We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
170
127
30
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
170
127
30
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frozen lake gala dinner winter wonderland santa park husky ride great fun northern lights magical holiday meet santa husky dog taster reps fireworks elf tui coach sleigh
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2021 via mobile

We visited here 1-5 Dec.. I do agree with previous reviews about issues with tui but that is being dealt with in my complaint with tui.. this review is about the hotel which I can not fault. Firstly the photos do not do it justice the rooms are more modern than they look. They are very comfortable and surprising warm all 5 of us slept perfectly with the added bonus of our bed being segregated from the kids..
The food was very good all very hot and a good selection.. all staff were very friendly and helpful the kids club and staff were fab lots of activities both indoors and outdoors, the winter family Olympics was great fun.

Location of this hotel is outstanding being on the frozen lake with the snow for the views was simply breath taking. The adults and the kids loved playing in the now and sliding down the bank at the front of the hotel. Compared to more city located hotels this one definitely blows them out the water in my opinion. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Avoid booking trips to with tui pay the 80 euros taxi to santa Village
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Outi Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2021

Dear Lynsey,

Thank you for your warm words and feedback!

We wish you a merry Christmas and we hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2021

We booked a 4 night stay in Finland staying at Winter Wonderland Hotel, Rovaniemi, which we have just returned from. I could go on for ages but from start to finish this holiday was magical. The elf’s that met us at the airport are lovely, and they don’t leave you until your in your hotel. You can pretty much do as much or as little as you like as there is always lots of fun going on, on the frozen lake at the hotel. Food was lovely, Christmas Panto by the reps was great and the Christmas Gala dinner was lovely with the fireworks at the end. Hotel was extremely clean and cosy and the main areas felt more like a big house than a hotel. We done a day out to Santa Village and Snowman world which was excellent. Would highly recommend the trip and the hotel only thing I would say is do 3/4 nights nothing less. There is always reps around the hotel most of the day and night if you need any help at all.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Lynsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Outi Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2021

Dear Lynsey,

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again!

We wish you a very merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2021

1st - 5th Dec 2021 went on TUI 4 night, 5 day break. TUI sell to you a break with experiences across this period, across the 5 days. Truth is day one is a wash out as you arrive at midday but they kill time with a rubbish ‘welcome talk’, pure sales pitch for TUI trips, no advice on what they deliver as part of the holiday, don’t even tell you when breakfast or dinner is. Never offered a welcome drink or told where the children can go to the loo. The queue to check in and even longer queue to get advice from a rep was unbelievable, totally ruined day one in resort. After day one is wiped out we got told we were lucky that Santa was coming to us tomorrow so day two we get on the coach at 9:15, coast down the hill to get off the coach at 9:22. You then take a 42 second husky ride (I have the video of those 42 seconds), doesn’t even class as a ‘short experience’ in my books. After that you are herded rapidly to a snow mobile, whisked around the wood for a few minutes and then fall in to Santa’s shed. I had two young teenagers with me and Santa didn’t even give them a gift, my heart broke. You then potter for not long waiting to get on the coach. We were back in the coach for 11am so the whole experience offered by TUI was 1 hour 38 minutes, all completed on day two so not good value in my opinion. So it’s day two, Thursday for us, we’ve had our experiences and seen Santa so might as well go home that night as nothing offered by TUI for next two days, no trip, experience etc. TUI used to take you to the Santa park but not any longer, cost cutting exercise I suspect. They only give you 1 hour at Santa village on final morning and we were there so early nothing was open. Or in those two empty days you have to pay TUI approximately £125 person (same for adults or kids) to take a husky ride, snow mobile etc. TUI really pump you to get on the trips, don’t miss out, we get booked up etc. My advice is don’t book with them overall, they are falsely advertising this holiday as doesn’t match what currently advertised on their website. Winter wonderland bears lodge is a nice hotel, nice staff doing their best, you are a 90 euro each way taxi from Santa park and Santa village. You can sort loads of experiences yourself at Santa village so do that instead. Don’t give TUI anymore of your previous money. Dont worry about giving the gala dinner a miss. It took forever to serve and then fireworks went off before dessert had even arrived, likewise fireworks were poor. TUI shattered my dreams of Lapland through not delivering what they state they deliver, even the rep on site agreed.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank M9270QZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Outi Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2021

Dear M9270QZa.
Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with some of the arrangements.

About the gala meal; it starts when all are seated; first a starter soup, then main course, a small program outside (fireworks) and back for dessert.

On behalf of our hotel and restaurant and the staff working for these, we thank you for your nice words.
We wish you a very merry Christmas!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2021 via mobile

Shambles of a set up. Arrive at 12ish and not allowed into your room till 4. By which time there are 4 other buses and the Q at 4 is about a mile long right out the front door.
The bags & cases were left outside for over an hour until we brought them in ourselves. People were told not to bring their cases inside. It’s -25 outside everything was freezing cold. Clothes, electronic items whatever else you’ve brought with you.
TUI set up is a complete rip off. It’s £500 for a family of 4 to get on any sleigh rides.
PLEASE NOTE ITS NOT INCLUDED WITH YOUR TRIP. £3500 for a 3 star hotel with barely anything included for 3 days and your first day is a right off waiting in the hotel to get into your room.
you get a 5 min taster ride on there sledges not the 2 hour trip - that’s all extra.
Your stuck in a remote location so you need to do what they set up or do nothing. Nothing but a money grabbing exercise from TUI

Room tip: Be prepared to be ripped off at every turn. Bring thousands extra with you if you want to do all the excursions. Be prepared to sit about
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nickg384
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Outi Lodge, Guest Services / Front Office at Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2021

Dear nickg384,
thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear that your trip did not conform.

The check-in time is at 4pm the latest. We don't mind if you bring your luggage in when you want.

At the moment we are selling accommodation with half board. You are able to buy snack lunch separately, if you wish.

Our resort is about 30 km away (30 minutes by car) from Rovaniemi and the hotel is located in the middle of the forest.
Most of our clients do like the idea to stay away from the "city lights" for some days, but we do understand this is not the way for all. We are surrounded with nature and snow to have fun with.

We wish you a very merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

there were several groups there when we stayed . the rooms are basic clean. The hotel is a bit out of the way and the food is not very good but the staff was friendly and the price was moderate for the rack rate we payed but the hotel was nice looking from the outside and we had good sleep.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LHBearsLodge, Front Office Manager at Lapland Hotel Bear's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Good morning from Bear´s Lodge, thank you for your feedback! We wish you a great winter time! Hopefully we meet again one day! Sincerely hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews