We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
183
61
19
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
61
19
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reindeer herder home cooked boarding school frozen lake northern lights former school ice fishing cross country skiing northern finland cup of tea husky safari aurora zone perfect location unforgettable holiday provided excellent equipment needed an amazing place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2020

Board and lodging were excellent - I enjoyed this week of Finnish hospitality. Very nice is the location - the lake in front of the hotel, where we could watch and photograph Northern lights without disturbing light.

Date of stay: March 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HCHein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Harju, Omistaja at Hotel Korpikartano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2020

Gear guest,
Thank you for visiting Hotel korpikartano and staying the week with us. I hope you were lucky with the northern lights and got some good photos. Thank you for mentioning that we are lucky not to have any light pollution here in Menesjärvi.
Hopefully we can welcome you back one day!
Best regards,
Korpikartano staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2020 via mobile

I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Great staff. Excellent food. Well situated and a perfect location to view the northern lights. On the side of a lake which was perfect for snow mobiling, dog sledding, cross country skiing and reindeer farming.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 394raymondl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Harju, Omistaja at Hotel Korpikartano, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting Hotel Korpikartano and leaving us your lovely feedback. This will make our staff smile.

Hopefully we can welcome you back one day. There are so many other things you can do on our Menesjärvi lake also summer time.

Warm regards,
Korpikartano staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

You drop into a different world at this hotel on the edge of a vast ice lake. There is practically no light pollution and you are free to enjoy your beautiful surroundings as you please with nature trails, snow shoeing, x-country skiing, tobogganing, sauna. Other activities can be made by arrangement such as husky sledging, ice fishing, reindeer farm visits etc. And of course, if you are lucky, you will see the Northern Lights. The hotel staff do all they can to make you feel comfortable and to enjoy your visit.

Room tip: The room has fridge, sink, kettle and hob which was all very useful.
Date of stay: March 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hoaregas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Harju, Omistaja at Hotel Korpikartano, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us your feedback. Sounds like you really enjoyed the nature and took some time to explore the surroundings of the hotel. Hopefully you also had a change to see the northern lights. We will share your kind feedback with the staff and they will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Hotel Korpikartano some day!
Greetings from Korpikartano staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

This is a superb base to watch for the aurora easily. You can pop out to the frozen lake any time to check, right on th doorstep. Lovely cosy hotel. Not posh, but warm and comfortable with excellent friendly staff and lovely food. Set menu, however we really enjoyed all the food. Warm clothing can be provided. It was part of our package wit The Aurora Zone. Best trip was to Petri Mattus reindeer farm. Don’t miss it. So grateful to everyone. Sophie provided excellent aurora photography guidance andledan evening snow shoe walk near the hotel. Loads of animal tracks in the deep snow. All in all an unforgettable holiday. Do bring plenty of warm clothes. It’s cold in winter! Being well within the arctic circle and away from the coast increases your chance of seeing the aurora too.

Room tip: Ask for a room in the market n block. The annexe rooms can be small.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Harju, Omistaja at Hotel Korpikartano, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your visit and your kind words, we will share them with colleagues. So nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Korpikartano and our activities. Hopefully we can host you another time in Lapland and in Korpikartano in the future.
Aurora Zone has also "Double Aurora tours" to Korpikartano in Autumn time when Aurora is reflecting from the lake surface.
Warm greetings from Korpikartano team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

Superb hotel in beautiful, remote area of northern Finland beside a frozen lake with great chance of seeing the Northern lights (we were lucky enough to see them 3 nights in a row.) All staff were approachable, knowledgeable, friendly, kind and helpful; they helped to make the holiday extra special Thanks to Sophie and Marti who were our main guides and to the lovely cook whose food was delicious too. All outdoor equipment including skis, snowshoes, boots and thermal clothing was available to use. Highly recommended. An unforgettable holiday.

Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 443Isobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Harju, Omistaja at Hotel Korpikartano, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Dear Guests,
It was a pleasure hosting you in Korpikartano, thank you for your visit and feedback. Great to hear that you saw aurora even 3 nights, so pleased for you! Nice to know that you enjoyed your stay in Korpikartano. We will share your feedback with all colleagues. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again!
Greetings from Korpikartano team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews