We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$132
View deal
Booking.com
US$130
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
ScandicHotels.com
US$131
View deal
PricelineUS$133
Hotels.comUS$132
Trip.comUS$134
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
107
245
192
63
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
245
192
63
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river legendary hotel pool and sauna hotel is located frozen river men and women every evening town centre lapland euros excursions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2021

The hotel is very well located, 5 minutes to the center of the town, next to the river. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast buffet is very good. However, they never change the table clothes so you will eat with the previous guest’s crumbs. The room floor seems to have never been vaccumed. If you have dinner, they will kick you out at 8pm, literally.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CEGYVRMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannamaari Niemeläinen, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Pohjanhovi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2022

Hi Cegyvrmn,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and found the location of the hotel suitable for you. I want to apologies the lack of cleaning, I will forward this feedback also to our housekeeping department so they can take appropriate actions.

Unfortunately during your stay restaurants were allowed to be open only until 8pm, this was one of the covid-19 restrictions. Neglecting this restriction could have led to closing the restaurant completely by the authorities so it is very important that regulations are followed strictly. I'm sorry that this impacted your stay negatively. I hope you all the best for the future and hopefully we will see you again.

Best regards,
Hannamaari / Shift Leader front office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2021

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 December 2021 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. I saw from pictures and the internet that this hotel had a proud history. What I saw when I got there was a spacious but dirty room. I could clearly see urine on the toilet wall. The staff didn’t clean the rooms very well. What’s more, our room was in the second building and on the ground floor there is a safari company. Every night they closed the door so if you were late you had to use the side door and take the stairs as the elevator doors are in the safary company space. Clearly the management can do better than that. Every guest needs a clean room after a snowy day. It’s the least you should get with that kind of high prices.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank amanerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2021

The hotel is dived in 2 building, so make sure to find out where are you staying before making a reservation, because if you are in the second building you have to cross the street in the cold just to have breakfast and the elevator on that building works only from 9 am to 6 pm.
The mattress on the bed are non-existent,the room was dirty, there isn’t a phone so you can’t contact the main desk.
We had to ask a few times because they didn’t daily clean our room, stuff really unhelpful with any problem we had.
One of our jacket went missing from our room.
The only positive things are that breakfast was decent overall and the location is good because is in the heart of Rovaniemi.
But the hotel is absolutely not a four star hotel, and the price is definì too high for the service they provide

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank O2772JKchiaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2021

We booked here quite late for our trip over Christmas. The reviews were accurate in that the place is very dated, but that alone would not put us off from staying as location is very good, right by the river and town centre and reception staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet nice quality and wide ranging so there should be something for everyone and there was a separate gluten free and vegan section. Rooms tired, but could be better with a little maintenance and cleaning. Fridge was helpful. Bed comfortable, but sheets were scratchy and not changed during our stay. It seemed that making the room up meant emptying the bin and replacing used towels and cups only. The sofa bed was not comfortable for the kids as the cushions kept slipping down as they were not fixed underneath, but we fixed by layering up some extra cushions so was fine. The pool was open despite the booking site saying it was closed. This seemed clean and not many people using it. It could be really nice with a little TLC.

Room tip: Seems that there is a newer wing which will have better quality rooms, we stayed in the older main building.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Felice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews