We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$409
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$409
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
CheapTickets
US$409
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Orbitz.comUS$409
TravelocityUS$409
TripadvisorUS$409
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
55
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews base camp full kitchen incredible experience bbq hut lake inari northern lights open fire ivalo airport towed sari cabin skiing papana sky toilet horizon darkness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2020

Our stay at Esko’s Cabins was simple incredible. This was our first trip to Finland, and we were mesmerised by its beauty.
We flew into Ivalo airport, and after a night there we made our way from Ivalo bus station to Inari where Esko picked us up. On arrival he showed us to our cabin. It was perfect, lots of room for our luggage, a very comfortable bed, toilet, colour changing lights, and beautiful views from the huge windows.
We headed over to basecamp. The attention to detail and design here was amazing. There was space in the communal area to relax with a full kitchen to use as needed with tea and coffee available. The toilets and showers are here too with all you could need, towels, slippers, shower gel, etc. There are also show suits, boots, socks and gloves and high vis jackets available to use too.
We arrived early afternoon and used the kick sledges to explore. We headed down to the village (about 1km away) and went to the Siida Museum which was great (nice café too). We then headed down the road and had few drinks in PaPaNa (bar and pizza restaurant). Our first night we chose to eat at the cabins in the BBQ hut. Our food was cooked on the open fire in the middle of the hut whilst we chatted and drank local glogi – a wonderful experience which I would highly recommend.
The time came to go out onto the lake. Flasks were available to make up, and we sat on the bed whilst being towed out into the darkness. It was an awesome experience to be there on the lake. The sky was star filled and magical, with just a hint of the aurora for us (an excuse to return to try again). We stood outside and took in the silence and stillness of our surroundings which was incredible.
Breakfast was great and nothing was too much trouble – we were so well looked after. Our trips and transport were all booked and we paid for it all (by card) at the end of our trip. We went out into the forest and did some skiing which was fantastic – the beauty of the landscape was just amazing. We were picked up for our snowmobiling trip. This was across the lake and was such fun, we saw reindeer roaming around and stopped for a drink at one of Finland’s wilderness camping sites. We spent some more time in the village, having a meal and drinks. The hospitality from everyone we met was second to none.
Of course, I must mention the sauna. This is log fired and simply wonderful. Standing out in the snow then getting into the sauna was an experience not to be missed.
The team were exceptional, we were made so welcome and really switched off from the world for our stay. It was such a special trip and we couldn’t recommend it highly enough. Thank you Esko, Samsa, and Sari

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClareMarie_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

Incredible experience. No words to describe how amazing it is to be alone sleeping in the lake at night. Besides we were very lucky to see northern lights and it was really incredible experience. Also, we have a great dinner with Sambsa in a traditional small wood house. The owners are really committed with their job and it is amazing!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank VictorJVillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

This is a „must“ if you are looking for unique experiences. What a great idea to build mobile cabins for an overnight stay on frozen lake Inari. One of my all time travel highlights. The cabins are super cozy and very tidy and have a chemical toilet (just in case). The owner-couple is very nice and friendly and helpful. Of course this is an adventurous thing and not a 5 star hotel experience. I strongly recommend to see it when doing a Lapland tour!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 890sebastianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Very unique cabins and sleeping conditions. You get pulled out in the evening to the lake. And they come and get you in the morning. The cabins are nice and warm and very comfortable beds and pillows. Very cozy inside. We were very lucky to enjoy a beautiful 2 night show of northern lights and incredible one night of shooting stars. It was like watching a movie from your warm bed. Very intresting experience.
Beside the cabins. The host was incredible. Very guest friendly and knowledgeable people. The owner build those cabins by himself wich I was very impressed by. They were very helpful with everything that we needed. I want to thank them for giving us an opportunity to experience something different.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank albanm955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

I booked one of the cabins through booking.com after reading all these great reviews on Trip Advisor and I wasn't disappointed. Any questions I sent to Esko (the owner along with his wife Sari) via email were answered promptly and were super helpful. Upon arrival we were greeted by Sari and shown to our cabin. All the cabins (6 of them) are stationed near base camp during the day. Base camp has showers, toilets, kitchen, lounge area with access to Wifi and cold weather clothing you can borrow. I mean they covered all the bases. There are extra wool socks, really warm snow boots, cold weather jumpers, hats, gloves...basically anything you could need to stay warm while outside just in case you're not prepared. None of this was at an extra cost.
After being shown to our cabin, we settled in. The cabin was a little small, but well worth the experience. You've got a 180 degree view around you, a decent size bed for two people, storage under the bed, a small cabinet to place some items in, a little table to put some items on, hooks to hang your coats on with a shelf for gloves or hats and a chemical toilet for when you're out on the lake at night and away from basecamp. While you're at base camp, you're hooked up to electricity. On the lake, your heat heat comes from oil. Both keep the cabin surprisingly warm during the night. AND...there's even wifi access on the lake! You must be back at basecamp by 8pm if you want your cabin to be taken out to the lake for the night. I think they can make an arrangement to do so a little later if you take an aurora tour, but that didn't work out for us so we just stayed in our cabin and got taken out to the lake. So glad we did because we had an absolutely amazing show of the auroras that night. They danced across the sky bright and strong from 8:15pm till 5am!!! We were in awe. In the morning, your cabin is hooked up to a snow mobile again and brought back to base camp.
You're more than welcomed to keep food at base camp and cook it in the kitchen there. Breakfast is included with your cabin stay. We also opted to do the BBQ one night and had a blast eating and hanging out with the people staying at the cabins. Matt (another employee at the cabins) cooked for us. Prior to the BBQ, Matt had taken us out for a snowmobile ride across Lake Inari. Matt was really personable and willing to answer any questions we had about Inari. We very much enjoyed his company and the ride with him.
While staying at the cabins, we also visited the SIIDA (Sami Museum) and the Inari Reindeer farm. Both were really informative and a great way to learn about the local culture. Sari was so helpful in arranging the trip to the Inari Reindeer farm for us. I can't say enough about the hospitality that Sari and the others at the cabin extended to us. We really felt welcomed and loved every second of our experience here.
Other types of excursions are offered at the cabins or you can go through other tour companies in town. As for restaurants, the choices seemed limited to Hotel Inari (great pizza), PaPaNa (didn't offer much and mostly a local crowd) or the restaurant inside the SIIDA museum.
It's crazy to know Esko constructs the cabins himself and has built this little business up along with his wife. The base cabin is quaint and inviting as are the owners and staff. Thank you to everyone at Lake Inari Cabins for making a bucket list trip of ours a wonderful experience!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dream426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews