We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Restaurant Nili

Restaurant Nili
Reserve a table
Ranked #9 of 114 Restaurants in Rovaniemi
Price range: US$25 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mouth-watering Lapland Step into our restaurant in heart of Rovaniemi and let the unique atmosphere take you to the jourmey of fells and wilderness. Be delighted by the flavours of Lapland prepared from fresh Arctic ingredients. Warmly welcome!
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I was holidaying from Australia over the Christmas period with my husband, brother and his partner. We were recommended Nili from a local. We decided to have our Christmas dinner (25th December) at Nili and I can't speak more highly of the restaurant.

To start with, we were very suprised that they could fit us in at such short notice. We couldn't make a reservation, they told us we would have to come down and see if there was a table available. Lucky for us, there was!

The restaurant is not big, but very cosy inside. It was fairly dimly lit and created a really lovely warm ambience. The staff were incredibly friendly, helping us to understand what various items on the menu were. They also suggested a number of things for us to try, that were traditional Finnish foods and drinks.

The meals were absolutely delicious. We had bear, salmon, reindeer and beef steaks. Not the type of foods we have ever tried before.

The restaurant is not at all cheap, so if you're on a tight budget, this is not the restaurant for you to be eating at. It was quite an expensive dinner, but we were very happy to pay for the food and service we received. It was a lovely way for us to spend our Christmas together in Rovaniemi!

Date of visit: December 2011
1  Thank Shan-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (1,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 625 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

To learn traditional food style in Lapland I think it's a good place to chose, a bit pricey but fair for their special decor and food. Only we feel deer meat is a bit smelly for us (from Taiwan)

Date of visit: April 2012
1  Thank miJune9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is definitely my favorite restaurant in Lapland!

They offer really original and genuine Lappish food. The personnel is dressed just like they used to dress in old times and they are serving you accordingly.

The meals are really different and they taste really good. Even the prices are not too bad.

I will definitely come again and bring my buddies with me.

Date of visit: December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jan-Ture A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a great meal here, starter was a tick soup with mushrooms, very good. The main dish was a steak, it was baked very well and the sauce with is was very nice. Good food!!

Date of visit: March 2012
1  Thank Yves D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Greeted well. You must reserve as gets very busy here. We enjoyed the food and wine. Service a bit slow at first and we had to go looking to place our order. However, the food was tasty and we are glad we had this experience of Lapland food.

Date of visit: February 2012
2  Thank Kartouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Nili also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Nili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.