We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent find”
Review of Musta Lammas

Musta Lammas
Reserve a table
Ranked #7 of 131 Restaurants in Kuopio
Price range: €35 - €138
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: An unforgettable experience in Kuopio! Behind each course is our enthusiastic and innovative kitchen team lead by our head chef Juuso Rautiainen. Our kitchen gets their inspiration from the multiple seasons that our food year offers us. The hype comes from the forests, fields and clean lakes in our Kuopio region. The roof top garden on top of our restaurant and the magnificient local producers allows us to work with the best ingredients of the world. In 1862 the sturdy cellar vaults were built for the use of a brewery. After a few years Gustav Ranin started to produce beer in the facilities as well as the famous spirit Savon Wiina. In 1982 the gourmet sign was lifted upon the celler vaults. The restaurant was named Musta Lammas. Since then we have lead the culinary culture in Finland forward. All drinks are professionally chosen to accompany the dishes for the full experience. We welcome you to enjoy the most delicious experience!
Reviewed 16 March 2023

This is a small restaurant with a single choice four course menu.
The service on arrival was very slow.
However once at our table the food was excellent and the service friendly.
The soup course was unusual with the different textures, crispy potato, soft potato, lingonberry and smoked pork making it very interesting and tasty.
The sauce on the main course was superb with lots of depth of flavours
Well worth a visit

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2022 via mobile

The food, staff expertise and service are top class. The atmosphere of the old basement is the same as before. Visit here is worth the trip.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Jukka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2022 via mobile

I chose this restaurant based on rewievs and their menu. And it was an exellent choice. Food was tasty, especially tartar (what didn't iclude to the menu). I have never eaten tartar with mushrooms without egg yolk, but it didn't let me down.

I also tasted their non-alcoholic drink package. I remmber almost every drink were their ovn production exept one muscat. Drinks were great and suited well with food. Also sevice were friendly.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank asdfgjigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2022

Many things define stars: ambiance, location, and such. The two most important are: quality of dishes and hospitality. Top ratings for these, by hardest standards. The dishes were fresh, balanced, inventive, colorful, tasty, and not overbearing. The service was diligent, sensitive, friendly, knowledgeable. Nothing left to desire.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank pg799
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2022 via mobile

Absolutely amazing food, wine & service. Tasty, simple and sophisticated, with a waitress knowledgeable, friendly and funny.
A highlight!

Date of visit: August 2022
1  Thank evm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Musta Lammas also viewed

Kuopio, Northern Savonia
Kuopio, Northern Savonia
 
Kuopio, Northern Savonia
Kuopio, Northern Savonia
 

Been to Musta Lammas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.