We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Trip.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
70
13
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
13
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews husky ride northern lights breakfast and dinner ice karting every morning fantastic experience snow shoes sauna and jacuzzi fantastic night reindeer sleigh glass roof heaven on earth winter wonderland cross country skiing amazing pictures double bed the cottages
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

Just few words to describe this hotel,it was amazing and fun time.
We really enjoyed all !
The cottage was beautifully decorated and confortable !
All the personal was very nice and friendly and professional,thank you all for your kindness (Ida,Vellu,Jaana)
All activities were fun,and we got to see the amazing auroras!
The food was great too!
And the saunas too!
I would definitely recommend this place.
Stéphanie from Switzerland.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank StephanieG4281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

A fantastic place to stay. We stayed there in the period between Christmas and the New Year. The staff were excellent from start to finish. We were met at the airport and taken to the Village (a prearranged transfer with the hotel) by an exceptionally friendly and efficient young girl and booked in by an excellent young receptionist at a very busy time but her manner and professionalism was brilliant. We ate in the restaurant every morning for breakfast and for our evening meal that was part of the package we had booked. The food was generally of good quality and there was a good choice including vegetarian options. The service was excellent even at busy times with it being the Christmas period. The rooms were amazing with the view from the bed to watch the sky in the hope of seeing the Northern Lights. We went to see the lights as a bucket list trip for a special birthday but although we didn't see them we had a fantastic memorable holiday and we have an excuse to return to try again. The activities were great ! We did the Ice Karting, snow mobiling, snow shoe aurora walk, fat biking which we payable and the free activies with sledging and ice scooters ( if that's what they were!) Snow shoes were available to use hung outside your cabin too. What amazing, friendly and hardworking staff work here! They couldn't do enough for you. Marnie and Liisa were two we learnt the names of but all deserve a big thanks for everything they did for us. Warm, comfortable, a great ambience.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank claretsBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

For a city guy like me , this is the most unique of hotels for me. It’s like one of those cabins you get when you visit a beach resort except this is in sun zero degree ivalo. The bed is right underneath the glass panel which allows you to see the sky , or aurora if you are lucky. The breakfast and meals provided are simple and good. All in a lovely stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keithlhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of tour.

Clean and well maintenanced with nicely temperatured cabins despite large glass viewing window. Nespresso machine in room truly helps warm the stay.

WiFi acceptable but watch for dog or perhaps deer droppings on way from cabin to lobby restaurant.

Limited food menu available for dinner. Breakfast has the usual varieties.

Friendly staff.

Recommended.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank o2mpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at Aurora Village for 3 nights at the end of November and had an incredible time.

We arrived just before the high season so it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. We were even allowed to use the sauna and jacuzzi for 3 hours compared to the 1,5 hours we had paid for. Combined with the beautiful snow landscape and the quiet surroundings, it was as romantic as we had hoped.

The staff was very nice and their service amazing. Especially one of the staff members, Ivan, was very attentive to our needs. He seemed genuinely interested in us and making our stay unforgettable.

Upon arriving, we got a free access card to an aurora alert app. It worked very well and accurately, and we were fortunate enough to see the northern lights the first night.

The cabin was small and cozy, and had all the things we needed. We did not have any issues with the warm water in the shower. One recommendation to the hotel: We would have liked a small bench or chair at the door when putting on our huge snowboots. Haha.

Booking activities through the hotel might be a bit more pricey, but they make sure everything is arranged perfectly for you. We felt more comfortable booking a husky ride through the hotel although we paid approx. 30 EUR more.

We went on the 4 hour husky safari (410 EUR for 2), which was an amazing experience! We learned a lot about the dogs from the passionate guides and they gave us a short 5 min introduction on how to control the sled, before we went blazing into the white wilderness of Finland.

All in all we will give our biggest recommendation to Aurora Village.

About the Ivalo area:
We would not recommend staying for more than 3-5 nights as there is not much to do in Ivalo. The city is small and activities are pricey (between 100-300 EUR/person for each activity) so be sure to have factored that into your travel budget before going.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hansenmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews