We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FindHotel
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
156
51
26
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
156
51
26
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frozen lake northern lights rocking chairs husky ride superior cabin ice fishing hot chocolate glass roof warm clothes bucket list reindeer sleigh outdoor activities aurora borealis finnish sauna airport transfer magical stay snow boots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2022

We stayed in Komsio suite. It was a bit small with the sofa bed out but the entrance porch meant we could store our outdoor gear easily. The shower was amazing, and despite 4 of us and a small hot water tank we didn't run out. The space is cleverly arranged but the space saving stairs are a little steep. The bed in the glass roof was great. We unfortunately didn't have the correct conditions to see the northern lights but it was still a great room. We were right by the lake so had a lovely private area. The children loved the little sledges we could drag along to get to the main building for food. The breakfast was amazing and we had dinner one night which was also delicious. Our fussy children had a few bits to choose from that were simple enough for them. We did an evening husky ride experience through Apukka and it was truly a wonerful experience. It was run well from the building 50 meters away from reception. The guides assessed if our clothes were enough and if not suggested extras or even if we needed to completely swap for their equipment. You do have to cross over a road to get to the husky area but again the guide was very good. The ride itself was amazing, the juice and biscuit was nice to finish up with so we could talk to the guide about the dogs and the way of life. We even got to see some puppies!
I felt it was worth that little extra for a lovely hotel with very helpful staff. I would just go for the biggest space we could afford next time.

Room tip: If you are taking kids then be aware of steep ladders and get the larger suite if possible.
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank athaliaa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apukka Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2022

Hi!
Thank you for your lovely review! We are pleased to hear that you liked your stay with us!
Next time Kammi Suite is the right option for you :) See you soon again!

Best Regards, Kaisa / Apukka Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

Hey this place is really beautiful and if you do have the opportunity then go for the Komsio Suite. Really really nice!

The food (lunch and dinner) is everyday quite similar. I wouldn’t recommend that for 35 € per person. Better use your own kitchen and the big fridge.

Here you have a lot of activity opportunities. Quite touristic and expensive, but ok.

The service depends on the employee. Camille at the the service desk was very nice and solution orientated. Congratulations to apukka for hiring her. Unfortunately there are others that could learn a lot from her and there were lots of people complaining. I think they can improve.

All in all definitely a good place.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 254didih
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apukka Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2022

Hi! Thank you for the review!

We are improving our restaurant services according to our guests' feedback. Starting today, 12th January 2022, we also have a la carte food available that we couldn't serve in December.
I hope you revisit one day!

With Best Regards, Kaisa / Apukka Resort team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2022

I had an amazing time at Apukka Resort! Its beautifly located next to a lake with reindeer and horses in the yard. In the restaurant you have a nice view over the lake and a a cozy fireplace to warm yourself. The food from the buffet was delicious. They even made a special vegetarian dish for me.The accomodation is comfortable and clean. The staff is very nice and helpful. The activities I did where well organized. The guides where professional and they gave me winterclothes and boots so I wouldn't get cold. What a service! I really enjoyed the reindeer safari and the snowmobile in the wilderness safari. I would recommend this place to enyone who wants to have a memorable holiday in Lapland!

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lizetheunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apukka Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2022

Hi Lize!
Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to see you soon again!
Best Regards, Kaisa / Apukka Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2022

We booked for December and paid in advance. 3 weeks prior to our arrival they offered to decrease the category of room, or they would refund us and we would loose the reservation. It seems that they keep selling the same room (overbooked).... we wanted however stay in this hotel, and we accepted the change... however, we would neve recommend this place. Even the landscape is beautiful, the whole resort is not worthy for the price paid. It is just a "camping", with no service at all, food (buffet) is so bad, that we had to dine outside a couple of days in order to have a proper dinner. The receptionists are nice... and try to solve every problem we had, however, it is not a "hospitality" facility... it is just camping.. If you are looking for certain comfort standard, this is not the place at all. Value for money does not worth it.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rominas143
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apukka Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2022

Hi! Thank you for your feedback!
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us!

Best Regards,
Kaisa / Apukka Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2022 via mobile

Trying to be fair, it seems Rovaniemi suffers the ”island cost syndrome”: expensive! as you get little for what you pay. Probably its remoteness and Santa Claus over-exploitation underlines the higher costs. Be prepared to get less than what you expect for the price paid.

That said, specifically the Apukka resort has its positives and its negatives. The newer cabins (where we stayed) have a great design with quality and warm cozy atmosphere. Can not attest to other cabins as we did not get to see one. Resort staff are amicable with a smile. The location by the lake side is superb and the distance from town not bad; although prepare to spend a small fortune in taxis.

The main negative is the food. My 13yr old could not had said it better: it’s like summer camp food. For the price paid it should’ve been closer to a Four Season brunch buffet.

There are enough activities for a 3 days stay. Again, staff and service providers are nice with a smile, but the activities are at a minimum in terms of adventure. They are good enough for kids, but for adults they are but a small taste. For example, snowmobile 2 hr safari goes on an 8 figure ride around the woods not far from the resort; the snowshoeing is 3 km long, never venturing far; the dogsledding is a short ride around a small near lake… again, good introduction but never more.

Finally, the cabin. It was new, maybe ‘too new’ and never tested, as it has some nuances: water came out in big amounts from under the shower and a bit from under the sink; the heating for the upper windows was too much (unbearable to sleep at the upper level) , even when set at different intervals. We requested assistance from maintenance and the given solution was: turn on the A/C to cool off (with -15 C outside!) and water from shower has been fixed to “a little problem”… which meant 30% (instead of 50%) of bathroom floor would have water after a very short shower. We ended up switching off the window heating system at the main voltage panel and using extra towels for the bathroom floor.

In all, Lapland is enchanting, the people are nice, Apukka has superb views by a lake shore, very nice charming cabins, with quite bad food, little staff at the restaurant and small incapable maintenance personnel (although nice attitude). Activities are good with kids or if for first time for adults.

All in, until reviews attest for better experience, look for other alternative (probably different destination).

Room tip: Plan to come for the views, the nature, relaxation and, if lucky, northern lights viewing.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 452mauriciom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apukka Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2022

Hi!
Thank you for the feedback!
We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us, even though you faced some inconveniences too. We take your feedback seriously and make sure that we serve our guests better in the future.

Finland is an expensive country, and prices are even higher during the peak season in December. However, in Apukka Resort, prices are average compared to other companies in Rovaniemi and Lapland.

Best Regards,
Kaisa / Apukka Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews