We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
70
13
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
13
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews husky ride northern lights breakfast and dinner ice karting every morning fantastic experience snow shoes sauna and jacuzzi fantastic night reindeer sleigh glass roof heaven on earth winter wonderland cross country skiing amazing pictures double bed the cottages
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2021 via mobile

Food, cabins and activities were all great! Staff were super nice and friendly, would definetly recommend! They have a northern light alert available for guests, works great. Too bad we had a lot of clouds when the alert went off.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank henri658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

We stayed here for 3 nights with my partner and everything was better than we could have possibly hoped for. The staff were the most welcoming and very kind and helpful. They made sure everything was perfect the whole stay. A special shoutout to the chef who prepared the most delicious meals every night and was very accomodating with me being celiac. Juha was a great host who you can tell loves the place he has built and the guests that stay there. Vellu and Maria were amazing guides for our northern lights tour and gave us the most incredible experience. The husky ride is also a must thing to do! The igloo was very clean and comfortable. We loved laying on the bed and watch the stars! Thanks again :)

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

We spent Christmas and 5 fantastic days in this beautiful resort surrounded by beautiful forests, with reindeers in the middle, and a river (frozen) below.
One good consequence of covid (for us, clients, not the hotel..) was that we found a reasonable package, even if it remains pricey because the hotel is luxurious. Another good thing was there were not too many people and we felt even more exclusive.
Our igloos were super nice, comfortable, well heated, clean, nicely decorated, with well thought details (for instance, a tray with 2 little bottles on our arrival) AND fabulous window panes to admire the landscape and the sky. Note that due to corona, rooms are only cleaned upon request.
The staff is nice and helpful, specially waiters at the restaurant. Special thanks to the owner and the staff that looked for the bracelet that my daughter forgot in the bathrobe.
The food on our 1st evening was super, almost gastro! The buffet afterwards were OK, but can buffets compete with à la carte? We enjoyed breakfasts and cocktails (gin and tonic with Finnish gin as well as glöggi, hot wine with spices) by the fireplace.
There are many activities, but some quite expensive. We recommend absolutely the husky safari (you drive your sledge!) and the panoramic sauna with the outdoor jacuzzi (traditional sauna was fun but a bit tight for 4). The reindeer sleigh is outrageously expensive for 15 minutes roundtrip, but we still loved it.. (not thrilled by feeding the reindeers).
Buy reindeer sausages in a supermarket in Ivalo (take a taxi, cheaper) and make a barbecue in the dedicated hut (cutlery and dishes provided) free of charge. But you must know how to make a fire!
The kids (young adults) loved fat-biking. We even saw Santa who looked so real!
A very nice bonus: you can borrow shoes, outfits, sledges for free (snow rackets are also provided in front of each igloo).
However we came here to see the northern lights! We had to wait until our last night to see them, but it was worth it. Note that the alarm is actually an app which sends you a notification when there is an aurora (if you are sound asleep, not sure you hear it..).
We went with a guide and it was absolutely worth it. He knows the places where to see them and they were so beautiful.
(only hiccup was that we didn't know others would share our van, nor that we could have had reserved a van just for us...and ended up in quarantine when we returned home, as one of the other persons tested positive. It seems hotels in Finland cannot request guests to provide covid information nor take the temperature. But all the staff does wear a mask. )
A fantastic experience and a memorable Christmas... we would gladly go again!

Room tip: you have to chose between having to walk longer to the restaurant or to the sauna! we were happy to be midway (22 and 23)
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biotifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

Really nice resort. We had a perfect stay for some days around NYE. Wanderful and peaceful location, really nice staff, fun activities to do. On NYE’s the owner organized a fireworks show and some snaks around the firecamp. We enjoyed husky sleigh and snowmobile safari as well as hiking on the snow. Would really recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vsmaarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

This might sound like an ad, but is not: Aurora Village is something you really want to experience! Spent 3 nights here around NYE 2020-21 with a group of 4 people from Helsinki, Finland.

The owners Juha and Suvi and their lovely staff have put together something really special. The cottages are clean, cozy and world class with their glass views. The reindeer in the middle of the yard are great, and the husky tour you can get through Extreme Huskies is also worth it!

The surrounding is a lovely wintery calm one, and both the wood sauna with the hole in the ice and the view sauna with the jacuzzi are absolutely amazing experiences, even for Finns!

The restaurant is also extremely good, and the staff went above and beyond with serving also great vegan dishes to people in our group. All in all, the service level of the staff and attention to detail were all around A+ and 5/5!! The place also has an ecological Green Key certificate, which is really hard to get.

As someone who has travelled to 70+ countries, I highly recommend this to anyone who finds the above intriguing

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank juhanijuhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews