We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Official Hotel
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
18
68
44
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
68
44
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2020

We had a standard twin room for our overnight stay. It was our first in Hotel Oscar, but will not be the last.

The room was tidy and even though it showed some signs of wear, everything worked as expected. It was also pleasantly quiet, we never heard a sound from other residents.

We had dinner at the restaurant downstairs. The service was great and the food magnificent. Appetizer salad was well seasoned, the stakes we had as main were perfectly medium rare and creme brule with sherbet was the perfect finishing touch to a great meal.

Breakfast was also nice, with a sufficient variety of cold cuts, pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon and frankfurters to get you going at the start of the day.

We'll be back

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jta69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi Sarkeala, Muu at Hotel Oscar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Hi, Thank you so much for your feedback! Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2019

There is not much to choose from in Varkaus when it comes to hotels. Our check in was good, but it went downhill after that. Our first room appeared to not have been cleaned in awhile. There was visible dust on the furniture and the bathroom was not clean. In addition the hose from the bidet was leaking across the bathroom floor and the phone was out of order. We reported it to the front desk and we were given a new room. The new room on the fourth floor was a bit cleaner. Though the rug in the common hallway looked like there may have been a flood. There were stains running the length of the hallway. The other common areas in the hotel could also use some sprucing up. Breakfast was barely average and the staff looked annoyed. We were attending a family reunion and luckily did not have to spend much time at Hotel Oscar.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spirga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EevaA39, Johtaja at Hotel Oscar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Dear Spirga,
thank you for your stay and thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that your visit after the check in was not what it should have been. Every week we have an inspection for the cleaning quality - we select several random rooms and we try to keep up the very good standard. I am sorry to hear that your first room was not prepared properly for you. We shall take your feedback as an example in our next management meeting. I am sure there are many things shall improve to make sure that your next visit is more enjoyable.

I wish you a great autumn time and I really hope to see you back in Hotel Oscar.

Eeva Anttikoski / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2019 via mobile

I rate this hotel average but it could easily be better. The room was large enough and clean. The shower cabinet was though very small. All in all the room had everything needed for a short stay. The restaurant for dinner was very good and service was friendly, professional with good humour. Dinner created an expectation for the breakfast. The morning came and breakfast was very poor. There was a lot of stuff on offer but it was not well prepared and presentation was also poor. Also it seemed that service personnel in the restaurant was still asleep. With little effort and most importantly with no or just moderate costs, the breakfast could be easily improved. So great evening but not so good start for the day.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Hiihtopummi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EevaA39, Johtaja at Hotel Oscar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2019

Hello Hiintopummi,

thank you so much for your review! I am sorry to hear that our breakfast was a bit of a disapponitment for you. We are going to improve the things you mentioned and I promise you that we shall serve better experience for you next time. I was happy to read about our rooms and restaurant and ofcourse about our staff.
We really hope to see you again soon.

Eeva Anttikoski / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2019

Restaurant is very good. Room freezing cold floor, ventilation noisy and blowing cold air all the time not possible to switch of. Ridiculous price for such low standard.
Recommend to try to find another hotel instead of this budget hotel with high end price for rooms.

Room tip: Try to find another hotel.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traweller9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EevaA39, Johtaja at Hotel Oscar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Dear Traweller9876,
we are so sorry to hear that you have faced some problems with your room. I really hope you have mentioned about the inconveniences to our reception. We always try to fix the problems right away and change the rooms if there are for example some technical problems with heating, ventilation etc.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant. I hope that our Service also met your expectations.
We wish you a wonderfull spring time and hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Restaurant food is very good, breakfast is moderate, BUT room pricing is ridiculous. Very basic hotel without anything special and rundown rooms, but only hotel option in the city, so price is a rip-off. Nice staff though.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Kimmo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EevaA39, Johtaja at Hotel Oscar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018
Google Translation

Hei Kimmo,
kovasti kiitos palautteestasi. Mukava kuulla että ruoka ravintolassamme vastaa toiveitasi. Huoneita meiltä löytyy monista eri huoneluokista ja suurin osa on läpi käynyt mittavat remontit. Valintaa siis löytyy vanhemmasta huoneesta isoihin saunallisiin sviitteihin asti hintojenkin vaihdellessa huonetyypin ja sesongin mukaan. Myös Primehotelsin kanta-asiakkaan voi valittuina aikoina sekä aina lomasesonkina nauttia hyvistä tarjouksista ja eduista. Hienoa että henkilökuntamme on jälleen onnistunut myös palvelutilanteissa.

Oikein ihanaa joulun odotusta ja lämpimästi tervetuloa takaisin vieraaksemme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews