We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Bearhill Husky
from US$200.79
More Info
from US$168.57
More Info
from US$159.98
More Info
from US$52.61
More Info
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveller rating
1,059
49
6
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,059
49
6
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild tour morning tour alaskan huskies cookies juice frozen lake sled ride an awesome experience once in a lifetime dog sledding husky experience arctic circle sausage dogs kennel puppies instructions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
685 - 690 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Husky sleigh rides were so fun that we went twice! First time we booked through one of the larger tour agencies and the second time with Bearhill Husky. Both times were exhilarating! What Bearhill Husky excelled at were:

- very customer service oriented and accommodating: 1) managed to find us a spot on very short notice; 2) we were timely picked up at a specific place as agreed; 3) each of us got our individual sleigh as requested (usually it's 2 per sleigh and taking turns mushing); 4) when we realized we accidentally left our mobiles in the rented overalls at the husky farm and called Valentijn in a panic (as we were about to board a plane), he took the time to retrieve the phones and later DHL them to Shanghai for us (again, thank you so much Valentijn)

- safety: our 2-hour ride consisted of 2 family/groups with a total of 5 sleighs. To ensure everyone is looked after properly, the farm had a guide riding in the front as well as one all the way in the back. This made us feel very safe.

- and of course the dogs: these are actual huskies! And this may be important to you because as we learned, not all husky sleigh ride tours employ pure huskies. There are some local pro racers who also provide these tours on the side (such as the provider of our first sleigh ride). But since their main business is racing, the type of husky dogs they use are mixed husky racers. They are short haired, very lean, fast and agile, but look nothing like a furry husky. I'm not complaining as I love dogs in general and we still had an amazing, FAST experience, but if you are after photo ops with a real husky, make sure you call Valentijn and have him take you to a farm where they raise pure huskies.

And last word of advice, BOOK EARLY because this is probably one of the most popular activities in Rovaniemi and tours get filled fast! Especially with the overnight rides, those take time to properly plan. So if you are interested, call Valentijn as early as possible to arrange.

Date of experience: February 2014
3  Thank backinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We took the plunge and opted for an overnight husky tour out into the artic wilderness, and didn't regret it for a minute. Valentijn was a great guide and teacher, and is clearly crazy about the dogs, while the dogs themselves loved the work and were always eager for more. Taking the longer trip was brilliant - not only was our forest cabin (with log fired sauna!) great, having our own sled and a destination to aim at (with Valentijn never too far away ofc) really helped us understand what mushing was all about - by the end of the two days we felt like a proper team with our huskies and not just passengers. The crew at Bearhill were also great, friendly and helpful in getting us picked up, kitted out and dropped back at our hotel the next day. They even took us on a detour via the rail station to pick up our bags, which was a huge help. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Finland, even if you weren't initially thinking of heading north - go on, get on the sleeper train to Rovaniemi and do something amazing!

Date of experience: February 2014
2  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our initial goal when visiting Finland was seeing the northern lights, which in the end we never saw. But the musher for a day tour with Valentijn and the dogs was absolutely fantastic. It was the highlight of our trip and we still talk about it a lot. Valentijn is a terrific guide and instructor and the sledding with our own team of friendly, hard working dogs through beautiful scenery was simply amazing. If you really want to know what dog sledding is about, this is probably the best option there is around Rovaniemi. We would be happy to return just for the sake of experiencing this again.

Date of experience: March 2014
2  Thank 123QI456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent a very fun and memorable afternoon dog sledding in the Artic Circle with Bearhill Husky Tours... WOW! Valentijn was a terrific host and dog sledding coach, instructing our family how to enjoy driving our own dog teams in a safe and responsible way. The dogs were/are so well behaved and enthusiastic, wagging their tales and anxiously waiting to go... clearly they were well trained and cared for, which made our experience that much better. It was such a thrill to feel the pull of those enthusiastic dogs when we set out our tour. We went about 15 km through a beautiful snowy wilderness.... the dogs were ready for a lot more, and so was our family... next time, we will go for a longer trek. We even got to pet a litter of 6 week old future sled dogs...so cute! The whole day was so much fun! We highly recommend the experience and especially Bearhill Husky Tours to anyone who enjoys outdoor experiences!

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank scott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Bear Hill Husky is the real deal. Sledding through the wilderness for two hours with your own team of huskies is beyond magic! I felt like I was on a different planet or at least in another time. Valentijin & his team are knowledgable, hospitable and passionate. The dogs were absolutely beautiful. I can't wait to get back there!

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank Jazzi-Bear-Bum321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews