We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$154
Expedia.comUS$154
eDreamsUS$154
Booking.comUS$154
Trip.comUS$154
CheapTicketsUS$154
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
225
280
90
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
225
280
90
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river hotel is located nice hotel northern lights an extra bed walking distance tour companies nice room good size sauna lappland children christmas winter december kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 620 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2020

Modern and clean hotel. The room was modern and a real experience with their own Northern lights. The sauna was nice. The breakfast was great and they had their own children's table. The staff was really friendly and our kids got a small little surprise (which they loved). The hotel is well-located in the city centre. I could recommend this hotel to everybody.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pohjois-Karjala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiina Määttä, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2020

Hello

Thank you so much for your kind review.
Sounds that you have enjoyed our hotel services and have had a great time here in Rovaniemi.
Hope to see soon again as our guest and wishing you a nice end of the summer.

Annukka Raasakka
Vastaanoton vuoropäällikkö/Duty Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Rovaniemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2020

Great location- close to the bus stop and river. Its a short walk to restaurants, tour companies and shops. The staff were very friendly. The rooms are small but comfortable with a mini fridge and a kettle. The breakfast was amazing. Many options and plenty of seating area. I had a great experience here and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katiepee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights as part of a winter safari trip in Lapland.
Nice hotel with very kind staff. The lobby is a bit small, but it doesn't bother.
The hotel is a short walk from the city center. A short walk away is the river (which is frozen in winter) and along its pleasant walk. There are pubs and restaurants near the hotel.
The hotel room is a bit small for a couple but for a single is really good. It was clean and every morning made sure to make the bed (which was comfortable).The shower and toilet are clean and I really enjoyed the heating. It is possible to open a small window to let in fresh air but it causes the room to cool.
The breakfasts and dinners at the hotel were rich and delicious. I was pleasantly surprised to find chocolate in the coffee / tea corner.
I really liked the sauna. It's just a pity there's no timer inside to know how long they've been there.
Definitely a recommended hotel

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shuki51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020

Very well located, near the river and with good restaurants nearby . The breakfast is very good with several options. The room is a good size and very clean. The service has always been very good. Walking distance from the mall. I strongly recommend. .

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBecattini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiina M, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Hello VBecattini

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Hopefully we will see you again as our guest.

Kind regards
Annukka Raasakka
Duty manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights on 20th December, very disappointed with nearly every aspect of the hotel . The only positive of this hotel is location . The room is terrible and it is impossible to have a shower without flooding the floor area of the bathroom .
I do not recommend this hotel at all !!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiina M, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Hello Fiona S.

Thank You for Your review.
I´m sorry to hear that You were not happy with our services.
I hope that otherwise You enjoyed Your stay in Rovaniemi.

Best wishes

Tiina Määttä
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews