We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
145
25
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
145
25
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog lovers finnish experience reindeer stew log cabin the perfect place to stay an amazing experience northern lights tour soup hour husky ride snow shoes lea dogs huskies forest guide wilderness lapland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2019

Spent the first part of our Lapland vacation here. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Communication through emails was great and since we arrived late, they suggested a place to eat in town and had notes waiting for us, leading us to our room and we checked into the Guesthouse in the morning. The room was big and warm. We had to crack windows to let in a little cool air. We really loved the feel of the place. Didn't need to do a northern lights tour, just walked outside the guesthouse and looked up. It is set outside of Ivalo and away from the town's lights. Day out with the huskies was wonderful. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasmI1096WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2019 via mobile

We have just left after 4 nights. This place is great. A bit out of town so having a car was definitely good, but the guesthouse is in a great location, the dogs are beautiful, accommodation is cozy, clean and the owner Outi was very helpful. We had lovely chats with
Lea too, as she was at breakfast most mornings. We loved the kitchen so we could prepare meals occasionally, but we did have meals cooked by Outi twice and would definitely recommend taking this option. We did the 2.5 hour husky ride and had a fantastic time.
If we had to make any suggestion, it would be that another communal area would be good, such as maybe a lounge or Kota, so people can sit and enjoy the ambiance. But even without this, this place is amazing
Definitely recommend staying here and will stay again if we venture back to Ivalo.
Thanks to all at guesthouse!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Daviestarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2019

If you want a taste of wilderness, Guesthouse Husky ticks all the checkboxes and comes with additional comfort. Our cosy log cabin was the perfect place to stay amidst the laplands and we had the perfect room that had a view of the husky puppies' kernels! It was awesome waking up to the sound of huskies howling ;) Staying in the guesthouse also meant we could play with the huskies anytime we wanted - perfect for dog lovers! Do note to stopover at a supermarket to get some groceries as you're your own for lunch but you can pay an additional fee for dinner, which is also highly recommended for an authentic Finnish meal. We had cream Reindeer stew, which I found was the best way to enjoy the meat. The guesthouse also has its own traditional Finnish smoke sauna, to top off the Finnish experience. We were on our honeymoon and the guesthouse also gave us a small bottle of champagne, which was a sweet touch :)

We went for a 1 hour husky sledding self-drive tour and it was exhilarating. Riding through the snow-capped wilderness was definitely a sight that will linger in our memories.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliciahomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2019 via mobile

When you go to Ivalo, don't stay in a conventional hotel. You should stay at Guesthouse Husky. It is like a log cabin in the wilderness. It is a cosy 3 story lodge with very comfortable rooms, cosy with great wifi. We arranged with the Guesthouse for a taxi pick up at the airport and asked the driver to drop us at a supermarket first before going to the guesthouse. Just pay a little more. If you don't drive, it is expensive to get transport to go to the supermarket.

They provided breakfast and dinner was additional and optional. We chose to have dinner there in the guesthouse every night and we are glad we did. We loved it. It is a must try - Finnish/Lapland food freshly cooked. Delicious ! The dinners were one of our son's look forward moments here.

Lunch is on your own but they have provided a kitchenette with a fridge, stove, microwave oven, dish washer, plates, pots etc. You can bring you own food to cook here.

Whatsmore this is a husky farm so you can book your Husky safari with them and also see and play with the dogs any time during your stay here. Their Huski safari was excellent, we took the 4 hr one with lunch provided..cooked over an open stove in a teepee. A wonderful experience.

We also did the northern lights hunting and snow mobiling and the companies we booked with picked us from the guesthouse.

A very memorable and wonderful stay here made special by the owner and staff at Husky Guesrhouse, thank you !

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank celestt2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

This lodge is a perfect location to stay when visiting Inari area. Rooms are very warm, breakfast excellent (dinners were just OK but special diets were accommodated) and staff extremely attentive. The dog experience is one of the lifetime. They will provide you with boots and overalls that kept us warm all 6 hours of the mush. The guide was very experienced and also an excellent cook as we had a lunch in one of the forest huts. Dogs were awesome. We used other service for Aurora spotting through the lodge and it was very good. The lodge has a sauna, small kitchen to handle your lunch or snack, tea, etc. it also has a large deck upstairs to watch the skies. It is a very short drive from Ivalo but nicely hidden in the woods unlike other by the road guest houses. We were able to do a day trip to Rovaniemi by car in harsh winter and we preferred to stay north as Rovaniemi was quite Disneylandish. The guesthouse husky in Ivalo is truly optimal if you do not want to spend a fortune on glass ceiling igloos. Oh - and there is always a box of chocolates at the reception:-))))

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank magdalena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews