We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PeasmoldWW
Peasmoldtown

comfort in the middle of nowhere

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Aug 2021
My three night stay in Sallatunturi was a bit of a washout in an otherwise record-setting hot summer, but Sallainen Cottages somehow made up for it. The weather on my arrival day was horrendous, but the management granted me complimentary early checkin so I could journey early and avoid the worst of the poor driving conditions: hugely appreciated. Once there, the cottage was lovely, just the right size for a solo traveller or a couple, recently built with a separate bedroom, well-equipped kitchen, comfortably furnished, good wifi and a welcoming sauna to compensate for the miserable weather. Linens and towels were spotlessly fresh. The location, just beside the fell, is also perfect for hiking, and the town of Salla, just 10 km away, has decent supermarkets in case you forgot to stock up en route (Salla also has petrol stations). The owners kindly provided a detailed local map, showing all services, attractions and trails If you are touring around Lapland this is an ideal place to relax in comfort in a location that proudly announces itself as ‘the middle of nowhere’.
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The living room of our studio in Holiday Club Salla Kelorinne
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.6 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    • Agoda.com
    0.7 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
    PAN Village Oulanka log cabin bedroom
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    3.6 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    3.9 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
    No booking fees
      8.6 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      8.7 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Booking.com
      • Agoda.com
      20.2 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
        34.2 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
        View more hotels in Salla
        Reviews (26)
        Filter reviews
        26 results
        Traveller rating
        16
        7
        1
        2
        0
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        16
        7
        1
        2
        0
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        1 - 6 of 26 reviews
        Reviewed 8 July 2020 via mobile

        Great location and views both to the mountain and to the lake. Too few toilets. A tiny sauna and showers. Small kitchen combined with laundry. A bit old and untidy. If you need to leave early you can’t take electricity as it is charged by usage and you can only check out after 9 am. Odd.

        Date of stay: July 2020
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        16  Thank Tomi_Wickman
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 28 April 2020 via mobile

        We stayed in Salla cabins for 7 nights at the end of January. Our cabin had all we needed; dishwasher(please take few tablets to use it), fridge-freezer, microwave,hob and coffee maker(don't forget to take some ground coffee) and rest like pans, cluttery and dining set. There was even more than we needed. The fireplace and private sauna,clothing dryer and central heating with underfloor heating in bathroom and kitchen so we had warm even when outside was -35 Celsius degrees! That was awesome 😍😍 Everywhere were huge amounts of white clean fresh snow,the views were breathing. The resort was prepared for tourist in 100%, despite we felt there like only we and snowy mountains, forest we coud find there all sorts of luxury. Few delicious restaurants and pubs. Swimming pool in nearby hotel, and gym in walking distance. Everything was well maintain and staff very friendly and helpful.
        We rent snowboard equipment, and been expecting pure quality one. But to our surprise we received boots, helmets and board in perfect quality all from the top brands.
        Just at the bottom of the slope is a small caffee with a ski shop. So don't worry if you forget your goggles, helmet or gloves you can buy most what you need from there in competitive prices.
        Slopes were superb in my opinion especially for beginners and families with children. In January there were no queues, no busy lift passes or slopes. You can enjoy it in your own speed and peace.
        This was our first winter holiday but definitely not the last! We never came back from holiday so rested...and we wish to be back there asap!!! 😍
        We really recommend reindeer safari!!!😄😄😄 not only for kids 😉 It was an unforgettable experience!

        We liked as well snow mobile safari with overwhelming views.
        Unfortunately or fortunately😉 for most of the time sky was cloudy and we didn't see aurora 😢 that's why we have to go there again!

        For those who are looking for peaceful holiday with tones of snow here in Salla you'll find all you looking for. I'll promise 😉

        Date of stay: January 2020
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        1  Thank KrystynaR93
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

        Booked two Salla cabins with Friends through Crystal for a week away in Feb 2020. On the supermarket stop off prior to arriving, you need to be prepared! 30 mins is not a long time to get a week’s shopping (if you are not planning to eat out every night). If you think you can buy spirits and wine for relaxing nights in, think again. Apparently Finland do have alcohol stores that sell Drinks over 5.5% but not on this stop off. Don’t be tempted to run over the the nearby Lidl either....same story. Only beer is on offer!! Food is reasonably priced in resort with a couple of nice restaurants but prepare to be stung on beer, wines & spirits. 8-9 euros for a large beer, 6-8 euro for a small glass of wine/spirit. Take more money than you need, there’s no banks here. Prior to booking Crystal had informed us that the Cabins didn’t come with sundries like washing up liquid, toilet rolls, soap, shower gel, tea towel, etc. I can confirm that the cabins were both stocked with these items. Our cabins were basic but adequate. The sauna was nice after been out in the cold. We got a great price but had we paid over £600 each for the week, we might have been a tad disappointed. The resort itself is stunning and remote. Book the trips in advance to avoid disappointment. A nearby frozen lake (10mins walk) offers a viewing platform for the northern lights. A fire hut on the island of the lake is where you need to be. Find the hut on google maps and it will take you there. We are all decent intermediate skiers. If you are a similar level or above you need to read my other review on the Salla ski resort. In summary though, we only had half of the 10Km resort open! That said, if you are a beginner, there’s no finer place to learn to ski. Its exceptionally quiet any there is nothing scary. A must is the doughnuts at the bottom of the slope. Really great fun if you are fit enough to drag one up the slope. Wherever you stay in resort the walk is short enough to walk in ski boots if you have your own gear. You get a sledge which can be used for your skis if you struggle. If there is plenty of snow you can even ski back to the cabin!As I write this I am still in resort and enjoying our holiday. Would recommend but be prepared and informed.

        Date of stay: February 2020
        Trip type: Travelled with friends
        Thank Guitarzilla74
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 30 August 2019

        We stayed for 2 nights in one of the apartments/cabins. It was spacious, clean and we were very impressed with the drying room, cupboard and kitchen facilities. The lovely owners were so accommodating and helpful; really nice people. The location right on the lake is just beautiful with lots of walks and they even have a little boat that you can take out on the lake. A very quiet place in the Summer. We also camped 1 night in the campground area it’s our tent. The shared toilets, showers and kitchen facilities were all very clean and easily accessible.

        Date of stay: August 2019
          • Location
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank pracsol
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 29 January 2019

        The cabins are large, comfortable and very clean. The location is fantastic, very quiet and near a lake where you can try to chase the northern lights. There are two big supermarkets 10 min by car where you can buy anything you may need.

        Date of stay: August 2018
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank elenadlg
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews