We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
104
34
15
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
34
15
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aurora zone northern lights frozen lake peaceful location train tour wood fire husky safari salmon warm up reindeer skins breakfast and dinner buffet glass roof winter clothing special experience electric sauna aurora borealis hot chocolate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2020

Overall, excellent customer service from all departments, Food & Beverage for breakfast, lunch and dinner is flawless and the rooms fantastically warm and cozy under the glass igloo ceilings. We highly recommend this resort to all types af travelers.

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chefp0dge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apukka Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2020

Hello!

Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear your stay was good.

We do our best to make your stay memorable

Warmest regards,

Kati
Apukka Front Desk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2020

Really warm and flexible service, peaceful atmosphere and cosy restaurant, good value for money during off-season. A short drive from Rovaniemi and airport and close to nice hikes, try for example Ounasvaara nature trail.

Some minor improvement suggestions would be a little less costly opportunities for sauna-goers, faster replenishment of breakfast buffet items and maybe a bedside table and lamp for reading in the aurora cabins/igloos.

The igloo glass roof was nice for star-gazing and the superior version had a small vestibule which is probably great in the wintertime to keep the living/sleeping space warmer.

Overall a nice experience and good base for expliring the surroundings. Got there by night train and car rental, but they can help with transfers too.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Congresstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apukka Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Apukka Resort. We are happy to hear you had a good stay.

Thank you for the ideas for improvement, we take it under consideration when renewing facilities.

Warmest regards,

Kati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Apukka for our honeymoon, first in one of the apartments and then for two nights in an Aurora Cabin.

The resort is in a good location: close to Santa Claus Village, the city and the airport, with reasonably regular bus services. Take a look at the timetable for the normal service buses as well as the shuttle bus (as they offer more options).

There are also plenty of activities which operate from the resort, meaning no need to travel whether you want to go on a reindeer ride, snow shoeing or on a trip to try to find the Northern Lights. We took part in a couple of activities at the resort, and they were both run professional, knowledgeable and friendly guides.

The accommodation was good - the apartment was spacious and well resourced, and the Aurora Cabin comfortable and perfect for Northern Lights spotting. If you're staying for a while I'd recommend booking the apartment for most of your time and the Aurora Cabin for the final few nights to get the best value for money.

The reception staff were very helpful and went out of their way to help us on a number of occasions.

The restaurant was good, both the quality and range of the food and the service. My only criticism would be that the buffet option was overpriced for what it was. Whilst the main course was often good, the starters and desserts were usually uninspiring and at €40 each we tried to avoid it.

Whilst obviously there are no guarantees, we saw the Northern Lights four times during our nine night stay. The frozen lake was a particularly good place to stand but the Aurora Cabin also offered a great view.

Overall we had a great honeymoon and would recommend Apukka to other travellers.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TomPhilUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour operators, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2020

Dear Tom,

It makes us happy to hear you had a good stay in Apukka Resort! The activities have been planned to give you the best of what our nature can offer. You were very lucky with the Northern Lights!

We are doing our best to make our services meet all clients needs. We thank you for telling us how you felt and remain looking forward to see you again.

Kind regards,

Kati
Apukka Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2020

We went for a Komsio suite which is very expensive, but it is unique. There is plenty of storage with a large cupboard near the stairs and an alcove just inside the door. The living area is nice and cosy and warm. The bathroom was more spacious than expected with good starage and great shower, we had no problems with managing the limited hot water.
The sleeping area is cute with window heating to clear the snow if necessary. It is just like sleeping under the stars and is lovely on a clear night. We were lucky enough to see an aurora, but it was bitterly cold outside, so we turned off all the lights and enjoyed a great view, and got some great photos, from our warm bedroom.
We ate at the restaurant a few times, choosing from the a la carte menu and all the meals were very good. Breakfast was really yummy with plenty of choices.
The resort is a fair way out of town so we had a hire car which worked well for getting around.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EmeraldDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour operators, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2020

Dear Emerald,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our special Komsio suite. We are happy that you found the special features we wished it would offer to you.

Our location is only 15 min away from Rovaniemi city facilities, but far enough to offer peace and quiet close to the nature itself. Hope you had time to try some of the activities we offer in the resort.

The restaurant is developing along the way and we are happy to hear we are on the right way with it.

Hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Kati
Apukka Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

We have just returned from the Apukka Resort and can honestly say it was the best holiday we’ve ever had. The aurora cabin that enables you to sleep under the stars, the amazing experiences, the staff who can’t do enough for you ( Rony, one of the guides came to the cabin at 9pm at night to say that the Northern Lights were visible as he knew we were desperate to see them ), the delicious meals and clean air and surroundings make this a memorable place to stay.
The ice cabin is a one off experience and while there are wool socks, thermal covers, a hot flask and chocolates, it’s not for the faint hearted or reptiles like myself, however, I wouldn’t have missed the unique sleeping experience.
The holiday isn’t cheap but it was worth every penny and we hope to go back soon, we can’t recommend Apukka enough.

Room tip: Choose an aurora cabin or comsio suite if possible, the views are fantastic
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie_wilko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tour operators, Guest Services / Front Office at Apukka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2020

Dear Katie,

We are so happy to hear your vacation was good. You have got the best of it, the nature has done the heeling it does if you let it. Hope you are fine after your holiday!

We wish you all the best and remain looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Kati
Apukka Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews