We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$124
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/04/21
Booking.com
US$124
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$172
US$122
View deal
SAVE US$50
PricelineUS$124
Hotels.comUS$124
Trip.comUS$172
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
187
142
37
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
187
142
37
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas cottages ski resort main building northern lights living room hot milk snow ball small kitchen thermal clothing frozen river location is excellent town centre igor sauna lapland heating winter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2020

Our family of four stayed at Ounasvaara Chalets in July 2020.

We were given the chalet nr. 74, which is actually a two-bedroom accommodation in a larger log villa, but without other guests in the same chalet it was very quiet and pleasant.

The hotel and grounds are easy to find, just across the river from downtown Rovaniemi, about 5 mins drive. Good directions by the road. The staff at the hotel is incredibly helpful and attentive.

Our room/chalet was right next to Kemijoki, with a nice view. Next to chalet 74 is also a pleasant beach restaurant Sauna, which closes at 22.00 so it does not disturb hotel guests later in the evening. Limited menu, but delicious foods and saves you the hassle of going to Rovaniemi for dinner.

Chalet 74 was clean, but slightly "wear and tear" was visible. Nothing major though. The chalet also has a sauna (of course) for relaxation. You can also drive your car right up to the main door.

Breakfast was served up the road at the Lappland Hotels Ounasvaara Chalets main building, within walking distance.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020

this is a ski resort and accomodations are traditional wooden chalet style dotted around the resort. very clean with some modern facilities, we staued in junior suite and it was by the frozen river and was very roomy and clean with beautiful scenes just outside the rear doors. sauna was massive and had 3 showers! mind you the floors and walls might create some weird knocking noises all night if you get the heating setting up too high.

breakfast was a plenty with lots of choices but staff had no smiles on face and did not talk much. during busy times they just kept taking away old plates etc but did not refill any empty food trays or breads, and when I asked if there were anymore hot milk for coffee was told just to use cold milk insted.

ski resort was very good and family friendly. staff was great and booking ski rentals etc was a pleasant experiences. would recommend.

location is excellent, takes only 15 mins to everywhere including town centre and airport.

parking tips: parking in town is free after 18:00 if you are booking dinner

Room tip: book a junior suite it'll be by the river with excellent views and you might also see aurora at night outside your back doors!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MysticM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2019

Christmas Cottages.

We travelled as a family of 5 through TUI and were assigned chalet 66. It was a bit of a struggle getting luggage there (including massive sacks filled with the provided thermal clothing) but were lucky enough to have one hotel sledge to help.

The cottages are fairly basic but ideal for your needs (well and iron would have been nice). There were two single beds upstairs and off the living room downstairs, two single beds and two pull down beds. The pull down beds made me loose sleep as they only have a small bar in the middle and my kids could’ve easily rolled out the bed and it was some way to the floor, so I slept in one of the singles below and woke every time they moved .... The sauna was great particularly for using the excess heat to dry the clothing for the next day! Very small kitchen area but has everything you’d need for a few days - I had a few things with me snack wise and didn’t have to visit a store.

The reception area has a nice bar for snacks and off this is the dining room for breakfast and dinner - both these meals are buffet style and if your kids are a little fussy they’ll probably survive on fries for their evening meal (well mine did!).

We got to play with the sledges round about the reception building and close to the ski centre, the kids loved this. It was very quiet round the ski centre during the day and did feel like an escape from the outside world. We did go into the centre of town and staying out at the cottages (5 minutes drive) really gave us a much better experience, in my opinion.

Lucky enough to have extra sledges for check out for our luggage!

Would definitely recommend Christmas Cottages if you are looking for that lodge type feel rather than a hotel.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank 123louiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the chalets for 2 nights. Check in was fast and easy. Chalet was equipped with kitchen hair dryer and our own sauna. The setting is beautiful with great places to to tobogganing and snow ball fights. In the main building there's a restaurant and bar. Drinks are expensive food was very good and there was plenty of it. I would highly recommend the chalets and we will definitely go back. It's also one of the best places to watch the northern lights

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank katrionak2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2019

We booked and paid in advance a villa, only to be downgraded without any compensation to a smaller and cheaper chalet. We complained about it a lot to the reception team, only to be told and insisted that we are on the correct accommodation! After a few more people on the phone, they realized their mistake, apparently, the villa that we booked is NOT AVAILABLE - and no one informed us beforehand and just conveniently downgraded and made us crammed in the tiny cabin. Very rude and inefficient staff, particulary Igor of the sales team.

Room tip: Do not book!
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank camiforniaroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews