We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This is the 2nd time we came here for a weekend break. As before, the spa is wonderfully relaxing and calm, as children are not allowed. The only problem, was that not all adults seem able to read the signs asking for quietness, or they chose to ignore these.

+ Nice to be able to participate in some of the yoga sessions, which are included in the price.
+ Food, as well, was very good and eating in the restaurant is a delight. The breakfast has a very good choice, even for Swedish standards. it's more likea brunch.
+ Location is good right in the centre of Varberg, and still our room was very quiet.
- Different styles of the rooms. Be sure you pick one which is according to your taste. Otherwise, you'd may be disappointed.
- Adults insisting on speaking loud although there are signs to say people should keep quiet. I'd like the hotel to make more of an effor, so people are alerted to to this.
- Staff in the reception area and restaurant, did not seem to coordinate who does what. I waited in the restaurant quite some time before a staff member came and asked for a coffee. I was directed to reception area. I went to the reception, who directed me to the restaurant, so I went back to the restaurang - again.
- Check-in could improve. We arrvedi too early, and were asked to sit down, which we did. More guests arrived and they started to queue, but as they were not asked to sit down and wait, we ended up being the last, as we had sat down.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room according to your taste in style, as they are very different from each oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camillasoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you so much for coming back to us and for you review! Happy to hear that most during your was good, thank you! And sorry to hear about parts not running as well as it should and as we aim, not least important and very good to hear about so that we can improve. Agree that it is a good idea to look in to what kind of room you preffer - we have some different styles, even though we want all of them to have good standard there are pretty big variation in style, tip to begin to look at our three main styles: Boutique, De Lux and Classic (the last one is more of standard). Cant be sure in your case, but about check-in it might be that your room wasn't ready yet that you were recommended to wait a while, however - sorry about that! Also about if we seemed confused and didn't help you out as we should have. Thank you again and hope that we will see you again soon - welcome back!
Best regards / Bo Samuelsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

To be able to check in and walk straight to the spa is amazing. The japanese bath, the vitalitypools, the eucalypus steamsauna, the cold water tank, the spa is fully equipped.

The resturant is really nice, food and wine in a relaxing athmosphere.

The breakfast is a wast experience, you could eat for a couple of hours, and still have a lot left to try.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fotografronny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Thank you so much for spending New Years eve at us - and also for you kind review, we are so happy that you liked and enjoyed our facilities and service.
A bit late - but wish you a Happy New Year and hope to see you soon again.
Thank you and welcome back!
Best regards/Bo Samuelsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

The most relaxing and spa with a lot to offer. Wonderful saunas and jacuzzis, as well as plenty of areas for mindfulness both in water and floor.
The interiors are extremely rich, and on the edge of being kitschy.
Beds are really high and comfortable, shower soft and embracing.
Breakfast is very OK, but not meeting the expectations created with everything else being over the top.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank EjaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo S, Hotelldirektör at Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear Eja - thank you so much for staying at us and for you nice review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Nice to hear that you found most of our facilities good, maybe with the breakfast as an exception. Thank you very much and hope to see you soon again!
Sincerely / Bo Samuelsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on night on a business trip.

Beautiful rooms, awesome spa, fantastic food and really good service.
The gym was really good as well.

I will for sure go back to this place!
I can really recommend this hotel/spa.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Jörgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights.
Rooms are a bit dark, because of dark wallpaper and soft lighting, not ideal for business travellers.
Spa is amazing, there are plenty of pools and two steam rooms and a sauna. Main pool has quite strong jets, so people like me who are quite small might need to hold on a lot!
The restaurant has very good food, again expensive. They also do not accommodate for late lunches, we arrived around 2pm and they had stopped serving. There are many places to eat nearby however, so doesn't cause too much of a problem.
Overall very good.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank beckabock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
1.9 km away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#5 of 6 in Varberg
418 reviews
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
0.6 km away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
3,028 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
169 reviews
26.9 km away
Grand Hotel Falkenberg
Grand Hotel Falkenberg
#2 of 3 in Falkenberg
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa

Address: Kungsgatan 24-26, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 41, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price Range: €126 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing