. We had to call the receptionist from our cell to check on room service. Finally on frustration we had asked him to return our money and we checked out. Thank god, we got a room in another hotel. We as a family with 2 small children plan for a vacation inorder to take rest and have fun. Not to slog. Even though the hotel had the good will to return the money, still our complain is he could have either arranged for food or at the least could have called and informed us about the situation.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2015

We went to Finland for New Year 2015 with Crystal Ski and to be honest didn't know what to expect. After a short 25min transfer from the Airport we were at the apartment with our key code for the electronic lock. First impressions were a spotlessly clean apartment, well equipped and very warm with the under floor heating. We had a 6 birth room for 4 of us (2 twin bedrooms plus sofa bed) so ideal for us with 2 teenage boys. Plenty of room, free wifi, kitchen with all appliances including dishwasher (bring your own tablets unless you know how to use powder and rinse solution) comfy beds (you do have to make them up on arrival) and an amazing sauna.
Clearly, we were skiing and with the nearest lift literally across the road (30mtr) with the ability ski back into the apartment you couldn't ask for better. The Tonttu apartments are just outside the village centre and to walk only takes 10 mins max, not worth waiting for the free ski bus, via a tunnel under the ski slopes and escalator.

We were on a half board basis eating in the Tonttu restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was buffet style with choices of porridge, toast, hot and cold meat, cereal, tea and coffee etc etc. plenty of choice. Dinner was a bit strange as there was a fixed started which was sometimes hot and sometimes a bit of salad - do have the beetroot soup if offered - amazing! Main course was a single choice of fish or meat (plenty of reindeer - sorry Rudolph !) well cooked and very tasty although portions are quite small for English standards. Sweets were a single choice of the day but the homemade ice-cream was wonderful. The dining room surroundings were amazing with a big fireplace in the centre as a feature with wood panels and nice and warm. Note that the restaurant is not park of the accommodation (strangely) so any accommodation issues (we had none) need to be reported in the village and all is explained in the apartment welcome book.

The skiing is limited for more advanced skiers and irritatingly the few black runs are closed most of the day for training! However, you couldn't ask for a better place for learning, which is why we were there as our 2 boys have just defected to the dark side and become boarders! The tuition is wonderful and in Finland they clearly attract teachers from all over Europe so it is highly likely you will get an English instructor (unlike the ESF mafia in France!) The facilities are not up to the Alps standard but the whole place is a scaled down event. The slopes are very wide and not busy and with 3 hours of daylight skiing under floodlights makes the whole place magical. Do wear plenty of layers as it got to -25C on one day and you will need to wear some kind of face protection (we used cycle balaclavas from Aldi - £1.99 extremely well spent!). There are wooden huts with open fires dotted around the piste so if you have a pack of sausages in your bag the that makes for a tasty hot snack - they even provide the toasting forks! Food and drink is typically expensive everywhere and so is alcohol so fill your bags with wine at the airport. There is a small supermarket in the village centre where we bought soup, bread, pasta and pizza for lunches - being able to ski back was great and with a hot boot and clothes warmer in each apartment then all your stuff is toasty warm for when you go back out.

As to Crystal Ski other than the welcome meeting (which a delay at the airport meant we missed) and them dropping off a card for departure time the day before we left - we never saw them. We did make a comment on our feedback forms that a visit to check everything was OK with its clients wouldn't do a miss, although I understand that they did visit some log cabins that were further away. Luckily everything was good so we didn't really need them.

Also, buy your ski passes and ski school on arrival (you have plenty of time) in the hire shop as they are cheaper than Crystal and you don't pay their ridiculous exchange rate either. If you tell the ski school you are with Crystal they will even put you in the same classes so you are with fellow Brits. The service is excellent and the equipment well maintained.

Overall a great place to stay, great apartment on the slopes (almost) which are ideal if you are a beginner and a lovely restaurant to eat and relax in the evening.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed one night during our summer holiday in RukaTonttu hotel. Our standard room was new, clean and it had nice view. The hotel locates on a lake. At least end of the summer the hotel was really peaceful. Also hotel's restaurant was really good. The breakfast was delicious: eggs, bacon, porridge with fresh berries, yoghurt, baked bread etc.
You should go to the Oulanka national park during your stay in Ruka.

Room tip: Ask room with lake view.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_and_Mrs_FIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Location really good! Skiing and downhill skiing easy to leave.
A cozy and comfortable place, but the staff indifference.
Breakfast is scarce and many things ran out and completed. Food also stood a long time served. Fine saunas, but a bit of a mess everywhere. Frozen lake did not dare to go, since the path so icy and will not be maintained. I feel like nobody cares anything?
A fine setting, but poor management!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 567tiinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RukaPyha, General Manager at Ski-Inn RukaTonttu Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced while staying at Ruka Tonttu recently. We assure you that your feedback will give the opportunity to remedy any problem that may exist and help to improve our service further.

We manage the Ski-Inn Ruka Tonttu apartments (in A, B and C buildings) with own kitchen and sauna. The hotel and restaurant including the staff is managed by another entrepreneur. According to your review it’s a bit unclear where you stayed but we will of course take appropriate actions to ensure that your feedback is addressed to all persons involved.

Again, thank you for the valuable feedback and please accept our sincere apologies. Should you need any further clarification, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We hope that your future travels are more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews