We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stuff”
Review of Army Museum

Army Museum
Ranked #26 of 309 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Armémuseum – one of Sweden’s best historical museums, with exhibitions on three spacious floors. Accompany men, women and children on their journey through wartime and peacetime. Take a walk through Swedish history, from 1500 to the present day, among fascinating historical objects and realistic scenes. Experience living conditions for soldiers, their families and the general population. In the “children’s trail” activity, children can search for clues that lead them to the spoils of war.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking
Chester, England
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Stuff”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I'm into military history and know quite a bit about Sweden's past. My wife isn't and doesn't. We visited in February and had a very enjoyable couple of hours. There isn't much English text about but there are audio guides which worked well. Excellent summaries of early Swedish warfare, thirty years war and Great Northern War period. Good coverage of other periods with hands on material. Interesting section on UN activity as well. Rubbish shop (like all the museums we visited, why I don't know as they hold some wonderful stuff, I'd love to get hold of one of these outlets !) but if you are at all interested in this kind of thing, don't miss out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Texel1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    160
    42
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect if you like to know about political history in Sweden and Europe”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have been there a while ago and it is my favourite museum in Stockholm. I have a general interest in history and this museum gives detailed information with a focus on Sweden - but swedish history was always connected to European history so you get information about that as well. I recommended it to a friend with a similar interest and he stayed there for many hours and was very excited about this museum. If you are not interested in history and political development during the last couple of thousand years, this museum may not fully satisfy you.

The exhibition contains military devices of all kind from the last several hundred years but also text and other things are presented very well and interesting.
Information is available in several languages.

Stockholm has many nice museums but this one is my absolute favourite!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DonSenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the time to see if you're in Stockholm more than 3-4 days”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

There are so many things to see and do in Stockholm as a tourist, but if you've been to the Vasa Museum and the other main sites, then I'd highly recommend a trip here. It's not the largest museum, but it will take about two hours to go through it and read or listen via headphones to most of the explanations on display. The building is three floors, and you start on the top floor, with the displays in chronological order from the early Vikings to present day. The third floor, which covered up until 1900, was far more interesting and revealing to me than the second floor, which covered the last 100 hundred years, and the first floor had some exhibits regarding Sweden's armed forces' involvement in overseas situations like the Congo and Afghanistan in the last 20 years. What was cool about the museum was that there were very life-like full size latex figures of soldiers and others in re-created war scenes across the centuries. The museum also had quite a collection of weapons, uniforms and other artifacts dating back hundreds of years, and also a pretty bizarre art exhibit of rifles to signify the weapons' importance to the soldiers using them in warfare.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank TedW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful, museum”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We could find very little information about this museum on the internet, but took a chance and visited here anyways. Boy, are we glad.

The Army Museum is lots of fun. The displays are creative and very interesting. They tell a great story about early Swedish history and the men who've served their country over the years.

This is a great place to walk around. For one, the floors are wood and you feet don't get tired here. Secondly, unfortunately, very few people visit here, so it's almost as though you have a museum that almost as interesting as the Vasa to yourself.

Be sure to visit around noon. The Swedish army and navy serenade the visitors in the courtyard at noon each day and it's lots of fun to watch.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DebiDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Creepy and fun”
Reviewed 13 March 2009

I was traveling alone in Stockholm and went to a few museums. This , along with Vasa Museum, was among the best. Lifelike wax figures were eerie in their realness, and walking through the museum alone (on my own when it was not busy), was even a bit creepy. Still, highly recommended as it was interesting, beautifully laid out, and well worth the visit.

Helpful?
8 Thank mattr789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Army Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Army Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing