We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,179 results
Traveller rating
407
522
166
65
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
522
166
65
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedquiet streetinteresting decorjunior suitefree tea and coffeemodern bathroommetro stationsmall roomsingle roomnice barquirky hotelsister hotelminute walklovely roomcity centreold towntop floor
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,179 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is claimed to be a 4-star but I honestly cannot see how it gets this rating. Old, tired and in desperate need for some TLC. I know it’s trying to pull off a colonial antique style but there is no excuse for the tatty and dirty-looking tiles. The lobby area is reminiscent of an undertaker’s office. The rooms have no air-condition which makes them unbearable on a hot summer’s night. Basic amenities are missing such as a small fridge and a safe. The side mirror in the bathroom was broken. It requires a certain level of slacking off to leave it like that which is not acceptable for a 4-star hotel. The bed was so narrow that I almost fell off it and I’m quite slender. Black out curtains are needed as it gets too light from 5am onwards. Breakfast was naff. I only tried it once and skipped for the rest of my stay. On the upside, the staff were polite and helpful. I wouldn’t stay there again.

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank travelerfromspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellstenHotelsSthlm, Hotel Manager at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear travelerfromspace,
Thanks for your feedback. It helps us to provide better service in the future.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff. We are sad to hear that you did not experienced the hotel as a four star hotel. Fridge and safe is available at the front desk for guest that request such as other services. Regarding the broken mirror is was directly fixed after the notice, thanks.
Once again thank you for the feedback. We wish you welcome back to Stockholm!

Kind regards,
Maria Kahem
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Hotel Hellsten is a little out of the city centre, two metro stations up from the Central train station where our airport bus dropped us. We opted to walk and enjoyed the easy 25 minute stroll. It’s in a very quiet street but the area is well served for bars and eateries, and there was a Co-op supermarket close by.

The hotel seems to be made up of several old buildings interconnected, which meant narrow, winding corridors, stairways popping up in surprising places and slightly gloomy communal spaces (though no bar).
We’d upgraded to a junior suite which was large, spacious and well-cleaned though not particularly well lit. The only windows were on the upper, entry level, which also had a couch/third bed, seating area and second bathroom. The main bedroom was down a curved staircase which created quite an opulent effect. The decor was decidedly quirky and included a harmonium in working order, large wooden desk, high backed chairs covered in faux animal skin and highly decorated mirrors. (Friends of ours were staying in a standard suite which was somewhat plainer. It seemed quite compact but efficient.)

Our double bed was actually two large singles bolted together and, Scandinavian style, featured individual duvets. It turned out to be rather softer than we normally prefer.

We found the room somewhat stuffy, but with the city sweltering in a heatwave, that was probably to be expected. On request, fans were found for us which created a reasonably comfortable environment.

Coffee and tea were apparently available in the lounge off reception, but we didn’t take advantage of that. Likewise, safe deposit facilities were available at reception, not in the room. There was no mini-bar or fridge but that seems to be quite common in Scandinavian hotels.

The bathroom was large and the shower excellent, although the towels were small and thin. Two-in-one body lotion-shampoo was provided along with a hair dryer.

Breakfast was served in a pleasant but plain glass-roofed area in what presumably was originally a central courtyard. It was enough to get us started for the day, with some hot dishes including little Swedish meatballs, but the choice was limited.

Despite the pretensions of quirky, boutique-style decor - Mein Host is apparently a keen and well-travelled anthropologist - at heart Hellsten is a middle-of-the-road hotel, functional and pleasant but not one we’d rush back to.

Random tips for travellers – Sweden seems to be becoming a ‘cashless society’: a number of places we went only took cards. Also, supermarkets in Sweden don’t sell beer/wine. If you want to avoid the relatively high prices in restaurants and bars, you have to find an approved outlet or stock up at Duty Free before you come.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank TGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellstenHotelsSthlm, Hotel Manager at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear TGB777,
Thanks for your well written and detailed review with recommendations for other guests, we rally appreciate that.
We are glad that you enjoyed your free upgrade to one of our most unique room with two floors. All our rooms are unique and no one is like the other in both size and interior.
It is true that the hotel is housed in old buildings from the 18th century and has many exciting angles and twists, which we think are charming and have chosen to retain as an exciting part of the décor.
Just as you write, we have chosen to serve room service 24h instead of having a minibar. this in order to offer a greater range of food and drink than is possible in a minibar.
We hope to welcome you back soon again!

Kind regards,
Maria Kahem, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Friendly, quiet hotel in a good location. I would definately come again. I would class the hotel as a really solid 3 star or a weak 4 star.
My tips : When coming from Arlanda.. check the machine for special offers (like 2 people for 300 SK)
Get an SL card in the main station and load it with a 24 hour ticket.
It is only three stops to Rödmannsgatan for the hotel but too far to walk with luggage.
There is a really useful co-op supermarket selling drinks, fruit, snacks and meals just one block away. It is open to 23:00
The city library is just one block away and is a fantastic piece of architecture.. well worth a short visit.
A good day trip is to the palace and gardens at Dotningholm Slot - which is on the 19 train line to Bromma.
The line can also be used to go straight to the old town (Gamla Stan).
There is a lovely cafe in the gardens by the water called "Tehaus".

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiaan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellstenHotelsSthlm, Hotel Manager at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear christiaan555,
Thanks for your feedback and recommendations for other guests about Stockholm and how to get around.
We hope to see you soon again. Welcome back!
Kind regards,
Maria Kahem, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Shortly: nice "boutique" hotel, fantastic breakfast, very comfortable bed with "lazy foam topper", pleasant personal, every Thursday in hotel bar jazz concert, cafe and tea in the lobby free. Stylish hotel near the metro station and the centre.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellstenHotelsSthlm, Hotel Manager at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Ivana L,
Thanks for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back!
Kind regards,
Maria Kahem, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Hotel is in the old part of the city, off busy roads. Has character. Great city for walking. Staff friendly. Elevator service. Excellent breakfast included. Has sitting room off lobby.. Single room small, double is decent size. Free wifi

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Irishannie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HellstenHotelsSthlm, Hotel Manager at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Irishannie18,
Thanks for your kind review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon again. Welcome back!

Kind regards,
Maria Kahem, Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews