We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
164
67
22
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
67
22
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house front row santa park northern lights pine trees bluetooth speaker floor to ceiling huge glass incredible hotel sledding hill luxury accommodation main building our honeymoon heated floors bucket list coffee machine both breakfast and dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2019

What an amazing hotel, from the moment you arrive you know you are somewhere special, we have just got back yesterday and I wanted to share our experience on here as I had seen some negative reviews and I honestly cannot see why, food is amazing, the rooms are so beautiful, we can honestly say it's one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. I wanted to thank you to all of the staff for making us feel so welcome! This hotel really is amazing! we shall be back!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank BenTill1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcticTreeHouse, Johtaja at Arctic TreeHouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Dear BenTill1977,

I am in awe that you have taken the time to come and share your positive comments of your stay with us - thank you! I am so happy to see your kind words - beautiful, amazing, welcoming and best. I will share these encouraging words with our team, who I am certain are happy to hear that they have made your stay the best ever.

We hope to see you soon again, maybe during the summertime to experience the wonderful greenery, sun never setting and all the water sports combined with beautiful warm weather. It is something one has to see for themselves.

Kind regards from the magical Arctic Circle,

Tina Kaikkonen
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2019 via mobile

Positive:
- Beautiful Environment - the Hotel rooms are spread throughout the landscape/forest
- Beautiful view out of the rooms
- Very quite surrounding
- Interior of the rooms are beautiful with lovely fur rugs in matching colours.
- Nespresso machine in the room
- Whatsapp Service so you can instantly reach the hotel and ask for anything you need

Negative:
- the rooms are very small - taking into consideration that there would be plenty of space around. You have a bed in the room with a nice view, 2 fur chairs and then next to it the small bathroom. In a big city I would unterstand the Space constrains but here it is a bit too tiny.
- The bathrooms are small. One person can stand in there but a second one doesn’t work
- The Hotel is missing a sauna (yes you can book a place in a remote sauna but you have to pay additionally for it
- Missing gym / Spa
- breakfast is good but not outstanding (for the price you pay per night)
- Missing shuttle service from the Hotel to the city. There is a public bus you can take but in March this only runs until 4pm. Afterwards a taxi costs around 20-25€.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank pjung14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcticTreeHouse, Johtaja at Arctic TreeHouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Dear pjung14,

thank you for sharing your positives and negatives with us here on TripAdvisor!

It is wonderful to hear you have enjoyed the suites and their location right amidst the forest with nothing but stillness around you. I am also pleased to hear you have liked the design of the suites, we have designed them with careful thought in mind and using as much natural materials as possible.
Thank you also for letting us know what was missing exactly to make your experience best possible. We are currently reviewing all the feedback as we are planning of future projects, and your valuable points will be definitely taken into consideration.

Thank you again for staying with us, and sharing your experience!

Sincerely,

Tina Kaikkonen
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2019 via mobile

Arctic Treehouse Hotel is a nice hotel however it does not deserve its 4.5 star rating...
Rooms are quite small and not that well heated which is uncomfortable when the temperature reaches -20 degrees Celsius outside. Cleaning staff even unplugged the heat in our bathroom during the day : bye-bye hot towels when you come back at night from a day trip in the snowy nature.
Some rooms offer very little privacy and are open on a path where customers walk (not our case, luckily).
There is no sauna or jacuzzi except if you pay to go there. The hotel staff is nice but does not have a good knowledge of the activities to be done nearby. They recommend only the big companies for the outdoor activities (snowshoe hiking, sled dog riding, northern lights sightseeing, etc.) : these companies are competent but with them, any activity is done with a group of at least 20-25 people. In a luxury hotel, you could expect some more individualized advice from the staff on this kind of things.
Cleaning should also be improved (bits of plastic in the room when we arrived, breadcrumbs on tables supposed to be clean at breakfast, etc.).
Otherwise common areas are quite nice with a fireplace and nice comfy chairs around.
In a nutshell : the place is nice but clearly lacks quality for the price paid and we felt clearly disappointed...

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jehannet2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcticTreeHouse, Johtaja at Arctic TreeHouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Dear jehannet2019,

thank you for your stay at the Arctic TreeHouse Hotel and your feedback!

I am sorry to hear have fallen short in especially cleaning, as that is the utmost importance to us. We have taken up your review over with our housekeeping manager as it is unacceptable. We also always unplug the towel warmer for safety to make sure there are no accidents as they warmer might be very hot after being on for a while on its own.
It is also very surprising to hear you have found our team unknowledgeable concerning the activities, as they all go through training for all of the activities. We do indeed have selected partners we often recommend, as we can trust on their quality as well as availability, but these partners also do private excursions for the guests who are looking for a bit more time and focus on the activity on their own.

It is also wonderful to hear you've enjoyed the common areas and the nice cozy spot just by the fireplace.

Wishing you a lovely springtime and sincere regards,

Tina Kaikkonen
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019

My mom, sister, and I were traveling around Scandinavia for a month, and this was the place I was most excited to visit. Looking at pictures on their website, the rooms at this hotel seemed really cool! And our room definitely lived up to the expectation. The bedrooms are pretty small, and one of the bathrooms is super tiny, but our larger bathroom had a sauna in it which was great. Our room looked out over a forested area, and we could see the lights from Santa's Village. We enjoyed the breakfast in the hotel every morning, and the wait staff was always friendly.

Our only complaint is about the front desk service. Our room was at the very top of the hill at the end of the lane, and in -15 degree weather, we would've appreciated a ride back up to our room, which was about a 2 minute drive but a 12 minute walk uphill. When we checked in, the front desk said if we wanted a ride anywhere, all we had to do was ask, and they made it seem like this was a really easy thing to do. But it wasn't. One night, after chasing the Northern Lights, we arrived back to the hotel pretty late, and my sister asked the front desk if we could get a ride back to our room. The girl gave us a look like we were crazy for asking, and she said, "I'm not sure if we can do that", but the driver behind her said, "It's not problem", even though he looked like he really didn't want to do it. We were really appalled at this service. For the amount of money we're paying to stay here, we expect the service to be exceptional. That experience really deterred us from asking for any more rides back to our room for the rest of our stay.

Despite this bad service though, I would still recommend staying here. Not everyone at the front desk was as rude as these two workers.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Livia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcticTreeHouse, Johtaja at Arctic TreeHouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Dear liv_ferguson,

thank you taking the time to share your stay and feedback with us!

I am happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us, and found the GlassHouse perfect for your needs. The Sauna is definitely a must for us Finns, and it is the perfect room to enjoy it.
Wish to express my sincerest apologies on the service on that particular evening. We are always more than happy to shuttle guests up to their suites, especially as GlassHouses are all the way up on the hill. We have already talked with the team member, who has been on duty for her first day alone, and her hesitation should have never come across as uncaring.

Happy to hear you've in general found the service always friendly, and gotten to experience the Rovaniemi area fully!

Thank you also for sharing your recommendation, and I wish you the most wonderful spring time,

Tina Kaikkonen
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the Arctic Treehouse hotel for 2 nights of our 4 night trip to Rovaniemi. From the minute we arrived the service was warm and friendly. All staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We arrived a few hours before our room was ready but it was no bother to store our luggage so we could have some lunch in the restaurant and visit Santa village down the road. Reception staff happily arranged a taxi for us.
Our room was exactly as shown on the website. Our daughter absolutely loved her 'nest' bed though I imagine may not be ideal for anyone who suffers with claustrophobia!
The outlook onto the snowy trees was just magical and we slept with the curtains open.
As previous reviews mention there are other rooms in front but they don't obscure the view as they are staggered and we didn't feel any invasion of privacy and there's net curtains should you need them anyway.
The whatsapp to contact reception is great and we ordered room service that way as we were too tired on our first night to go over to the restaurant. The food, though not a huge selection, was lovely.
Breakfast was very good with a good selection and our room was cleaned whilst we were there so was done very promptly.
We had fun sledging down the little hill outside the restaurant!
Would definitely recommend the treehouse hotel, it was just lovely!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank stepho341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcticTreeHouse, Johtaja at Arctic TreeHouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Dear stepho341,

thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor!

I am thrilled to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us, and gotten to experience in the Arctic as its full. Also adore the fact that your daughter has enjoyed the nest-like bed, the youngest family members usually love it - if not moms who want some time off to themselves as well.

It is also wonderful to hear you have found our service attentive and great - they do want to go special lengths to make sure every guests stay is as magical as possible.

Thank you again for sharing your kind words, and we hope your family will come back and visit us soon, maybe during the summer for some summer activities.

Kind regards from the magical Arctic Circle,

Tina Kaikkonen
Arctic TreeHouse Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews