We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Guitarzilla74
Colne, United Kingdom

The review you NEED to read

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Feb 2020via mobile
Booked two Salla cabins with Friends through Crystal for a week away in Feb 2020. On the supermarket stop off prior to arriving, you need to be prepared! 30 mins is not a long time to get a week’s shopping (if you are not planning to eat out every night). If you think you can buy spirits and wine for relaxing nights in, think again. Apparently Finland do have alcohol stores that sell Drinks over 5.5% but not on this stop off. Don’t be tempted to run over the the nearby Lidl either....same story. Only beer is on offer!! Food is reasonably priced in resort with a couple of nice restaurants but prepare to be stung on beer, wines & spirits. 8-9 euros for a large beer, 6-8 euro for a small glass of wine/spirit. Take more money than you need, there’s no banks here. Prior to booking Crystal had informed us that the Cabins didn’t come with sundries like washing up liquid, toilet rolls, soap, shower gel, tea towel, etc. I can confirm that the cabins were both stocked with these items. Our cabins were basic but adequate. The sauna was nice after been out in the cold. We got a great price but had we paid over £600 each for the week, we might have been a tad disappointed. The resort itself is stunning and remote. Book the trips in advance to avoid disappointment. A nearby frozen lake (10mins walk) offers a viewing platform for the northern lights. A fire hut on the island of the lake is where you need to be. Find the hut on google maps and it will take you there. We are all decent intermediate skiers. If you are a similar level or above you need to read my other review on the Salla ski resort. In summary though, we only had half of the 10Km resort open! That said, if you are a beginner, there’s no finer place to learn to ski. Its exceptionally quiet any there is nothing scary. A must is the doughnuts at the bottom of the slope. Really great fun if you are fit enough to drag one up the slope. Wherever you stay in resort the walk is short enough to walk in ski boots if you have your own gear. You get a sledge which can be used for your skis if you struggle. If there is plenty of snow you can even ski back to the cabin!As I write this I am still in resort and enjoying our holiday. Would recommend but be prepared and informed.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The living room of our studio in Holiday Club Salla Kelorinne
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    €162
  • ZenHotels.com
    €132
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
€119
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.6 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    • Agoda.com
    0.7 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
    PAN Village Oulanka log cabin bedroom
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Official Site
    3.6 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    8.7 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    3.9 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
      14.8 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Booking.com
      • Agoda.com
      20.2 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
        34.2 km from Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
        View more hotels in Salla
        Reviews (26)
        Filter reviews
        26 results
        Traveller rating
        16
        7
        1
        2
        0
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        16
        7
        1
        2
        0
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        4 - 9 of 26 reviews
        Reviewed 30 August 2019

        We stayed for 2 nights in one of the apartments/cabins. It was spacious, clean and we were very impressed with the drying room, cupboard and kitchen facilities. The lovely owners were so accommodating and helpful; really nice people. The location right on the lake is just beautiful with lots of walks and they even have a little boat that you can take out on the lake. A very quiet place in the Summer. We also camped 1 night in the campground area it’s our tent. The shared toilets, showers and kitchen facilities were all very clean and easily accessible.

        Date of stay: August 2019
          • Location
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank pracsol
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 29 January 2019

        The cabins are large, comfortable and very clean. The location is fantastic, very quiet and near a lake where you can try to chase the northern lights. There are two big supermarkets 10 min by car where you can buy anything you may need.

        Date of stay: August 2018
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Rooms
          • Service
        Thank elenadlg
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 27 April 2018

        Easy to come, nice to stay, smart place to start hiking. I recommend to hike to Ruuhitunturi, not so easy route but excellent views are waiting for you. After hiking you can go to sauna in Sallainen camping area and relax your muscles

        Date of stay: September 2017
        Thank peckup
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

        We arrived quite late in the evening during the off-season and still everything went smoothly. Very nice area by a lake with a hiking trail around it. Nice views and tidy bathrooms and kitchen made our day. Well worth the money!

        Date of stay: October 2016
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank par00ni
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        TarjajaJussi, Toimitusjohtaja at Sallainen Caravan and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

        Kiitos

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 10 March 2016

        We stayed in the cabins and found them perfect for our stay. There were 3 adults and one teenager and we found the cabin fine for us for a week. The kitchen was well equipped, the only things that could be added would be a measuring jug and kitchen scissors but we managed without. Washing up liquid was supplied. There isn't a dishwasher, which would have been nice to have but I was very pleased to have a freezer which I could fit plenty in for the week, handy as the supermarket is quite a distance so you really need to stock up. The 'shop' in resort is very small and has very little. We only got bread and milk there and we had to go back for that as they didn't have any milk the first time we went, don't rely on it. The location was nice, being by the lake, and if the cloud had cleared it may have been a bit better for spotting the northern lights. There was good access to cross-country and walking tracks close to the cabins however, with a lot of the runs being closed we didn't have the option of going up the nearest lift and had to walk into resort for downhill skiing, which, although not too far did become a bit of a chore in ski boots, especially as it was unseasonably warm, although we did manage to ski back to the cabins so it was only one-way. The resort itself is probably a better location to stay if you're going downhill skiing as you have all the convenience of being by the lifts but still have direct access onto cross-country tracks allowing you to mix it up and try both. The owner of our cabins was friendly and helpful and the folder in the cabin was better than many we've found in Finland. I'd definitely recommend staying here if you want a more peaceful location away from resort.

        Date of stay: February 2016
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        1  Thank Zoe F
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews