We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Savo local”

Muikkuravintola Sampo
Reserve a table
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Kuopio
Price range: US$15 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 14 November 2019 via mobile

Very fresh local fish restaurant. Traditional. Must place In Kuopio. Highly recommended. Friendly service.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ArtoR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2019 via mobile

If you visit Kuopio and want to try some local delicacy, visit Sampo. They serve the traditional local fish called vendace in many flavours. Me and my wife had the most traditional of them all, vendace fried in butter with mashed potatoes. I also had some rye bread seasoned with cowberry, which was also very good.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank 36samii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Must eat here "muikku-food" when visiting Kuopio - I have been here several times eating muikku-fish alone or with friends and foreign guests - very good IrischCoffee also

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Silja Riitta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 September 2019 via mobile

The melancholic feeling of the restaurant is very pleasant. The muikku with smashed potatoes is great. It is a generous portion and a classic in kuopio. Don’t miss it.
The staff is kind.
The juke box in the room makes you travel backwards in time!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Kamasoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 September 2019

Found this fantastic family restaurant through Lonely Planet and loved it. A group of 8 of usvisited. The decor was old world but this only added to the experience. The original juke box allowed to play songs from another era. We had vendace ( a small fresh water fish) and meatballs and both were delicious The place was full of locals which only added to the atmosphere. Highly recommend, If ever we return we shall revisit.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank holidays2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Muikkuravintola Sampo also viewed

Kuopio, Northern Savonia
Kuopio, Northern Savonia
 
Kuopio, Northern Savonia
Kuopio, Northern Savonia
 

Been to Muikkuravintola Sampo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.