We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very simple AND vary cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Ranked #77 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Västerås
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very simple AND vary cosy”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The rooms are very very simple, but they are sufficient, Extremely friendly staff, excellent food, very good breakfast - healthy and good variety. A lovely little hotel, a refreshing change from all the big hotel chains.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sivskatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene B, Manager at Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Most welcome some other time!

Best regards,
Zinkensdamm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    152
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
70
41
36
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Zinkensdamm Hostel in May 2011. I was in a female dorm room, which if I think had 2 sets of bunk beds but I cannot remember exactly. The price was very reasonable for Stockholm rates 235 SEK which included sheets.
The hostel itself is very pretty and is located in a quiet residential park of Stockholm called Zinkensdamm. There was a metro stop but it was about a 15minute walk away. Although it was a nice break to be in a residential part, there wasn't much action in this part of town except a lot of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Initially I have booked three nights in Zinkensdamm since pictures on the website brought me in wrong impression of what it was. After coming in I found that the room that I booked was in youth hostel and I had to rent also linen and towels. Price was SEK450,- w/o breakfast. I came back to front desk and asked for any other option at least to have en suite. So, I had to add SEK660,- more to get room that was small twin bedded with old furniture.
Since the weather was bad I have decided to stay overnight to move out next day. On the check out I was asked to pay also for one night since I made reservation for three nights and stayed only one. In the end of the day I paid SEK1560,- for one night in this so called hotel while two other nights that I stayed at Courtyard put me back with SEK1600,- in all.
If you are used to stay in a modern and decent hotel you should never come to Zinkensdamm.
Girls at the reception were nice and helpful - all the rest much worse.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivan_Efimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in March. Room was basic, 2 bunk beds a chair and a table but was perfectly clean and warm. Communal kitchen , toilet and showers were also well kept. Friendly and helpful staff. 2 mins walk from supermarket, which you will probably need to survive the high costs of Stockholm! Located on the supposedly trendy Sodermalm island which is also home to lots of the locations in Steigg Larson's Millenium trilogy.

T-Bana station is about 5 mins walk away after which the medieval town is only a couple of stops away and the centre is one more. I would recommend getting the travel card, a 3 day one cost me £23 but it covers you for all underground and bus fares. A downside was the noise, we got woken at various points by cleaners, carpenters other guests. Also there wasn't much of an atmosphere if you wanted to meet people and have a few drinks of an evening although that could have been because we were there in quiet season. Also, make sure you have plenty of money before going on holiday to Stockholm, especially if you like eating and drinking out, it is beautiful but very very pricey.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Zinkensdamm is a hotel and a hostel. We stayed as hostellers. The hostel is handy for two T-bana stations and a bus route. Connections to the city centre and visitor attractions are good. The hostel was warm, very warm sometimes, clean and comfortable. We had a room for four with en suite. The linen was hired but we took our own towels. There were two breakfast rooms and we chose the hostel option. Breakfast was approximately £7 but was open buffet with good choices, healthy grub and plenty of coffee. The two hot dishes were porridge and boiled eggs. There was also a shared kitchen and lounge but we were out most of the time. Evening meals were available at a reasonable price but the menu was limited. The food was good and portions were ample. Wine was expensive but so was all alcohol. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. This is a reasonably priced base from which to explore Stockholm and I am happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: Join the YHA in Britain before going. You get a reduced rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelatcowpits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#92 of 154 in Stockholm
264 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,045 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#120 of 154 in Stockholm
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#88 of 154 in Stockholm
231 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
2,809 reviews
Best Western Capital Hotel
#103 of 154 in Stockholm
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm

Property: Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Address: Zinkens Vag 20, Stockholm 117 41, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Zinkensdamm)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Hornstull & Langholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zinkensdamm is a 3-star Superior Hotel situated in the midst of the picturesque plantation plots by Tantolunden at Sodermalm. Despite the central location, the hotel is surrounded by several green areas which infuse a relaxing atmosphere. The decorations of the hotel rooms are inspired by the old south of Stockholm while still maintaining all the modern facilities. All rooms are provided with private shower and wc as well as a flat-screen TV with free cable channels. Zinkensdamm Hotel can offer a wide range of rooms, from a single room for the lone traveler to a family room to the traveler visiting Stockholm with kindred. The green areas in the area offer lovely jogging tracks and path ways in a cultural-historical environment. Feel free to upgrade to one of our superior rooms and get a mini-bar and tea/coffeemaker in the room. These types of rooms consist of either a double bed or two separate singlebeds. In the morning we set the table for our generous breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, bacon, yoghurt with berries, soured milk, various types of juices, coffee/tea, freshly baked bread, fruits and a wide range of different cold cuts and spreads to put on the bread. The hotel is constantly being renovated, yet maintaining the special atmosphere of the genuine Sodermalm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zinkensdamm Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing