We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Rovaniemi(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arctic City Hotel(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotelli Aakenus(Rovaniemi)
US$104
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Claus Holiday Village(Rovaniemi)(Great Value!)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
73
113
59
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
113
59
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracenorthern lightstui repski liftheights hotelnice and quiet hotelsnow covered treeshot saunasauna roomsanta parkspent nights at this hoteltoboggan runan amazing tripbooked nightsopen fireski resortwinter sports
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is well located (by the lake) and perfect for aurora watching. Rooms are large and comfortable. Hotel is well maintained. Breakfast is plentiful and reach. Staff is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyStaff, staff at Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Greetings from Sky Ounasvaara!

Thank you for your nice feedback. Although there might be a minor mistake, as our hotel is not located by the lake, but on top of Ounasvaara hill :)

Have a lovely spring!

Kind regards,
Lapland Hotels Sky Ounasvaara staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

The room is the hotel was equipped with a sauna. That was a bonus. The view of the room was breathtaking. The meals - both breakfast and dinner - were well catered for. Staff made us very welcome. The walk to the supermarket takes only 20 minutes.

Room Tip: rooms are all quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daantje_van_Delft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyStaff, other at Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Greetings fron Sky Ounasvaara!
Thank you for your stay and nice feedback.

Welcome again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed a week at this hotel located on the top of the hill. Great location for walking.
Hotel clean and friendly. Good breakfast with lots of choices. Dinner basic but tasty and just what you need after a day out in the cold.
Beds good and sauna in the room was a pre. The hotel is just a bit too warm!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lily x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyStaff, other at Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Greetings from Sky Ounasvaara!

Sound like you had a good vacation, that is great :)
Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in december. Rooms were clean and tidy. Staff were nice but the night porter was amazing, he told us all about the area and stories from lapland. A real family feel to the place and real homely. Amazing few days. Highly recomend this hotel hidden in the trees covered in snow a true dream

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyStaff, other at Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Mark,

thank you for your star and nice feedback!

We know, our night porter is really amazing!

Hpe that we will see you again some day :)

Kind regards,
Lapland Hotels Sky Ouansvaara staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

We booked via Thomson for 4 nights travelling on 6th Dec. The flight was good for kids- a few festive activities to start the magical feeling. Upon arrival in Lapland we found our coach and elf (Snowy Sam). The coach and elf is like your guide for the whole holiday so anytime you go on an excursion that is the elf/coach you travel on. Upon arrival at hotel we attended the welcome meeting. We don't usually but figured we really had no idea about taxis or any local info that we needed to find this out. We booked the elf adventure and the snowmobile at night excursions. Elf adventure was a complete rip off. Snowmobile at night was worth every penny.There were 6 of us so we booked one of the cottages. We had to wait until 4 to get the key and then had to wait for a Thomson rep to take us to the cottage. We gave up waiting after 30mins (having already waited to check in) and walked to cottage with suitcases and big bags of snow clothes. It was hard going as the snow was 2 feet deep but it was still quicker than waiting!
We were given no information by the reception about the cottage- no info on smoke alarm, how to use the sauna or anything. Just here is your key. As a result we couldn't use the sauna and couldn't find anything that looked like it would turn it on.
The food at the hotel was below average. We've travelled a fair bit to several places but the food here was not good. I understand the lack of fruit and veg but the quality of the cooked food and choice is very limited. We were half board as we knew it would be expensive to eat out. Every meal time had soup and bread, a couple of meat/chicken dishes and then pasta and chips. We didn't even know there was a children's meal section until halfway through (again the restaurant staff never told us and we had to find it ourselves).
One night 4 of our party didn't even have tea as we had to leave for an excursion and that particular day the restaurant was only open to Thomson guests after we left and only for 45 mins (not 2 hours as the information leaflet advised). Our young nephew gad to wait until 7.30pm before he could have tea- not ideal when you've been playing in the snow and the children need tea and bed! We complained to reception and were basically told to buy some food from the bar. No apology and no understanding or sympathy.
Needless to say this issue took the shine off our family holiday and the complaint is still ongoing with Thomson. The manager has replied to our complaint but basically said what reception staff said.
If we were to go to Lapland again we all agreed we wouldnt go back to this hotel and we would sort our own excursions put.

Room Tip: If booking a cottage ask for one close to main building. Book self catering and go to the local supermarket for food (short taxi ride away)
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmary_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyStaff, Hotel Staff at Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Hello from Sky!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that your trip didn't go as well as you have planned.

To start with the check in. International check in time is at 16:00 and everyday on December 2017 we were able to reach that goal, and all the customers were able to check in latest by 16:00. In December there are lot of people coming and going daily, so there are lot of rooms to be cleaned and not all of them can be cleaned in one hour. Of course if you arrive to the hotel around 12:00, you might have to wait for the room for few hours, because then the check out time is latest by 12:00. On the first day Tui reps took customers to their cabins, otherwise in reception we also have some sledges for the customers staying in the cabins to pull their luggage down.

When checking in, all the custromers are handed a Hotel info with some information about the hotel, restaurant opening hours etc.. In the cabins, there are files with some instructions how to use electrical things and some basic information. If the customer doesn't know how or can't find instructions how to use something, reception staff is always there to help. For example they could have come to you cabin to show you, how the sauna works. All you need to do is ask.

Our restaurant is well known and many times rewarded for the food, so it is sad to hear, that you were disappointed with the food and staff also. We will deliver your message to restaurant and reception staff in order to improve the information they are giving to the customers.

Hope you have a very nice spring!

Kind regards,
Lapland Hotels Sky Ounasvaara staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews