We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, rooms need refurbishment”
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Reisen
Ranked #59 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I would agree with previous reviewers that the rooms are the weakest part of the hotel. I spent 3 nights here in December and found the stay to be acceptable, but do think they need to refurbish the rooms which are a bit tired looking. Our room was also very warm, we could not turn down the heating and even with the window open it was stuffy. Our room looked over an alley which meant that there was some noise from deliveries and so on. The lobby and bar area are better than the rooms. The bar is quite lively with nice cocktails, and the breakfast is excellent with lots of choice. The location is great for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillicentDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 627 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

We walked past this hotel thinking it looked lovely, (It has beautiful seating area outside) then we realised it was our hotel :)

The location is fantastic, in the middle of Gamla Stan (Old town) and close walking distance to everywhere else.

Breakfast was the best bit, they have something for everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

website said there was a swimming pool but in fact it was a paddling pool about 5m long. my room did not have a hairdryer and although I asked for one it was not delivered. Breakfast nice and room quiet so overall an ok place for a business trip but don't be fooled by the promise of a spa and pool - they don't mean here what they do in the uk!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_CB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed in this hotel for six nights in November 2012 and really enjoyed it. We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the water and it was wonderful to be able to open the window and look out – what a view! The room was a good size and clean and the bed comfortable. The hotel is showing signs of wear and tear but not enough to bother me or for me not to recommend this hotel. We had the opportunity of touring the hotel and were told that there are ongoing plans to refurbish the rooms.
The staff were friendly and helpful and organised a restaurant booking, taxis and provided tourist information. The breakfast was fabulous with a huge selection of food. After long days of walking around Stockholm, we opted to stay in and eat in the restaurant on a few nights. We chose from the Bar menu which was basic but good.
As other reviewers have said the location of this hotel is fantastic. The Gamla stan is gorgeous and you can walk to many of the major sites from here. If I get the chance to visit Stockholm again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Light03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Reisen over the new years holiday, and found that the primary advantage of the hotel was the excellent location overlooking the water.

As to the quality of the room and services there were things to be improved. The cleaning was not 100 %, with dust left on the fittings in the bathroom and on the floor. The room itself was well worn, and needing some care.

Breakfast service was good, with a good selection on the buffet.

Thank lehonque
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
643 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
713 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 154 in Stockholm
1,464 reviews
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#32 of 154 in Stockholm
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 11130, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: €122 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing