We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vio.com
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
104
20
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
20
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cross country skiing ice climbing the main lodge dog sledging soup reindeer farm bears trail set lunch exodus trip well stocked bar wilderness experience hot chocolate two nights surrounding area activities winter week
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2022

We came here as part of an Exodus trip called Winter Wilderness Experience. Great week and we tried several new experiences such as snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, quinzee building and much more. Aldo a base to visit other experiences such as dog sledging and reindeer farm.
Food is amazing as are all the staff

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 February 2022

Really nice facility with many top notch services and friendly staff. There are numerous cross country skiing, snowshoeing, hiking and ice climbing options in the surrounding area. I really enjoyed hiking by the river for photography options. It would be a good idea to wear crampons on the trails though especially around the stairs and close to the river to prevent slipping.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Amazing base on the wilderness. Nature is at yr door. Wonderful local good. Lots of activities. I spebd two nights in June, enjoying nightless night, when the sun is up for severeral days. Participated in an amazing event: wild women's canoyeing at night. Extreme nature experience paddling 25 km on the River Oulankajoki

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank PiaH_Fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Keijo Salenius, Owner at Basecamp Oulanka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Wild woman at Basecamp - simply the best. This new format to be active during the white nights is superb. Welcome 2022

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020

Wow what a find, booked via Exodus travels. Everything about this trip and Basecamp are excellent. The rooms are cosy, with heated floors, just right to dry your clothes on. All thermal layers are provided and equipment for x-county skiing and snowshoe walking. The guides are excellent, knowledgable and friendly. When it comes to the meals provided, what can I say but amazing, excellent, scrumptious and plenty for second and even third helpings if you have the room. Other experiences whilst at Basecamp, are husky sledding, a visit to a Reindeer farm with ride on a sleigh. Buiding a Quinzee, a snow house. Sadly no Northern lights visible on our weeks stay. I would defiantly go back again and possibly in the summer months to view Black Bears.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank Derek677
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 March 2020

We stayed at Basecamp Oulanka on a 1 week Exodus Wilderness holiday. It was incredible. Loved waking up every morning and opening the curtains to snow. Room is nicer than the photos online look - basic yes (hairdryers are borrowed from reception) but very clean and underfloor heating made them cosy despite the minus temp outside. Food all week was excellent - different lunch and dinner choice every day, and always coffee/tea/juices available through the day. The staff are all excellent - thank you for all working so hard and being so friendly. All activities from and around the camp were excellent - lovely cross country ski route to self-explore and great guides. Just magical and so glad we got to spend a week there.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank londongymgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews