We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
145
25
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
145
25
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog lovers finnish experience reindeer stew log cabin the perfect place to stay an amazing experience northern lights tour soup hour husky ride snow shoes lea dogs huskies forest guide wilderness lapland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017

i did a multiple day husky safari with guesthouse husky. it was pretty full-on - not for the faint-hearted as you are exposed to the elements for hours at a time on the sleds, and use muscles you never knew you had, all while wearing enough cold weather gear that makes you think you are moon-walking. you need to pull your weight helping to feed the doggies and collecting water at the cabin. this is however, all part of the fun - an experience in itself, and having your own team of gorgeous and excitable dogs is very entertaining.
we were lucky to have lots of powder snow and sledded in falling snow through forests and across frozen lakes, and even luckier to have clear skies one night and saw the aurora lights.
the food was great, and there was an authentic cabin sauna to use at night.
laura, a volunteer guide, who speaks english was very helpful and friendly, and she clearly loved the dogs.
the dogs looked very well-cared for too.
tips: bring hand and toe warmers just in case, and use goggles instead of sunglasses to keep your face warm.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Service
Thank turkiyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Wonderful place. Well kept. The staff here speaks English. They were very helpful. They tell you what you are eating and most of them were home made. They try to help you with a many things as possible. There is a kitchen that is also clean and quite well equipped with pots, bowls and other utensils. That is a big help.

You have to be very careful on the steps of the house. Many of us have slipped but fortunately there was no injury. You have to lug your bags up. That is not easy.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaA1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Selecting the right city and accommodation for our trip to Lapland took me quite some time. It should be remote to get a good feel of Lapland but not to remote because it is nice to sometimes have a dinner outside your hotel.

So the town of Saariselka was too much of a resort town and Nellim was too remote. We didn't wan't to stay in the town of Ivalo itself but the guesthouse Husky that is about 5 kilometres away from town looked like a good option. And we were not disappointed.

The guesthouse is around 15 minutes away by rental car from the Ivalo airport which is the gateway to this part of Lapland. It is very easy to get to the guesthouse because of the clear signs.

Check in by Lea was very friendly and personal. Our room (nr 5) was a very spacious family room. The room was cosy and felt like you were staying with friends (this also meant no daily cleaning of the room and you have to make your bed up every day by yourself. So if you are looking for a five star fancy accommodation, the guesthouse might not be for you).

The location was perfect. When we looked out of our window we saw the snow covered forest and it felt very remote although the village of Ivalo was just a 10 minutes drive away.

The breakfast was Finnish with a lot of homemade goods. We also had dinner at the guesthouse one night which was excellent homemade salmon soup. There was also a small communal kitchen if you wanted too cook yourself or make coffee or tea.

The people at the guesthouse were really friendly and helpful. One evening we asked about the chances of seeing northern lights. Later that the evening Outi, the owner of the guesthouse, came to our room to tell us that the northern lights were visible outside: great service!

We also did the 4 hour husky tour which was the highlight of our trip to Finland. There is no better way of experiencing the white wilderness than by dogsled. You only hear the noise of the sleigh going through the snow: truely magical. It is not cheap but we were really glad we did it.

One word of advice: it is very useful to have a small rental car, not only to get to and from the airport and to go into town to get groceries but we also did trips to Nellim (go to the Paatsjoki brigde, beautiful views), Saariselka and Siida (museum).

We were sad to leave the guesthouse to return home and think it is a great way to experience Lapland.

Room tip: Room 5 was great with a view on the forest
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Just left the guesthouse this morning, so sad....
Very welcoming people, the staff, the volunteers, guides, and al the 150 dogs. Stayed here for 3 nights and sadly enough only the 2,5 hr tour was available. But: we enjoyed it and definately will be back for a 2 or 3 days tour.
Very nice and clean rooms and good beds. Good breakfast and very tasteful diner. Sauna can be booked for private use and you can book different tours from here, also aurora safari's, snowmobile etc.
Cross country ski's and snowshoes can be rented here. Nu public bus stop in front of the house.
A good spot to watch the northern lights if it's not cloudy.
Nice kitchen to use for all the guests.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NoorB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Other than the northern light, I think it is nice for dog lovers with Husky as companion and home made breakfast for the stay while we were in Ivalo. The staff was nice and friendly to introduce us all possible activities when snow is covered all outer area. I would recommend travellers with a car so that they can easily go any place than staying in the cabin but this guesthouse is a good cabin for traveller who aim for the Northern Light. My suggestion - Please book it early as it is always fully booked.

Date of stay: November 2016
Thank stevehk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews